Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ABC radio calling AFL

lucablight

Mate the AFL bounced down at 2:40 Adelaide time insted of 2:10 hence why it finished late.

i always thought 2GB had the rights for 5.30

That's not really an excuse. They could have switched over to the NRL at 5pm and told the people who were still interested in the AFL to listen to it online. They do it all the time on Sunday with alot of NRL matches that overlap.

Spot on.

RL fans expect the RL coverage to start after the 5pm news.

Mate the AFL bounced down at 2:40 Adelaide time insted of 2:10 hence why it finished late.

i always thought 2GB had the rights for 5.30

Stuff 2GB.

Many people prefer the ABC coverage and that coverage is supposed to start after 5pm.

LeagueXIII

Actually it has happened in Melbourne. The cities sports channel SEN last year broadcast the Sunday match on the 2GB feed. However this year they have the AFL rights and yes, you guessed it, goodbye RL.

Yeah but that's just because they didn't have the rights to the AFL. People knew they were getting the rugby league on SEN on a Sunday.

Today we had a situation where the AFL call went 30 minutes into RL's regular timeslot of 5-5.30pm. People who enjoy their ABC RL Grandstand coverage were left thinking, WFT??, for 30 minutes.

Scarves

This happens quite often. To give an indication of my experience of a total League blackout. April 26 this year, Cowboys v Storm the 7:30pm game up in Townsville. No radio coverage at all... no 2GB (they called the 5:30 Manly v Dogs match then general no sport talkback), No ABC (they were calling a corresponding Super 14 match involving the Tah's).

Basically if you didn't have Fox Sports 2, you couldn't even hear the game.

Considering it's 2008 and we currently get three out of the 8 matches Free to Air Channel Nine (2 on friday, 1 on Sunday)... we haven't developed all that much in 15 years. Back in 1993, we also had 3 free to air games (1 on Friday, 1 on ABC Saturday and 1 on Sunday). Actually it's a little better these days, back then (for those old enough to remember), Channel 9 bought the rights from ten and chopped the Sunday game into a 43 minute highlights package that included 17mins of Decore shampoo ads so that 60 minutes could kick off on time.

I hope you see my point, in 15 years lets see how far we've come. Our current TV deal offers very little in the way of promotion for the kids - who are future supporters of our game. Even I get tired watching the 9:30pm Friday night replay. The old Saturday ABC match back in 93 was full of cliches and at an easy time for kids to watch.... and there was always some radio coverage or an "around the grounds" report at 5 minute intervals.

In 2008 on April 26 - no free radio, no free television, no regular updates, nothing. I understand in some area of Queensland that currently this is basically always the go for Monday night footy that doesn't includes Qld teams. That's how far we've come - treading water to no where, I love my footy, however I feel a dread for the destination our leaders are taking what was once called - the greatest game of all.

Something in this current administration is beginning to stink.

In-goal

ABC local radio is a simulcast of ABC Radio Australia, for as long as I remeber it has been Aussie rules saturday and RL sunday. Remeber radio Australia can be heard all around the world.

bobmar28

Have you emailed the ABC and asked them why?
I have emailed them, several times about AFL on News Radio. Sometimes it is on until 10.30 pm on Saturday nights. Strangely it's only on in Sydney, Brisbane, Newcastle and Canberra.
I wanted to get the world news but only the southern states get that when AFL is on.

This happens quite often. To give an indication of my experience of a total League blackout. April 26 this year, Cowboys v Storm the 7:30pm game up in Townsville. No radio coverage at all... no 2GB (they called the 5:30 Manly v Dogs match then general no sport talkback), No ABC (they were calling a corresponding Super 14 match involving the Tah's).

Basically if you didn't have Fox Sports 2, you couldn't even hear the game.

Considering it's 2008 and we currently get three out of the 8 matches Free to Air Channel Nine (2 on friday, 1 on Sunday)... we haven't developed all that much in 15 years. Back in 1993, we also had 3 free to air games (1 on Friday, 1 on ABC Saturday and 1 on Sunday). Actually it's a little better these days, back then (for those old enough to remember), Channel 9 bought the rights from ten and chopped the Sunday game into a 43 minute highlights package that included 17mins of Decore shampoo ads so that 60 minutes could kick off on time.

I hope you see my point, in 15 years lets see how far we've come. Our current TV deal offers very little in the way of promotion for the kids - who are future supporters of our game. Even I get tired watching the 9:30pm Friday night replay. The old Saturday ABC match back in 93 was full of cliches and at an easy time for kids to watch.... and there was always some radio coverage or an "around the grounds" report at 5 minute intervals.

In 2008 on April 26 - no free radio, no free television, no regular updates, nothing. I understand in some area of Queensland that currently this is basically always the go for Monday night footy that doesn't includes Qld teams. That's how far we've come - treading water to no where, I love my footy, however I feel a dread for the destination our leaders are taking what was once called - the greatest game of all.

Something in this current administration is beginning to stink.

This is a major worry. Great post.

Red Bear

the game being broadcasted was a later start than usual for the saturday arvo AFL game

I dont mind them updating the scores - it is the national broadcaster anyway, they should let you know the other codes.
ABC is number one by a long way.

the game being broadcasted was a later start than usual for the saturday arvo AFL game

So what. It shouldn't cut into the RL broadcast which always starts after 5pm. People turn on in NSW after 5pm to hear RL not AFL. There was 3 hours of AFL on previous to that.

Hass

I'm not seeing the problem here. We got to listen to the League match.

Imagine if the situation was reversed. You're listening to a Rugby League match in Melbourne/Perth/wherever and they stop the coverage with 20 minutes to go so they can cross to the pre-game discussion of an Aussie Rules match.

I bet any League supporter would be pretty pissed off in that situation. We'd hear rants about how the media doesn't give League a fair go and how the ABC is supposed to be there for all Australians.

I think the ABC should be credited for covering as much live sport as possible. The real problem is exclusive rights. If you get rid of that then you'll have League on heaps of stations and you can listen to a pre-match discussion.

But don't bag the ABC for doing its job.

Imagine if the situation was reversed. You're listening to a Rugby League match in Melbourne/Perth/wherever and they stop the coverage with 20 minutes to go so they can cross to the pre-game discussion of an Aussie Rules match.

That's the problem, the roles are never reversed.

Captian_Klutz

The more Mr Gallop "balances" the more RL fans seem to suffer.

Could you imagine this happening in reverse down in Melb?

It just wouldn't happen.
ABC in Melbourne don't even give results in the News.

I've rung up and complained only to be told on air that RL is a minority sport.

ABC is being run by Pinko Commies.... Explains their infatuation for fairy AFL

Captian_Klutz

Wrong it is not reversed.

I bet any League supporter would be pretty pissed off in that situation. We'd hear rants about how the media doesn't give League a fair go and how the ABC is supposed to be there for all Australians.
Yep ... All Australian as long as they go for only 2 sports. AFL in winter and Cricket in Summer

I think the ABC should be credited for covering as much live sport as possible.
You mean as much live AFL as possible.

The real problem is exclusive rights. If you get rid of that then you'll have League on heaps of stations and you can listen to a pre-match discussion.
That's an entirely different issue thats as badly handled as the ABC's obsession with AFL

But don't bag the ABC for doing its job.
But they are not.

Bag away.

:sch: