Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

And then it got worse!

HenryTatana

disagree the players are shit, look at the Dolphins players. Poasa Faamasuli started at prop last night against Sharks, Euan Aitken killed it in the centres.
Our roster isn’t perfect but it’s way better than how busted we are going now.
A good coach would get this exact same roster into the top 8.
Griffin is just terrible and all players have regressed under him.
And Bennett buys a teenager who has never played NRL from Penriths lower grades to play 5/8 / half and the kid is killing it. Whilst our Captain reckons our youngsters need to bide their time because he had to and Hook buys duds like Tikka Masala and Musgrave.

since77

Said the same mate before the season started , I'm like you it doesn't hurt anymore , the more you get pounded the less it hurts you go numb ......
Many of us predicted the spoon was headed our way this year and were criticised for being negative but it was obvious we were on the path to this ever since the board kept Griffin on after the end of last season. It was so easy to see that this was a rabble of a team going backwards under a dinosaur of a coach whom the modern game has passed by....Meanwhile the board just sat back and let it happen while collecting their fat pay checks. This mess is on their heads. And it was completely avoidable had they had the balls to act on this in 2022.

Mickthedragon

Spot on mate.
You reap what you sow!
I’m enjoying this season tbh.
Couldn’t stand hearing the BS pre season about how we were pretty good last year and on the improve etc etc. I couldn’t believe what I was reading, the ladder flattered us big time last year. Now this year we are getting what we deserve and that is a whooping.
Let’s be honest, the board and coaches 100% deserve a wooden spoon for the what they’ve done to this team.
Obviously it sucks for the fans but I personally would cop the abuse from rival fans just to see the club squirm for the poor decisions they’ve made, they really deserve a wooden spoon.
No more spin, no more fluff pieces from Mbye and Woods, just cold hard facts, we are the worst football team in the competition.

TheRev

I can't blame Carr for our crap footy, cause its been crap for 3 years.. but given he seems the likely interim coach.. its not pleasing to hear that he is so poorly regarded :-/

Lovemedragons

I know this is a negative thread but I thought we did look a lot sharper with Hunt when he went to 9. Question now is will they persist and maybe also swap Mbye with Liddle?

TheRev

At first Hunt was sort of sooking a bit @9, and I think struggling with the idea of bending over every play (my back would do the same).. but once he warmed into it he was very dangerous.. he can throw both sides, spin, run, kick.. with some practice we could totally make it work.. but starting now and going into tougher games.. it wont be an easy transition.

If Hunt & Liddle can alternate.. that would be lethal.. but I just don't see the viable solution, I cant see Hunt spending time on the bench each week.. and i think 80mins seems a long way off.. even if repeated today where he has others helping out.. he's going to miss some tackles as you'd expect..

Hunt to 6 is another option, but the Bud+Amone experiment I did want to see get some time....

redv13

At first Hunt was sort of sooking a bit @9, and I think struggling with the idea of bending over every play (my back would do the same).. but once he warmed into it he was very dangerous.. he can throw both sides, spin, run, kick.. with some practice we could totally make it work.. but starting now and going into tougher games.. it wont be an easy transition.

If Hunt & Liddle can alternate.. that would be lethal.. but I just don't see the viable solution, I cant see Hunt spending time on the bench each week.. and i think 80mins seems a long way off.. even if repeated today where he has others helping out.. he's going to miss some tackles as you'd expect..

Hunt to 6 is another option, but the Bud+Amone experiment I did want to see get some time....
I might be of the minority but I really just don’t see it with Amone. I’ve tried hard to take to him but more often than not I just get disappointed with him. Why can’t they put Liddle at 9, Hunt at 7, Sully at 6. Amone brings absolutely zero to the team

TheRev

I might be of the minority but I really just don’t see it with Amone. I’ve tried hard to take to him but more often than not I just get disappointed with him. Why can’t they put Liddle at 9, Hunt at 7, Sully at 6. Amone brings absolutely zero to the team
I'm with you, I thought Amone should have been developing in NSW Cup 12mths ago.. but someone has to play @6.. and I would enjoy seeing if a combination could develop between him and Bud.. see if part of the issue has been being outside Hunt..