Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL 2006 - Round 14

CyberKev

ROUND 14
strap_right.gif

Friday July 7
Fremantle v Essendon, Subiaco, 8.40pm
Saturday July 8
Carlton v Geelong, Telstra Dome, 2.10pm
Hawthorn v West Coast, MCG, 2.10pm
Melbourne v Brisbane Lions, Gabba, 7.10pm
Port Adelaide v Richmond, AAMI Stadium, 7.40pm
Sunday July 9
Sydney v Adelaide, SCG, 1.10pm
St. Kilda v Collingwood, Telstra Dome, 2.10pm
Western Bulldogs v Kangaroos, MCG, 2.10pm

lockyno1

Is it just me or is that the WORST Friday Night game possible! Two BORING teams in one game! F..k even I realise the Bombers are boring at the moment!

meltiger

lockyno1 said:
Is it just me or is that the WORST Friday Night game possible! Two BORING teams in one game! F..k even I realise the Bombers are boring at the moment!

You surely mean last Friday night?

I know I don't find it boring to watch Essendon get flogged...

lockyno1

meltiger said:
You surely mean last Friday night?

I know I don't find it boring to watch Essendon get flogged...

Hey most games this yr have been boring! This week will be shocking. Freo are horrible to watch, essendon are worse!

camsmith

Totally off-topic, well nothing to do with this round...

Just curious Craig (thats your name isn't meltiger? :D) if your going to be travelling to Sydney in a couple of weeks to see the Tiges vs Sydney.

And to any Sydneysiders or anyone who has been to the SCG.. would General Admission tickets be fine (Which are located behind one of the goals i believe) or would it be best to book reserved tickets (which cost a fortune!)
Thanks in advance!

I better talk about this round..

Fremantle ONLY JUST over Essendon
Cats should thump Carlton.
West Coast over Hawthorn (although we saw what the pies did to WC at the G last year)
Melbourne over Brisbane Lions - should be a good game.
Richmond over Port Adelaide - Came close last year, i reckon were a better side this year!
Adelaide over Sydney - another good game i hope
St. Kilda over Collingwood - first time ive tipped saints in a long time
Western Bulldogs over Kangaroos - boring lol.

Carn Tiges! Need a win this week to set up a huge Friday night game against the Dees!

meltiger

camsmith said:
Totally off-topic, well nothing to do with this round...

Just curious Craig (thats your name isn't meltiger? :D) if your going to be travelling to Sydney in a couple of weeks to see the Tiges vs Sydney.

And to any Sydneysiders or anyone who has been to the SCG.. would General Admission tickets be fine (Which are located behind one of the goals i believe) or would it be best to book reserved tickets (which cost a fortune!)
Thanks in advance!

I usually sit with the cheer squad in Sydney mate. Have you not been to the SCG before? ...... Sydney based Swans supporters are f**kwits of the highest order and it's much better to be amongst friends ....

Last time we played there (2004), there was this drunken tool hanging over the fence screaming at us all day long.

Was very quiet after the final siren ;-)

& yep, we are flying up Sat arvo, home Sunday (After the Tigers Parra game)

CyberKev

Fremantle
Geelong
Hawthorn
Melbourne
Port Adelaide
Sydney
St Kilda
Western Bulldogs

Melbourne get lock of the round status.

how come the bummers have so many friday night games???? surely next year they will get none
pies have only had 1 friday night game so far and dont have another for at least a month

if freo lose tonight connolly will get the sack
freo
geelong
west coast
melbourne
tigers
adelaide
pies
doggies

camsmith

meltiger said:
I usually sit with the cheer squad in Sydney mate. Have you not been to the SCG before? ...... Sydney based Swans supporters are f**kwits of the highest order and it's much better to be amongst friends ....

Last time we played there (2004), there was this drunken tool hanging over the fence screaming at us all day long.

Was very quiet after the final siren ;-)

& yep, we are flying up Sat arvo, home Sunday (After the Tigers Parra game)

Nup never been there (remember im only 19.. got YEARS to travel to all the games still) Geelong was the first time i'd seen an AFL game outside Melbourne.

