Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL 2004 - Round 5

CyberKev

I'm almost too afraid to put out this week, after bottoming-out for an alltime low 1/8 last weekend, but you've got to get back on the horse...

FRIDAY APRIL 23 AEST

Richmond (25) vs Adelaide
Telstra Dome 7:40 PM AEST

SATURDAY APRIL 24 AEST

Carlton vs West Coast Eagles (9)
Optus Oval 2:10 PM AEST

St Kilda (30) vs Kangaroos
Telstra Dome 2:10 PM AEST

Brisbane Lions (102) vs Hawthorn
Gabba 7:10 PM AEST

Sydney Swans (36) vs Melbourne
Telstra Stadium 7:20 PM AEST

SUNDAY APRIL 25 AEST

Collingwood (10) vs Essendon
MCG 1:10 PM AEST

Port Adelaide (60)vs Western Bulldogs
AAMI Stadium 2:45 PM ACST

Fremantle (44) vs Geelong
Subiaco Oval 2:10 PM AWST

They don't come a lot harder to tip than Richmond/Adelaide, but I'll give the Tigers another go at home. The Crow forward structure is yet to fire a shot, so it is unlikely that the fragile Tiger defence will come under undue pressure. I still think the Tigers have the midfield setup to do well in games like this, and the attack the side has come under in the media should draw an aggressive response.

The Gabbatoir fixture is far easier to get a fix on. In 1989 the then battling Bears beat an all-conquering Hawthorn side at Carrara in what still rates as the biggest upset I've seen in the league. Its as if the 15 years since have been moving in dog's years, and both sides are worlds removed from where they were that day. A Hawk win here would rival (if not exceed the stun factor of that long ago turn-up, but I wouldn't waste good dollars on it happening. Brisbane would be the biggest monty I've ever seen in my life for this game.

The rave is all about St Kilda at the moment, but I suspect Freo will be as good a side in future years as the Saints (if not better). This side will just about have it all, and even now should be pretty much unbeatable at home. The Cats are simply out of their depth for this one.

As for the Saints, they will be tested by a rebounded Kangaroo side, but they're travelling well enough to absorb these sort of tests with reasonable comfort. The ineptness of the Kangaroos against Sydney last week was also well noted, and I suspect they year ahead to grow ever longer for the blue & whites from here.

Both Collingwood & Essendon are ordinary, with Essendon struggling to unconvincing wins against unconvincing opposition and Collingwood battling unfamiliar injury and confidence demons. Most people will get on the Bombers and providing both Hird & Lloyd fire they will be hard to toss, but gut feeling says that Collingwood can find a little extra grit and drive for this one.

I was sorely tempted to run with the Blues here, but having got my fingers badly burnt with them last week, I'll get on the Eagles with precious little confidence. A loss here will severely dent the Perth side's finals ambitions and they should have just enough of an edge in class to fall over the line on hostile and unfamiliar terrain. Carlton would be the value roughie bet of the round though.

I was very impressed by the Swans last week and have a lot of time for their solid and even style of play. Barry Hall is so much better than I ever thought he could be at St Kilda and is to be commended for his growing maturity. The Swans are well on their way to another top four finish and should win well here. The Demons have sizzled in recent weeks, but they really owe it all to David Neitz who has been a giant for them up forward. Don't be fooled by the Demons, however, as they're pretending to the max. If Neitz fades or is injured they are gone and even if he does continue to play well, I doubt the side can prolong the purple patch for much longer.

CyberKev

Beaussie

Richmond vs Adelaide

Carlton vs West Coast

St Kilda vs Kangaroos

Brisbane vs Hawthorn

Sydney vs Melbourne

Collingwood vs Essendon

Port Adelaide vs Western Bulldogs

Fremantle vs Geelong

Joshua

CROWS by 27
EAGLES by 11
SAINTS by 10
LIONS by 109
SWANS by 64
BOMBERS by 76
BULLDOGS by 7
FREMANTLE by 3

meltiger

"REMOVE THE SASH IT'S ALL BLACK"

For once a journalist hit the absoloute nail on the head with a headline. They are f**king terrible. Look in the paper this morning and even young kids abusing the team as they leave the arena.

Wooden Spoon here we come. You reckon the Hawks won't beat Richmond next week Kev .... What absoloute rubbish.

:(

CyberKev

meltiger said:
"REMOVE THE SASH IT'S ALL BLACK"

For once a journalist hit the absoloute nail on the head with a headline. They are f***ing terrible. Look in the paper this morning and even young kids abusing the team as they leave the arena.

Wooden Spoon here we come. You reckon the Hawks won't beat Richmond next week Kev .... What absoloute rubbish.

:(

I feel for you, lad...

