Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

All talk, no walk': Warriors season looks doomed already

ozbash

And I know there are heaps of games remaining.

But at the final whistle, that mediocre performance against the Storm provoked the following reaction from me.

“Here we go again, normal transmission has been resumed.”

I saw nothing that remotely suggested that this 2017 vintage is any different to the ordinary outfits that have permeated the Warriors’ history.

I saw nothing that suggested a new resolve is at hand backed by new-found skill sets.

After that humdrum, first round display against the lowly Knights, the Storm fixture was a game which needed the Warriors to announce that 2017 promised good times ahead for their bashed fans.

Instead, I saw an all too-familiar performance based on hesitancy, disorganisation, mundane skills and at times, a distinct lack of courage.

Add to all of the above the undeniable fact that at least six other franchises already look to me to be streets ahead of the Warriors in terms of what it takes to threaten the top four positions and my heart sinks.

The six I refer to are the Storm, the Broncos, the Cowboys, the Roosters, the Tigers and the Dragons.

First impressions count, especially in the NRL and those teams showed they will be formidable in 2017.

I personally am totally over all the empty and insulting slogans that Warriors Inc. would have me swallow, season after season.

This year, it’s “Dare to Believe.”

I don’t believe and will never believe until I have irrefutable evidence upon which to believe.

But what I do believe is the following needs to happen before the Warriors have any chance of living up to all the hype.

An Injection of Genuine Aussie Talent is Needed:
At least three young Aussies on the way up are needed.

Certainly no more Aussies should be enlisted whose careers have peaked and use the Warriors to play out their twilight years.

A Proven, Top-Notch Aussie Coach is Needed:

It will probably remain a remote possibility but just as important as the injection of some gun emerging Aussie talent is the need for a coach with the credentials of a Craig Bellamy or a Wayne Bennett.

No more Australian hand-me downs like Matthew Elliott, no more inadequate, partially-proven Kiwis but rather, a fully-blown professional who stamps his authority all over this mostly amateur outfit.

A Change of Venue is Needed:

To me, the gloomy, dysfunctional, unappealing home of the Warriors, namely Mount Smart is synonymous with a team whose trademark is mediocrity and whose business mostly involves losing.

I for one would be much more attracted to go to a more uplifting, welcoming venue that spoke up to fans and felt like the home of winners.

I also think that such a venue would make for a far more attractive proposition to overseas players and to an overseas coach plus their families.

Bringing in a flawed, unreliable Kieran Foran will make little difference as I see it.

That time-honoured truism “those who don’t learn from history are doomed to repeat it” always comes to mind in any debate about the Warriors.

Yahoo.com

https://nz.sports.yahoo.com/league/...k-warriors-season-looks-doomed-already/#page1

Skinner

It went through my mind last night.....same old, same old. This will attract some flames but, you would need to work hard to convince me otherwise. I still believe that Stephen is
not the right coach. I know the squad like him, but I wonder if that is for the right reasons.

Time will tell of course, and I don't believe it would take a lot to turn it all around. I really hope they can do it.

ozbash

It went through my mind last night.....same old, same old. This will attract some flames but, you would need to work hard to convince me otherwise. I still believe that Stephen is
not the right coach. I know the squad like him, but I wonder if that is for the right reasons.

Time will tell of course, and I don't believe it would take a lot to turn it all around. I really hope they can do it.

Apart from 20 minutes last week, I haven't seen a lot of difference..

Penrose Warrior

I love you Oz but I don't love that you've led me into wasting 2 minutes of my life on that horse shit. Two weeks in under a new coach and this rubbish gets written.

And apparently the Dragons, on the back of one performance and a shithouse year where their coach was tipped to be the first one to go, are already top 4 certainties??

The Cows lost their first four in the year they won the premiership. Let's just chill at least until the first bye?

SpaceMonkey

What Penrose said. We're 1-1 after two rounds, have most of the squad fit or due back soon and the team appears to be making an effort. Yes there are some issues evident (up front and on the wings) but it's hardly time to write the team and coach off yet.

Iafeta

The overreaction going on is ludicrous. Last night, Melbourne scored their first two tries off kicks (including one that was covered up except for a bloke slipping over in the wet). The third try came off the back of atrocious sportsmanship from Vunidouchebag.

For us, in years gone by I'm certain we would have tried to go wide without earning it. Last night they kept trying to get parity in the middle. They stuck to the plan. Our defence for the most part was good. And if Kata grounds a wet ball we are right in it.

Same result? Sure. Same old tripe, no I saw significant differences. Where we fell down was in the wrestle and we were out kicked by Cronk and Smith. Melbourne had to grind last night.

I remain quite confident in this years team. Particularly when Foran and Matulino are back.

Let's get over that fact no top coach wants to come and live in Auckland for all the money we can throw at them!

Kearney gets his 3 years.

Up and comers will only come if they are stuck behind a long term gun player (eg Maloney) they have 15 other teams in Australia to pick from before NZ.

Most top athletes want to play for All Blacks in NZ, so our talent pool is smaller. Also a lot of those that are naturally talented don't have to work for it at a young age so don't get the work ethic instilled in them needed down the track to become a top talent. Or if they are spotted moves into an Aussie system I hope Kearney is starting to set up after being with Bellamy & Bennett.

Wasnt the venue thing discussed and sorted out already?

Let's give Foran a chance, I think he would of made a huge difference against the Storm (still not a win), our first organising half since Maloney.

SpaceMonkey

I agree about Mt Smart looking run down, but that's about it. It's only R2

Unfortunately we don't live in a country where massive crowds turn up to footy every week to bankroll awesome stadia, and Auckland still suffers from trying to maintain 3 capable of hosting pro sport.
My Smart could do with a renovation but it's not terrible, it's got two good stands with the right viewing angles that are structurally ok. Makes more sense to fix it up than abandon it.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

For us, in years gone by I'm certain we would have tried to go wide without earning it. Last night they kept trying to get parity in the middle. They stuck to the plan. Our defence for the most part was good. And if Kata grounds a wet ball we are right in it.
Yeah...but those 3 or 4 sets in a row where we did 5 hit ups and a bomb proved ineffective as the Storm back three anticipated it well. When Vunivalu FINALLY coughed up one bomb, I think we knocked it on. Its good Kearney came up with a grinding plan suited to the conditions and with it, came an improvement from last week in regards to our error rate but it went away from our strengths. If we had speed and leap chasing those bombs then it mightve been successful but we have Tui and Maumalo and a lotta other factors. Storm ran it and scored while we stuck to a plan that was fairly simple in its application and the Storms defence didnt have to guess.

Blair

...Let's give Foran a chance, I think he would of made a huge difference against the Storm (still not a win), our first organising half since Maloney.

Maloney getting stick on ABC Radio tonight for missing eight tackles and being a 'turnstyle' in defence. So Foran's got to be an improvement there.

SpaceMonkey

Knights beat the Titans tonight, so I'd suggest round one wasn't a case of us scraping home against the spoon specials either. I think they've likely improved to a lower mid table team this year.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Knights beat the Titans tonight, so I'd suggest round one wasn't a case of us scraping home against the spoon specials either. I think they've likely improved to a lower mid table team this year.
I wouldnt back the Knights to be in mid table for long. I reckon they'll slump somewhere. Saifiti looks good.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Maybe, but they've already equalled the number of competition points they earned all of last season!
Good on em lol. Its an improvement. I just dont think they will make the 8. Gagei, Hodgkinson, Saifiti, Ross and Ill chuck Levi in there as their big names, nah thats not good enough.