Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL 2004 - Round 6

CyberKev

Hmmm... Where does one start?

FRIDAY APRIL 30 AEST

Richmond (16)vs Hawthorn
Telstra Dome 7:40 PM AEST

SATURDAY MAY 1 AEST

Kangaroos (33) vs Western Bulldogs
Manuka Oval 2:10 PM AEST

Essendon vs Sydney Swans (52)
MCG 2:10 PM AEST

St Kilda (12) vs Brisbane Lions
Telstra Dome 7:10 PM AEST

West Coast Eagles vs Fremantle (18)
Subiaco Oval 5:40 PM AWST

SUNDAY MAY 2 AEST

Geelong vs Adelaide (3)
Skilled Stadium 1:10 PM AEST

Melbourne (20)vs Carlton
MCG 2:10 PM AEST

Port Adelaide (24) vs Collingwood
AAMI Stadium 2:45 PM ACST

It really can get surreal at times! There's a headline on AFL.com that reads - "No favours for Frawley from Schwab". Give me strength, it cuts both ways in that regard, and I certainly don't think Frawley is in an intrinsically worse position than Schwab right now. For sure, were Hawthorn to comfortably dispose of the Tigers, it would almost certainly signal the death knell for Spud. It won't happen though, and I suspect that Schwab will be under far greater stress come Saturday morning. The loss of Coughlan couldn't come at a worse time for the embattled Punt roaders, but Johnson hasn't played a game against Hawthorn in his life in which he hasn't dominated. I expect both sides to rise to the occasion, but Richmond looks better equipped to get the points here.

The St Kilda/Brisbane clash looms as the game of the season (to this point at least) and, while it is always harrowing to go against a side of Brisbane's quality, the Saints recent form suggests to me that they can win out here. The Saints will have to be wary of the level of turnover that they've been allowed to get away with recently, as Brisbane can murder them on the rebound. That being said, St Kilda is capable of generating a glut of attacking ball in a short period of time, and will relish the challenge a game like this presents. They've clearly got the raw arsenal to do the job here, but do they have the poise.

Essendon has got away with a sequence of soft wins against underdone opponents over the past few weeks, but their luck is about to run out against a rebounding Swan unit. Nothing much has changed out at Windy Hill and its still clear that Lloyd & Hird have to fire for the side to win games. I suspect that Sydney is good enough to get the points even if they do fire.

The rest is a bit of a bore really...

Freo to continue their good derby form against the Eagles.

Carlton could well beat Melbourne, but I expect Neitz's form to hold-up for another week to ensure another Demons win.

Collingwood usually proves adept at handling Port, but with their current woes it is difficult to see them getting up at AAMI stadium.

The Bulldogs would fancy their chances, but the Kangaroos have their measure and would be desperate to break a mild form slump and to reassert their authority in Canberra.

Geelong vs Adelaide? Who gives a rats!

CyberKev

meltiger

The big game Kev :) :)

Go Tigers although you will spank our arses, spank spank spank them :(

Tips ...

Richmond
Doggies
Essendon
St Kilda (By 60)
Fremantle
Geelong
Melbourne
Port Adelaide

meltiger

CyberKev said:
The loss of Coughlan couldn't come at a worse time for the embattled Punt roaders, but Johnson hasn't played a game against Hawthorn in his life in which he hasn't dominated.

Beg to differ mate.

Round 22 last year ... 2 votes and 1 votes respectively to Hawthorn players in the Brownlow .... and 3 to Cougs in a losing side. He was much better than Johnno that day. One of very few good Tigers out there.

No Cougs ... taggers not doing well, The key is very simply going to be the ruck contests. The winner of Everit and Otto will decide the match. Hawks get first use of the ball and Hank will kill us.

Although I'd really like to see Krak and the one formerly know as Dr Pink run through the middle most of the night.

I agree with Bowdo being dropped, two years two late. Although not 100% sure on Morrisson ... would have kept him and pissed that useless giant Marsh off back to Coburg. Good to see Rodan back and Rory finally. The only thing wrong with Hilton is his heart but surely at the moment he cannot be any worse than the rest.

GO TIGERS :)

JTR

Originally tipped Richmond but changed to Hawthorn at the last minute #-o

=========

Kangaroos
Essendon
St Kilda
Fremantle
Adelaide
Melbourne :D
Port Adelaide

meltiger

& yes before you ask Kev, you would have seen me, the girfriend and two best mates amongst the bogans still singing half an hour after the siren.

