Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

An idea - anyone keen?

Everyone knows that the Mighty Dragons return to Jubilee Oval in Round 3 against Cronulla, and it will be a big day. My idea is to make the day bigger. I was wondering out of the people here, if anyone would be interested in a touch footy / Oztag game prior to the 2 games at Kogarah. It could be ourredv.com (Stel + Pete) vs leagueunlimited.com (Willow), whoever is first to confirm involvement, Sydney vs The Rest, or any other idea (just off the top of my head). I reckon it could be a big plus as a way of bringing together all St George Illawarra fans for a bit of fun before the serious games commence on the day, and a great way to meet new and old people in the Dragons community. If people are willing to chuck in a few $$$, I am happy to look into the cost of a singlets / shirts to designate teams, of which all will have a Dragons flavour to them (obviously).

Let me know if anyone thinks this is a good idea. If I get 30 people to confirm (9 a side plus reserves for those of us like myself who are not athletic), then I will do my absolute best to get this from idea to practicallity. I hope it does work, because I believe it can only be a positive to those of us who support the Mighty Dragons; be you from Kogarah, Wollongong, Australia, or wherever!

COME ON YOU SAINTS!!!

Awesome. I'm flying down from Coolangatta for the day (possibly more), and really want to make the most of it. I thought it would be a great way of getting everyone together prior to kick-off.

Colsey, you happy to chuck in money for a strip? Probably won't be cheap to be honest. I'll ring around tomorrow, though my best bet will be with Good Fellows, as my brother lives around the corner from their factory which would be the easiest for collection. Classic are expensive, and ISC are apparently in a lot of trouble. If anyone from the 'Gong can get in touch with either Aceit or #10 regarding strip costs that would be great, I couldn't find their number on the net or in the Yellow Pages.

saint-colesy

Im flying down from north of you on the day as well staying until the following thursday. Will be going to the Socceroos WC qualifier as well.

See how I'm going dollar wise, if you got onto some sponsorship they might not be as expensive.

N.B. These were the strips I was thinking of:

- Dragons home
- 2000 Dragons away
- 2008 Dragons heratige
- Dragons 7's (early 90's, based on an old Wigan "Norweb" Jersey)
- Steelers away
- Steelers home

Any other suggestions are appreciated.

Im flying down from north of you on the day as well staying until the following thursday. Will be going to the Socceroos WC qualifier as well.

See how I'm going dollar wise, if you got onto some sponsorship they might not be as expensive.
Not sure who would be interested in sponsoring a fan day slap around. Maybe St George Leagues or the Carlton Hotel, but I doubt it. We would have to start early if they decided to sponsor it, because they would want the players + fans there for a few hours to make their expenditure back through drinks and the pokies.

I have sent off quotes to ISC, Good Fellows, Good Buddy, Aceit, and Classic. It is for singlets with a Red V and a hooped design (2000 away jersey).

I can't agree with this at all as it will cut into and possibly even curtail peoples prematch drinking.

Seriously, I'd recommend just getting bibs which are cheap and can be got from many sports shops, and you only need get enough for one team. I bought 6 from Kingsgrove Sports for $25.

I can't agree with this at all as it will cut into and possibly even curtail peoples prematch drinking.

Seriously, I'd recommend just getting bibs which are cheap and can be got from many sports shops, and you only need get enough for one team. I bought 6 from Kingsgrove Sports for $25.
No-one said you had to be sober! Hell, bring a water bottle full of JD + Cola.

The idea of team singlets is just a novelty. If it costs too much then it wont go ahead. Good Buddy has got back to me and has said they don't manufacture clothing. ISC has sent this to me as well:

Thanks for your enquiry . Please find a quote as per your information , in order to meet your delivery date we would need order confirmation & a 30% deposit by 6th Feb .

• fully sublimated training singlet - $25 + GST each

Please let me know if you need any further information.

Kind Regards

Scott

You were thinking of me ehy Vinnie!

Love the idea of the day and stuff - no need for uniforms though, I would just think that Red V should be the official uniform being game day and all!
No worries, canned the singlets idea. Where to play now. I'm guessing that park just out the front of Jubilee Oval. If not, somewhere close to a pub!

I am highly unlikely to get down for this one, however if I do at the last minute sg, I'll pm you before the thursday before the game.

Everyone knows that the Mighty Dragons return to Jubilee Oval in Round 3 against Cronulla, and it will be a big day. My idea is to make the day bigger. I was wondering out of the people here, if anyone would be interested in a touch footy / Oztag game prior to the 2 games at Kogarah. It could be ourredv.com (Stel + Pete) vs leagueunlimited.com (Willow), whoever is first to confirm involvement, Sydney vs The Rest, or any other idea (just off the top of my head). I reckon it could be a big plus as a way of bringing together all St George Illawarra fans for a bit of fun before the serious games commence on the day, and a great way to meet new and old people in the Dragons community. If people are willing to chuck in a few $$$, I am happy to look into the cost of a singlets / shirts to designate teams, of which all will have a Dragons flavour to them (obviously).

Let me know if anyone thinks this is a good idea. If I get 30 people to confirm (9 a side plus reserves for those of us like myself who are not athletic), then I will do my absolute best to get this from idea to practicallity. I hope it does work, because I believe it can only be a positive to those of us who support the Mighty Dragons; be you from Kogarah, Wollongong, Australia, or wherever!

COME ON YOU SAINTS!!!

I think it's a brilliant idea and I'll be in town for the Kogarah match.

Happy to take part but I'm in The Preacher class and would need a runner. lol

I'm better at coaching and supplying the oranges.

BUMP

Alright, we're getting closer to the day where St George returns to Kogarah, the Promised Land, Mecca, call it what you will. Now I am going to be landing in Sydney at 9:30am and was wondering which people would prefer:

1\ As above, playing touch footy

2\ Booze up at the Premiers Lounge at the Taj Mahal

Kick-off for either would be 10am(ish), with 1st Grade not starting until 3pm.

saint-colesy

I live in Hervey Bay, but the flights land about 10mins apart.

I think i'll be getting picked up by me Pop, but I'm sure we could organise something.