It really is a club in crisis and its hard to see how they can turn things around, at least in the short to medium term. Graeme Richmond & Jack Dyer must be turning piruoetes in their graves, right now.

Richmond's ever lengthening woes are not only bad for the club and its fanbase, but for football in general.

That being said, Craig, I'm not going to be feeling any chirpier than you are come tomorrow morning. Hawthorn will get smashed beyond all recognition tonight and will ensure that the Tigers come into next Friday night's game on an even footing.

Richmond vs Hawthorn is hardly an enticing contest, and you can rest assured that, despite the dismal nature of the Tiger's form right now, the Hawks are still woeful enough to cough-up the four points on offer.

CyberKev

The Lions almost kicked twice as many behinds (26) as they did goals (14) but still comfortably won by 48 points. A big challenge for them next week in Melbourne up against the unbeaten Saints.

meltiger

CyberKev said:
I feel for you, lad...

It really is a club in crisis and its hard to see how they can turn things around, at least in the short to medium term. Graeme Richmond & Jack Dyer must be turning piruoetes in their graves, right now.

Richmond's ever lengthening woes are not only bad for the club and its fanbase, but for football in general.CyberKev

Turning over in their graves? Those two great men would have disowned that rabble pretending to be Richmond players.

I'm a bit dissapointed in the media coverage of the events at the end of the game though. Fair enough. The two blokes who spat should be banned for life as far as I am concerned and I'm glad they caught the dickhead at the end of the game on camera. However I and everyone else who attends week in, week out and pay 300 and up on memberships would have been within 10 metres of him booing them as the left the field and to say "It's gone too far now Richmond fans" is a joke. When they try maybe then we will not abuse them as they leave the field but when there are 15 players out there who are not even putting in a half hearted effort to play footy they will continue to cop it. Frawley has to go, Britian has to go, Campbell has to go, Bowden has to go, Gaspar needs to go and Fleming ... I could go on about him all day long. Ottens needs to piss off back to Adelaide where he'll be happy and save us 500k a year. Miller needs to bite the bullet and get rid of the leadership group, rebuild the club from the ground up and try to find a solution to the disease that has inflicted itself on this club for over 20 years now ..... They are cowards and not worthy of wearing a black and gold jersey and representing one of the games greatest clubs.

The saddest thing is the only players that have tried their hearts out every minute they have been on the ground this year are Andy Krakouer, Tommy Roach and Hartigan. Which is a terrible indictment on the so called 'stars' this team posses when the littlest man on the field and two rookies are the only ones trying.

For over 20 years we've watched this shit and enough is enough. The club needs to be rebuilt or it will die. That's the simple fact and as much as it pains me to say .... Football would be better off without a team playing like they did on Friday night.

I just hope to christ Sheedy signs his Essendon contract because he is not the answer. I want Wallace but given his perception on how he was treated at Richmond I really don't think he'd come to us.

CyberKev said:
That being said, Craig, I'm not going to be feeling any chirpier than you are come tomorrow morning. Hawthorn will get smashed beyond all recognition tonight and will ensure that the Tigers come into next Friday night's game on an even footing.

Richmond vs Hawthorn is hardly an enticing contest, and you can rest assured that, despite the dismal nature of the Tiger's form right now, the Hawks are still woeful enough to cough-up the four points on offer.

CyberKev

Gotta admit, I was pretty dissapointed in your mob last night but at least they tried Kev. They will spank Richmond on Frioday night, absoloutely hammer us.

Cupid Stunt

The day will come when I can get here before Saturday night & actually tip for a change! :evil:

Still the 'Dogs cant shoot straight. I'll be buggered if I know what they can possibly do to fix the problem but FFS 7-22 is just not even close to the realms of mediocre. These guys are supposedly paid professionals but sadly I've seen better consistentcy from the weekend warriors going around in bloody Sydney! I dont care what anyone says, we had Port but simply failed to find the target. I've been saying we need either a new kicking coach, or at least a new program, for a couple of years now because we are woeful in front of the sticks & no amount of classy midfield play counts if it's never converted.

Three great facts...

All in all L. Darcy is THE premier tall going 'round.

I wouldn't ruck for P.A for quids, that position for that team is bloody cursed! :lol:

Whingemond are below US on the table! :p

CyberKev

Mighty Phins

Brisbane was always going to be far too good for a side totally devoid of confidence and producing limited output, particularly when the the structure of that side is such that they're forced to play a short forwad like Ben Dixon at CHB on Jonathon Brown!

That being said, the Hawks are a joke at the moment, and Brisbane couldn't take much from a game like that. They're still the side to beat for the title, but I was impressed by St Kilda when I had a look at them. The Saints can certainly beat the Lions this week, especially at a Melbourne venue. They have a strong structure, enormous confidence and a welter of talent that is on the rise. They also play for one another, are very creative and have pace to burn. The Lions still have a skill edge (for now) and the greater muscle to throw around, but the club's glory days are definetely numbered with sides like this on the rise.

