Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL 2005 - Round 7

CyberKev

No preview this week again, as work has continued to be hell... Even pulled a 'Castrol 24 hour' on Tuesday :cry:

Not much to say, but I note that another highly rated youngster gets to make his debut this weekend, so good luck to Jesse W Smith of the Kangaroos.

meltiger

& Saint Nick is back. Good news for the Saints.

Richmond V Carlton should be a cracker, both teams will now be aiming at the lower rungs of the eight (Carlton would have been all along and now Richmond at 4-2 have to start looking to a brighter season than some initially predicted) & a win either way gives an advantage over the loser. This is definately an 8 point game in the larger context of the season.

Definately a danger game. Richmond have struggled in recent years to get near the Blues, although it must be said that the man who did ALL the damage last year won't be on the park ... Fevola. Richmond would be quietly confident on last weeks form, Carlton were woeful for two and a half quarters, Richmond bloody sensational for two and a half. Hopefully Wallace has instilled the fear of god in them over the week and they don't run out cocky, cause if they do ... Carlton will get us.

One important thing to consider is that even though our recent record against the Italians is woeful, 2 of our 3 wins (Of the last 10 contests) have been in what you would argue were big games - The Semi of 2001 and Silvagni's 300th.

GO TIGERS Eat em alive!

These are the games you look forward too.... Nothing else in footy matters when playing the old enemy.... Other than winning winning winning at all costs.

camsmith

Im in HEAVEN!

GO THE MIGHTY TIGES. match report later. :D :D :D

One team i love belting.. CARLTON hahahahah woohooooo how good is it meltiger :clap: :clap: 8) :D

meltiger

camsmith said:
Im in HEAVEN!

GO THE MIGHTY TIGES. match report later. :D :D :D

One team i love belting.. CARLTON hahahahah woohooooo how good is it meltiger :clap: :clap: 8) :D

You knoe my friend

YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

EAT EM ALIVE!

meltiger

lol Was a wee bit excited in my drunken state last night.

About to crack open a vic and watch the game again.

Eat em alive Tigers!

Go Richmond.

camsmith

Love it.

Love the Carlton cheer squad being so bored they need to start abusing us tiger supporters. Great GREAT stuff.

Also like seeing Carlton supporters leaving way way too early.

Apart from Richmond, great to see brissy get beaten by the Dogs.. haha after all we heard from them that they were back etc.... haha get that into you brisbane! :clap:

CyberKev

Excellent effort by the Tigers.

Excellent effort by the Bulldogs also, who put the loss of Darcy behind them in fab fashion to record their best win in some time.

I watched a bit of the Saints vs Cats clash, and -- as was the case with the Dockers vs Demons, the week before -- the standard was very high.

The Cats were great in the final term and would be rapt with the win, but it was no disaster for St Kilda. With Gehrig, Hammill, Powell & Penny missing; Harvey going down during the game; and Kozitschke unable to go on for the final term, the Saints would be pleased to have kept the game so tight throughout.

Another solid showing this afternoon by West Coast to go 7-0. Their fitness and poise was painfully evident late in each quarter, with most of their goals across the game coming during time on. Another opponent, same story for Hawthorn, who would have been a massive chance for a win here with some sort of sound presence at CHF. Cox, Fletcher & Cousins were all brilliant for the Eagles, with Dean Cox surely doing enough to warrant serious consideration for the mantle of number 1 ruckman in the game.

Halftime in WA, and Collingwood is starring in its own horror movie, trailing Freo by 65 points. They'll need to do something special in the second half to push us back to bottom spot, which I'll take as an exceedingly small consolation.

Nice win by Port against its bogey side. Well overdue form from the reigning premier.

Stormin Norman

well done to the mighty "yellow and black" i feel a little :oops: after my earlier boasting at least coll go smashed p.s. Nathan brown for brownlow 2005

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Excellent effort by the Tigers.

:)

If we flog the filth next week .... You'll see the giant stirring my friend ;-)

I'm now confident enough to say we will make the finals. We are playing good enough footy to notch up the 7 neccesary wins.

meltiger

McEddie's mob got thumped by 112 points?! :clap: :clap: :clap:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

All I can say is, eat shit filth ..... Go RICHMOND next week. Let's inflict more devistation on this scum mob.

Change the rules now and give the priorities at the end of the first round ;-)

incomparable

About time you sobered up Craig.
And yes we are a top 4 team and still have to play every team. I'm having trouble finding out who we are actually going to lose to now!

camsmith

Yeh, we NEED to beat the pies next week (who knows what can happen after a big loss) Which sets us up for huge games against the Lions and Demons..

If we show some class against those two teams, i will then start to think about finals.

Oh and whoever said Nathan Brown for brownlow.. i bloody hope so (will pocket $200 odd if he does) I would much prefer Finals footy than any brownlows at the moment.

Im not getting too carried away, i remember a few years ago we got off to a great start.. then just fell off. Although we have a new coach, a game plan, a gun forward line, a pretty good midfield and an average backline.. this year i feel we could well be in for a chance.

I gotta say Hawthorn are unlucky, they're playing pretty bloody well to only have one win, they atleast deserve another 2 or so but i guess its good signs for the years to come.

EAT 'EM ALIVE! :D

meltiger

incomparable said:
About time you sobered up Craig.

lol

I vaguely remember you giving me a lift home?

If so, thank you mate ;-)

(I hear from Tam she wasn't in a much better state either lol)

Sunday game next week, won't be a repeat. lol

CyberKev

meltiger said:
If we flog the filth next week .... You'll see the giant stirring my friend ;-)

What do you mean "if"?! I can't see Collingwood getting within 10 goals, as things currently stand.

meltiger said:
I'm now confident enough to say we will make the finals. We are playing good enough footy to notch up the 7 neccesary wins.

Agreed.

Provided both Richardson & Brown stay standing there's no reason (looking at the draw) why Richmond couldn't win another 8 games, as things stand now.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Change the rules now and give the priorities at the end of the first round ;-)

Given that they'll still finish above us, I can't support this notion.

meltiger

incomparable said:
And yes we are a top 4 team and still have to play every team. I'm having trouble finding out who we are actually going to lose to now!

Twizzle & Judas's mob.

The Richmond FC does not win games at Kardinia Park. lol

We do still have to play the bandwagon at TD again too.

They worry me, they seem to be getting to a point of utterly owning us that Essendon used to have. St Kilda aren't that much better than we are, but we play like utter pooh against them.

chileman

meltiger said:
lol Was a wee bit excited in my drunken state last night.

About to crack open a vic and watch the game again.

Eat em alive Tigers!

Go Richmond.
They were lucky :p :lol: