Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Alex Johnston

kurt faulk

Just to the argument, and I’m sure someone can sit and watch all 213 tries but how many has he scored touching the corner posts anyway?

To be honest, I can't remember a single try where he hit the corner post before putting the ball down. I'm sure they happened but I can't think of one.

Jetka100

I must admit I was worried it would come across a bit cringy with people just rushing on so they could put it on their socials, but in hindsight I think it was a great moment for the game and AJ and I didn’t even have an issue with Albo because at least he is a fair dinkum fan. Regardless of your politics, having the PM as a fan is certainly a positive. As long as these things are reserved for truly historic moments and are not happening each season, I don’t see a problem. What I do hate are those sad AFL draft selection videos which are extremely performative. They even had one for AFLW which is like being rung up by the local Maccas crew manager to come in for an interview.

kurt faulk

It would be good if there was a highlight reel of Irvine it’s just the way it is as TV wasn’t a big thing for the majority of his career. Irvine also played with much less space than Johnstone as well so imagine him with the 10 meter rule.

The rule only changed to 10m when the players became too fit for 5m. Nobody could make any ground because players found it very easy to get back the 5m and then go back in and nullify any forward movement. Back in the 60s, 5m would have been more than enough room.

Exsilium

I was having a chat with a mate about this one time and I thought about it differently when he brought up the professionalism of today you’re talking about. Also makes you wonder with professional training and facilities they could’ve been even better players then they were.

As I said earlier Guys like Irvine who did what they did then could even thrive more I believe with the rules today. Imagine Reg Gasnier in full stride with a full 10 meters compared to the tight rules of his era. Either way it’s fun to think and talk about.

I put it down to how the game was viewed professionally. Given it was mostly part-timers and a weekend league with limited TV and radio coverage, the need for a professional enterprise approach was a goal, rather than the reality until the mid-90's IMO.

Then as you hit the 00's, sports science, media accessibility and the internet gave the game a real footprint.

Big difference between a weekend league and where it is today. Nowadays, every aspect of the game, including the athletes are a business asset with the main goals of growth and revenue.

The spirit of the games origin's remain but it well and truly a professional sport organisation now. Respect the past, create the future approach.

Exsilium

The rule only changed to 10m when the players became too fit for 5m. Nobody could make any ground because players found it very easy to get back the 5m and then go back in and nullify any forward movement. Back in the 60s, 5m would have been more than enough room.

Then it seems as we've progressed over the years, we've been stuck between rules that promote fatigue but consider player welfare and management.

Players will continue to be fitter and stronger as the sport science and physical management improves but finding the middle ground where we promote smaller, agile players over pure strength and fitness will be the key IMO.

If you look at the modern day halves, they're much more adept at dealing with collisions and fatigue with characteristically larger bodies and build types. Utilities, hookers and halves are mostly interchangeable. Backrowers transition to prop forwards, often from centre and wing positions in junior grades or progressively from debut. The only position I feel has remained open for different body and playing styles is the fullback role.

BossyC

The PM added to the moment. Also adds to great sporting Australian moments. Tony Lockett 1300 and Steve Waugh 200.

I must admit I was worried it would come across a bit cringy with people just rushing on so they could put it on their socials, but in hindsight I think it was a great moment for the game and AJ and I didn’t even have an issue with Albo because at least he is a fair dinkum fan. Regardless of your politics, having the PM as a fan is certainly a positive. As long as these things are reserved for truly historic moments and are not happening each season, I don’t see a problem. What I do hate are those sad AFL draft selection videos which are extremely performative. They even had one for AFLW which is like being rung up by the local Maccas crew manager to come in for an interview.
The PM has been a true blue Rabbitoh fan for ages. He was on the Rabbitoh's board when they were kicked out of the comp during the f**king super league debacle. That's why the idiots that booed him are a bunch of ignorant yobbos!!!

Generalzod

The PM has been a true blue Rabbitoh fan for ages. He was on the Rabbitoh's board when they were kicked out of the comp during the f**king super league debacle. That's why the idiots that booed him are a bunch of ignorant yobbos!!!
He wasn't the first and won't be the last, I havent seen ceremonial event that the PM wasn't booed labor or Liberal

Trifili13

A Bazal noted above, just appreciate what people did in their own era. It's not as if Irvine was a professional player and all the others were part timers so thats why he scored those tries and would not score as many now because we have professionals. Irvine would have moved into professional as well today. Like now, all players are professional but some are better than others.

Is the Penrith 4 in a row better than the Dragon's 11 just because it is in a salary cap era. Well everyone was part time back then and you also had residency rules which of course could be bent much like the salary cap. What about cricketers playing with 4x2 bats and knicking the ball for six or blocking and it races to the shortened boundary for 4 and average players now averaging 50+. Before you had to middle it just to get it off the square and only elite players averaged 50+.

Rabbit toes

Sure.

but he’s a wanker

I'm glad the crowd ran on. Will forever live in RL history. He was carried off by his team mates with 1000s of fans surrounding him. That lives on. Understand the NRL saying don't do it from legal and WHS standpoint, but it was pretty clear they were getting the media to tow the party line. Even the NRL App doesn't have any highlights of the crowd running on. Embrace it.

The PM added to the moment. Also adds to great sporting Australian moments. Tony Lockett 1300 and Steve Waugh 200.

Anyways these things have a way of working out. The crowd left the field quickly. Bunker not required. Latrell kicks the goal. The delay was short. And it's was a pretty good game.

Every chance he gets to 250. The bloke who breaks it, probably isn't born yet so AJ will hold it for a while.

No, Johnston wasn't carried off by his team mates. He was carried off by security into the Souths change room. They had to get him off the field otherwise the game wouldn't have re-started.

Also, "the crowd left the field quickly"? Dude the game was held up for at least 16 minutes and, in many respects hurt Souths as it stopped its momentum cold. They got it to 12 all but after that? The Roosters took the lead and held (albeit narrowly) not long after and held it until fulltime.

Further I saw some physical confrontations on the field, incluidng opne dickhead who attem,pted to phsyically assault one of the Roosters trainers. The stick figure idiot picked the wrong one, as this trainer was built like a brick outhouse. He just threw the idiot to the ground. It might have started in good spirits, but some dopes who went out there latre on, did it just to be dicks and prolongued the stoppage.

The boos happened when he and his party walked right across the field directly in front of bays of Roosters season ticket holders and one of his party started waving his Souths scarf at them. I know as I saw it, and it's what set off the booing in the bay where I was.

BossyC

The boos happened when he and his party walked right across the field directly in front of bays of Roosters season ticket holders and one of his party started waving his Souths scarf at them. I know as I saw it, and it's what set off the booing in the bay where I was.
I live within walking distance of the Rabbitohs training facilities at Hefron Park Matraville/Maroubra. I often have a peek at their training sessions, wearing my Rooster's gear.