To sit with the cheer squad do you just need a GA ticket, or do you need to get a reserved seat?

Forgot to check what other NRL games were on :?, i saw the Storm wern't playing in NSW so i didn't bother to look at anyone else, damn.
We're (my old man and myself) are flying up saturday bout 3pm and i think leaving Sydney for Melb at about 10am.

Hope we put up a fight, Richo will atleast be back so he can win the game for us again (hope its wet!) :cool:

Re: round 14 - How boring are the Friday night games.. :roll:

meltiger

camsmith said:
Nup never been there (remember im only 19.. got YEARS to travel to all the games still) Geelong was the first time i'd seen an AFL game outside Melbourne.

I'm only 25 dude ;-) But I will admit, when I was a kid, my old man worked for Ansett, so we got the staff discount, I'm lucky in that I was able to travel to a lot more games than I otherwise would have.

You need to do the Brisbane trip, especially if it's a June-August game, great atmosphere amongst the Tiger fans AND you get to escape the winter :) :)

camsmith said:
To sit with the cheer squad do you just need a GA ticket, or do you need to get a reserved seat?

Mate I sent you a PM, tell Dave you're not a member of the CS, but you wanted to sit in the 'Richmond' area and wanted to see if he had any tickets still available. Otherwise, ask him if he knows what bay we're in, that way you can purchase a ticket nearish to them.

camsmith said:
Re: round 14 - How boring are the Friday night games.. :roll:

Melbourne V Brisbane?! If it wasn't raining (I'm unwell) I would have gone to the Storm game tonight!

camsmith

Thanks for that...

Im just leaving now for the Storm game :D

Thanks for the PM ill have a look at it tonight... gotta go now Cya

(Btw, i meant boring AFL friday night.. the Storm game should be awesome! hope your feeling better soon :D)

Red Bear

set the tape fro the bombers, better not put it on channel ten instead of 9 like i did last week :(

Storm vs brisbane tonight - bah. Couldnt be more uninterested (from a NSW perspective).

meltiger

Lynch has kicked 4 goals for the Weagles so far. Give me a break Hawks lol

Still in the game though, I thought Hawthorn's odds were far too long when playing WC @ the G so threw them in a couple of multis.

Go Hawks :)

CyberKev

Grrr!

A little bit of poise at the end of these games, please!

A lively and entertaining contest (described by the MMM team as the best they'd seen this year) ends with the Eagles sneaking the points courtesy of a couple of goals at the death knell.

For the third time this season an opposition forward has played the game of his life against us, with Lynch stepping-up to the plate today. The Eagles midfield played solidly all day, and perhaps had just a touch too much run during the final term. Lynch, Judd & Cousins all playing well for the winners.

Structurally the Hawks were quite good, but losing Franklin, Miller & Ladson for the second half hurt, particularly with the latter two playing strongly early.

Hodge ran out of puff in the final term after being brilliant early and Mitchell surely has the Hawk B&F stitched-up. The Eagles badly miss Cox, with Everitt killing them in his 250th, and Williams returned to form with a handy 5.

Already Eagles fans are saying their side pinched it, but the side has bigger problems with Kerr almost certain to be suspended for an unsavoury assault on the groin of Sam Mitchell.

A much more palatable performance from Hawthorn (see what happens when you tone down the handball), but not looking forward to facing Adelaide at AAMI next week.

CyberKev

lockyno1 said:
I never thought I would hear you say that Juddy played well Cyber!
Its not the first time I've said it.He's a fine footballer.My issue with Judd has never been that he hasn't been such, just that he isn't the best player in the comp, and is well shy of the best player of all time.I'm simply a voice of reason among the mindless media hysteria.

lockyno1

CyberKev said:
Its not the first time I've said it.He's a fine footballer.My issue with Judd has never been that he hasn't been such, just that he isn't the best player in the comp, and is well shy of the best player of all time.I'm simply a voice of reason among the mindless media hysteria.

What tripe. You hate Judd it is that obvious! As for him NOT being the best player well...WC nearly lost EVERY Match and did lose 1 withought him. He comes back and they win.:D