Cupid Stunt

The Hounds have definitely improved on last year's form, and its good to see them playing well. Their attitude is good and they have some neatly skilled footballers who deserve to be pursued with. Things will become more testing for them as the season unfolds, however, as they have a lot of younger footballers with smaller frames for whom the physical pressure begins to tell as youthful enthusiasm gives way to grinding reality come winter.

Still, there are quite a few sides who'd be less thrilled with their performances to this point in the season thatn the Hounds and they're not difficult to identify.

CyberKev

CyberKev

meltiger said:
For over 20 years we've watched this sh*t and enough is enough. The club needs to be rebuilt or it will die. That's the simple fact and as much as it pains me to say .... Football would be better off without a team playing like they did on Friday night.

I don't disagree that the club needs a major overhaul, but how do you do that? The biggest turnover of players I've seen was last season's 12 by Carlton. To pursue this line you really need to finish last, with a priority pick, and hope you get lucky with a big fish in the second draft as well. I've already made it clear that I'd like to cut 22 players from the Hawthorn list, but the reservoir of talent isn't deep enough to sustain a mass turnover, and competition guidelines make it impossible to infuse more than 3 or 4 quality players into your list for any given season. Even then you're mainly looking at young untried players who for all their potential may not come on, despite your best intentions and efforts.

Meltiger said:
I just hope to christ Sheedy signs his Essendon contract because he is not the answer. I want Wallace but given his perception on how he was treated at Richmond I really don't think he'd come to us.

I think Wallace would be good for the Tigers and I strongly suspect he'll wind-up at the club some time this season. He got publicly burnt a little in leaving the Hounds, but I can see his reasons for doing so and think he made the right move longterm, Sydney offer or no Sydney offer. Still, he's not in a position to wait around for plum offers, and -- let's face it -- anyone who could get the Tigers back in the circle would be something of a legend, so there is appeal in the job.

Meltiger said:
Gotta admit, I was pretty dissapointed in your mob last night but at least they tried Kev. They will spank Richmond on Frioday night, absoloutely hammer us.

I'm past being disappointed... I expected a thumping, we got it, and I turned my attention immediately to the Liverpool EPL match and the Dragons vs Roosters clash. At least those two sides showed some stomach for their respective contests...

Mate, I suspect both Richmond & Hawthorn will cop it this week, but your boys will cop it from the media much worse. This extra "stimulation", plus the extra 24 hrs of preparation, plus the extra structural problems being endured by the Hawks (specifically with their defence) lead me to confidently predict a Richmond win.

This is a "no-win" match if ever I've seen it, and woe betide the side unfortunate enough to lose the "No-win" match! :(

CyberKev

meltiger

CyberKev said:
meltiger said:
For over 20 years we've watched this sh*t and enough is enough. The club needs to be rebuilt or it will die. That's the simple fact and as much as it pains me to say .... Football would be better off without a team playing like they did on Friday night.

I don't disagree that the club needs a major overhaul, but how do you do that? The biggest turnover of players I've seen was last season's 12 by Carlton. To pursue this line you really need to finish last, with a priority pick, and hope you get lucky with a big fish in the second draft as well. I've already made it clear that I'd like to cut 22 players from the Hawthorn list, but the reservoir of talent isn't deep enough to sustain a mass turnover, and competition guidelines make it impossible to infuse more than 3 or 4 quality players into your list for any given season. Even then you're mainly looking at young untried players who for all their potential may not come on, despite your best intentions and efforts.

To be quite honest with you mate. I would rather win the wooden spoon with a bunch of rookies trying than over rated, cowardly hacks who have no pride in the jersey they are wearing. We need a period like St Kilda where we are truly shit for a number of years and get the draft picks the Saints have recieved over the last few years, especially with Miller in charge of the whole department. Unfortunately, the board are too scared of the fans to let the club go through a period like that so it won't happen.

Anything is better than the rubbish I have watched the last two weeks :(

& we will finish last with a priority pick because there is no way in hell we will win more than 4 games.

CyberKev said:
meltiger said:

I think Wallace would be good for the Tigers and I strongly suspect he'll wind-up at the club some time this season. He got publicly burnt a little in leaving the Hounds, but I can see his reasons for doing so and think he made the right move longterm, Sydney offer or no Sydney offer. Still, he's not in a position to wait around for plum offers, and -- let's face it -- anyone who could get the Tigers back in the circle would be something of a legend, so there is appeal in the job.