Haven't seen the video yet but Tams mum said we are very much amongst it and wondered how many beverages we had had lmao :)

CyberKev

meltiger said:
& yes before you ask Kev, you would have seen me, the girfriend and two best mates amongst the bogans still singing half an hour after the siren.

Haven't seen the video yet but Tams mum said we are very much amongst it and wondered how many beverages we had had lmao :)

Why not, I say, given that you're only as good as your last game and if that game brought you all four points on offer you might as well party like its 1999...

Seems like a lifetime ago, 1999. Hawthorn exited the year in an all too familiar 9-10 position, and entered 2000 as the AFL's "next big thing". A plethora of injuries to key players and potential youngsters; coupled with some iffy trading and a couple of promising youngsters not coming on, finds the club effectively backwards from where it was then, but that's life in the emergency breakdown lane! :(

As predicted, it was another dismal showing. The lack of intensity early was a savage indictment on this playing group, who ambled to a five-goal deficit without looking like firing any shots in anger. Holland is shot to pieces, Thompson & Croad may as well not even take the paddock given the lack of intensity they play with, the attack is an ongoing embarrassment (save for young Williams) and delivery up forward was too abysmal for words. When Rayden Tallis takes the field and is closer to your best players than your worst, then you know you have officially bottomed out!

Forget the closeness of the margin, as Hawthorn deserved to get rolled. Richmond meant serious business early and warranted the healthy early lead they had, as they realised the urgency of the situation and played with the required aggression and desperation. The kindest thing you could say about Hawthorn was that they battled manfully and were never out of the game, but I particularly liked the way that Richmond was able to squeeze the Hawks out of it late, when they looked as if they were about to be overran. It was clearly a game that Richmond were not going to lose under any circumstances. A good response from a side under enormous pressure...

Hopefully Hawthorn can mirror that approach next week, but I'm not holding out a lot of hope.

CyberKev

Much emphasis has been put on the 'behind' (which missed posts by a metre!!) awarded to Aussie Jones in the epic encounter at Docklands which, of course, proved to be the final margin in the end. However, I think the Saints were slightly the better team on the night and deserved their win.

Beaussie

Time for 4 goal umpires. Seriously such umpiring is going to cost a team a GF one of these days. :evil:

meltiger

Mistakes have always happened ...

Some would say a goal umpiring mistake has cost a team a gf in recent memory .... Rocca's kick was a goal no matter which way you look at it.

What a SENSATIONAL round of footy!

Richmond actually showed some heart.
3 one point games, 2 ten point games and an exciting finish to a 6th (Port Pies)
I got 8 from 8
Tip Star actually for a rare change paid a decent payout for the 8 ($250 :))
Carlton got spanked by over 100 points
Collingwood are now rooted at the foot of the ladder instead of my Tigers

Ahh footy :)

CyberKev

I'm more concerned about multiple mistakes blatantly favouring one-side (as in the Essendon vs Sydney) clash than (albeit glaring) one-offs as occurred in the Saints clash. I can only recall four occasions where this has blatantly been the case...

Adelaide vs Fitzroy (early 1990s)
Adelaide vs Geelong (1997 or 1998)
Essendon vs Hawthorn (2001)
Essendon vs Sydney (2004)

At least in this case, Essendon had been the better side for 3 quarters, so still deserved the points on balance of play.

Sydney had better dispense with this fiddly short kicking game or it'll come undone more often than not. Hawthorn plays that sort of game as a matter of course, which pretty much says all that needs to be said about such folly!

It was a good round overall, but still clearly behind Round 22 1987 for overall spectacle, drama and quality of football.

Hawthorn won that round too, of course :D

CyberKev

meltiger

Big write up in the paper this morning about how since Hird's footy show appearance the Scums are once again the protected species of the comp.

Essendon probably paid his fine for him .............

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Big write up in the paper this morning about how since Hird's footy show appearance the Scums are once again the protected species of the comp.

Essendon probably paid his fine for him .............

No doubt they paid it...

Its going to be like the late nineties, early noughties, all over again!

I thought the way the whole thing was handled was dubious, particularly as I could see what the potential after effects could be.

Umpires have shown that they can be influenced by both crowds and media goings-on.

Hopefully we'll not see the likes of that Essendon vs Sydney game again this year...

Mind you, they could favour Hawthorn to the max when we play Essendon and I still think we'll get smacked :(

And this is a very average Essendon side, sob :cry:

CyberKev