Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Andrew Fifita compared to Arthur Beetson

myrrh ken

Fifita has glaring weaknesses. There is no doubt about that. Daley and Sterlo both acknowledged that. But thats what he is capable of when his head is right

What are they though?

Play the balls, milking penalties and niggle/temper?

He's improved on the first. He keeps trying to milk but doesn't go over the top anymore. Still has the last one.

He has genuine all round skills.

Clifferd

Arthur didn't have the extra burden of having his every off field move scrutinised
either.

It's a miracle Fifita did what he did last year and I think he is about to finally deliver big time.
The tigers are f**king idiots btw.
Deadset
What was the original deal again?
Sharks will take Bryce Gibbs or heino if they chuck in Fifita??

At the time Fifita was a f**kin idiot on the field & absolute liability giving away 4 penalties every game and copping suspensions but there was no doubt he had the talent. I was still gutted

I'm pretty sure it was take Gibbs and includes Fifita, yep

davi

Clips shows Beetson tackling prowess, but doesn't show much of his attack that he gets herald for in his career. Also people have to remember that Beetson like Fifita had his criticisms about him as player during his career. He put on weight in midst of his career with some whispers about his lack of discipline which Beetson himself has dismissed.

Arthur Beetson's playing record below;

Height 6ft 2in

Weight 105 kg

221 First Grade games - 24 tries and a field goal

18 games NSW - 3 tries

3 games QLD - 0 tries

29 games Australia -1 try.

Andrew Fifita's current playing record below;

Height 6ft 4in

Weight 126 kg

152 First Grade games - 32 tries

Tonga 1 game - 0 tries

Indigenous All Stars 3 games - 0 tries

City - 3 games - 3 tries

NSW - 9 games - 2 tries

Australlia - 7 games - 2 tries

It will be very interesting to see where Fifita's stats finish up.

What a shame he was excluded from the last tour to England.

Arthur didn't have the extra burden of having his every off field move scrutinised
either.

It's a miracle Fifita did what he did last year and I think he is about to finally deliver big time.
The tigers are f**king idiots btw.
Deadset
What was the original deal again?
Sharks will take Bryce Gibbs or heino if they chuck in Fifita??

To be Fair I doubt Fifita would have turned out to be this player if he stayed at the Tigers. He needed some hard heads like Gallen and Lewis guiding him.

DiegoNT

It's funny that there is a comparison to artie beetson. Artie is held in high esteem in the rugby league community, while Fifita is a Villain. But having read Arties book ( highly recommend it by the way), artie was involved in an altercation off field where another player punched, as a result he hit his head on the pavement, and later died from the incident. Artie says he wasnt involved with the fight but was present, but there was always innuedo that he was involved, that their was an investigation and he and others involved were cleared of any wrong doing. That incident had no effect on his career. Contrast that to the treatment that fifita got for visiting someone who he used to coach in jail, at the request of the family because the guy was suicidal, for a similar crime

Vic said:
To be Fair I doubt Fifita would have turned out to be this player if he stayed at the Tigers. He needed some hard heads like Gallen and Lewis guiding him.

^^^^^

I still reckon David can do wonders, going well in the ESL......Still so young for a Prop.

Imagine two of them.......

Carn Dave, come back and be his equal, destroy QLD and NZ and the f**king Poms

Fifita is an absolute beast and he has skills. The comparison may well turn out to be on the money. Lets see how the back end of his career plays out.

myrrh ken

It's amazing that all it takes is a "MOM" performance in a GF, a superman performance in SOO and a Tour ban for Fifita to be redeemed in the eyes of the media (and a few dopey forumers lurking in the sharks forum).

People were baying for his blood last year. He is probably the same as he was back then. And was definitely playing at the same level.

Maybe if Pearce does the same, fans will love him as much as the media does.

OldPanther

It's amazing that all it takes is a "MOM" performance in a GF, a superman performance in SOO and a Tour ban for Fifita to be redeemed in the eyes of the media (and a few dopey forumers lurking in the sharks forum).

People were baying for his blood last year. He is probably the same as he was back then. And was definitely playing at the same level.

Maybe if Pearce does the same, fans will love him as much as the media does.

At the time I said he didn't deserve the treatment he got.

Cockadoodledoo

Fifita took his game to a completely new level on Wednesday night, not to say he hasn't been outstanding before hand, he has. It was up there with the best origin performances I have seen and I have been watching them, pretty much since it started. The way he led the NSW pack makes me think Cronulla have to be a huge chance of going back to back barring injuries.

veggiepatch1959

I saw Beetson play quite a few times as a kid and I feel that Fifita has the potential to surpass him as one of Rugby League's all time greatest forwards.

Since I really started not giving two-shits about off-field stuff (Cody Walker is an exception at the moment), watching players play and ply their trade...it's far more entertaining. Turn the commentators down or off, and just watch.

Fafita was destructive in that first 25 in SOO1. He murdered the GF in 2016. Purely on those alone, I think he's a ripper dipper dandy player. If he keeps it up, Qld will be sore and sorry for a few years.

More people have to get behind this sentiment. Too much dwelling on the drama news cycle puts you off actually being enthusiastic about the game.

Players f**k up, sign with other clubs, come and go for whatever reason.. end of the day it's just fluff compared to a cracking game of footy.
I've barely mentioned Tedesco signing with us - it's just not that interesting to me right now, i'll shitpost about him to my heart's content next year.

Fifita took his game to a completely new level on Wednesday night, not to say he hasn't been outstanding before hand, he has. It was up there with the best origin performances I have seen and I have been watching them, pretty much since it started. The way he led the NSW pack makes me think Cronulla have to be a huge chance of going back to back barring injuries.

Cronulla's pack is nuts. Gal and Lewis still putting up big games regularly despite fading out of their rep careers (willingly or not).
Fifita an absolute monster. Prior the workhorse.
And Wade Graham just a pure footballer.

And any side with Maloney running the backline is gonna win more games than they lose. This is beyond any doubt now.

The only thing stopping them featuring on the first Sunday of October, again, will be either what f**ked us in 2015 - injuries to key players, or what f**ked us in 2014 - lack of hunger compared to a desperate opposition.
But I dunno. Most of their old blokes have spent their careers on the bottom end of the table, i reckon they've got more than 1 premierships worth of hunger in them.

sensesmaybenumbed

Was that in his high heels?

I walked right next to him in the car park behind Woolies in Nowra about 10 years ago. I was surprised how short he was.

No taller than me and I just nudge 6 ft.

He was definitely shorter, perhaps as age got along, but I was lucky enough to meet him and have a few words about 10 years back. Shook his hand and it was enormous, it just completely engulfed half my arm.