One of the other major stickng points would have to be money though. We clearly have none and he would be on a good wage for his television commitments. Personally, I'd like to see them offer him the role with toned down tv commitments in order to entice him across. Make no mistake, I am a very, very huge fan of this mans coaching abilities & I think it's a shame for Footscray that their financial situation meant they needed to do what they did to the budget of their footy department because I really do think Terry could get alot more out of the current group than Rhodes is. A shame for them their kicking was so truly awful yesterday. 10 of those 20 odd behinds turned into goals and they pull off one of the hardest road trips in footy.

I want Wallace desperately because he won't take any shit from the "leadership group" .... I just don't believe we can get him. We certainly won't get him if we 'sack' Frawley mid-season. For the good of the club Farwls needs to walk. Which is sad to say because he is a good man, it's just not working at Richmond atm.

You are right though, the man who pulls our club out of the current mess will be treated as a mesiah of sorts by the army because right now almost all hope is gone - When in what four-five years have you seen me so utterly devoid of any faith at all in them? :(

CyberKev said:
meltiger said:

I'm past being disappointed... I expected a thumping, we got it, and I turned my attention immediately to the Liverpool EPL match and the Dragons vs Roosters clash. At least those two sides showed some stomach for their respective contests...

Mate, I suspect both Richmond & Hawthorn will cop it this week, but your boys will cop it from the media much worse. This extra "stimulation", plus the extra 24 hrs of preparation, plus the extra structural problems being endured by the Hawks (specifically with their defence) lead me to confidently predict a Richmond win.

This is a "no-win" match if ever I've seen it, and woe betide the side unfortunate enough to lose the "No-win" match! :(

Did you actually watch Friday nights match? :lol: Because I have to tell you mate, as shithouse and pathetic as the Hawks are atm and are playing the stupid ridiculous chip around shit we are ..... At least they are hitting god damned targets with their short chips. Something the Richmond players are clearly not capable of doing.

Make no mistake my friend, Hawthorn will smash Richmond on Friday night. Absoloutely smash them. :( :(

But I'll still be there ....

meltiger

Cupid Stunt said:

Whingemond lol

The problem at the Tigers champ is that unlike some ... our club has a celebrated history of success and what they have put forth for the last 20 years is just not acceptable and the fans rightly refuse to accept it.

We'll be there and cheer them onto the field again next but make no mistake, they once again don't play with any pride in the guernsey and they will be booed until the board and match commitee wake up to themselves and realise the club is falling apart.

Although I have a sneaking suspicion there will be 100 security gaurds around the race on Friday night should we lose lol

Cupid Stunt

meltiger said:
Cupid Stunt said:

Whingemond lol

The problem at the Tigers champ is that unlike some ... our club has a celebrated history of success and what they have put forth for the last 20 years is just not acceptable and the fans rightly refuse to accept it.

Oh MEEEEEOW, retract those claws young lady before you have an eye out. :lol:

Nothing personal with the Whingemond bit, just a bitter memory. Until Wayne "what happens on the field I'll make sure stays in the paper/judiciary" Campbell is gone I will serve it up to him at every chance on Libba's behalf.
So what if Richo fell into Libbas elbow, not the little champs fault... ;-)

meltiger

Cupid Stunt said:
meltiger said:
Cupid Stunt said:

Whingemond lol

Oh MEEEEEOW, retract those claws young lady before you have an eye out. :lol:

Nothing personal with the Whingemond bit, just a bitter memory. Until Wayne "what happens on the field I'll make sure stays in the paper/judiciary" Campbell is gone I will serve it up to him at every chance on Libba's behalf.
So what if Richo fell into Libbas elbow, not the little champs fault... ;-)

Young lady lol

& don't worry I know where the comment came from ... It was Matty Knights that got hit btw, not Richo LMAO

& besides the fact it wasn't Libba who hit Knighta, I think you will find they used the whole situation to try and calm some of the tensions in the supporter group over Campbell being captain of the club, many of which still haven't accepted what happened. Campbell standing up for Knighta was always going to make him out in a positive light.

Cupid Stunt

Yes it was Knights, my typo.

They can use what they want for whatever reason they need but in the end Campbell lied, whether it was to the judiciary or 3AW/the public - take your pick, & Casey acted like the proverbial little brother dobbing on the Dogs to his mummy.

Anyway it's old news now but it's still part of my reasoning for reveling in the Tigers being below us... :|

On a side note, I hope they publicly tar & feather the cretins that were spitting on the weekend. Or bare minimum make them walk around the change rooms after their game this weekend. :lol:

meltiger

Cupid Stunt said:
On a side note, I hope they publicly tar & feather the cretins that were spitting on the weekend. Or bare minimum make them walk around the change rooms after their game this weekend. :lol:

LMAO

That was a good suggestion whoever made it.

I doubt the moron who got his head on telie spitting will be allowed in the gates.