Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Watts to be sacked, Todd Carney on brink

parra_jesus

RUGBY league's most troubled club, the Sydney Roosters, will sack Anthony Watts and then consider axing Todd Carney after allegations of another ugly off-field incident.

The NRL's image took a further battering yesterday when Anthony Watts, 24, was charged with assault occasioning actual bodily harm after police allege he punched ex-girlfriend, Shannon Kiss, repeatedly in the back of her head.

The incident came after Watts and Todd Carney were out at the Coogee Palace and then The Trademark Lounge Hotel - John Ibrahim's nightspot in Bayswater Road, Kings Cross. Onlookers claim the pair left the Coogee Palace at 11pm and The Trademark at 4am.

Sydney Roosters officials were last night refusing to speculate on whether Carney was drinking alcohol but The Daily Telegraph understands the star player was consuming vodka and soda. "He was definitely on the drink in front of everyone," one onlooker said.

The pair were joined for a few drinks at The Trademark by boxer Garth Wood.

Given he is attending Alcoholics Anonymous and missed Saturday night's 24-6 loss to Brisbane in Gosford because of an injury, Carney may now have his lucrative contract ripped up.

It is understood Carney and Watts live together in Coogee. The Roosters will have no choice but to sack Watts.

Any action from the Roosters may have to wait until powerful club chairman Nick Politis returns from a trip to Greece on Friday.

Carney, who returned a blood alcohol level of 0.052 as a P-plater on February 26, asked Roosters management for the weekend off so he could visit his mother, Leanne, in Goulburn. The drama will hinder Carney's chances of playing for NSW this year.

Roosters chief executive Steve Noyce will present the NRL with a detailed report of the incident today after a crisis meeting at the club's SFS headquarters.

An AVO was yesterday served against Watts, who will front Waverley Local Court on Thursday.

This is the latest drama for a club in crisis.

After reaching last year's grand final, the Roosters have won just two of six games this year and face premiers St George Illawarra next Monday at the SFS.

"We have to get all the facts. One matter is before the courts," Roosters chief executive Steve Noyce said. "I will find out all the information from both players before we act."

Asked whether Carney was drinking, Noyce said: "I don't know."

Friends say Watts and Kiss separated recently. Watts, who was sacked from Cronulla, was said to be angry at the break-up.

It has also been suggested that Watts suffers from depression and has previously been admitted to a rehabilitation centre.

Sources claim Carney and Watts became separated on the night from a Roosters minder. There were also suggestions the pair were out with sprint trainer Roger Fabri, who recently worked with Willie Mason."I have spoken to Steve Noyce and we are awaiting a report from the Roosters," NRL chief executive David Gallop said. "Clearly this is a serious issue that the police are looking into."

The Roosters issued a press statement yesterday which read in part: "Steve Noyce said that the seriousness of the charge underlined the need to ensure that all the facts were established before any judgment was made by the club.

"The club is aware Anthony had been out with fellow Sydney Roosters teammate Todd Carney and will conduct a thorough investigation and provide a report to the NRL within the next 48
hours."

source
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...-carney-on-brink/story-e6frexnr-1226040598149

so if carney's contract does infact get ripped up and the nrl DONT de-register him parra should go out to sign him up! i dont care if you guys might say he is a dickhead or whatever . the fact is he on his day he is the best halve going around. i say throw the cheque book at him!!!

newmanj

Pj, a wonderfully talented footballer, but I would rather lose every game than have that fool represent our great club.

If he showed change over a period of more than 12 months, then I would consider.

cv8z

If culture is one of the problems with the club and they're trying to change it then it would be a step backwards getting either of them. As much as we need both of them it's a NO

The Stig

Just for once I would like to see the NRL take the lead and terminate their contracts so they cannot play at all in the comp. I find it harder and harder to watch the game I once loved due to this type of crap.

It's just the Tim Smith thing all over. Please lets not go there.

SCoops

The problem all of this, is when or how will they ever learn life's lessons.
If all he does is get smashed, get booted from a team only to join another team on the same or better monies, what is that showing him?
He needs to be booted not just from this comp but also have no chance of playing in any comp regardless if it is OS or local juniors.

Not that I wish this on anyone but maybe even a short stint in the slammer might be just the wake up call he needs.

The problem with our society today is that we are not showing the younger generations how to behave. or that if you behave like this it is ok as you will be thrown a lifeline. that you don't have to be responsible for your actions.

Kick them from the comp I say. Make them get a job outside of footy altogether. Then see how often you can go out and get smashed act like a total tool and get away with it.

SCoops [FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

Noise

There is no way they will tear up carney's contract. He was out till late but it doesn't appear he did anything malicious nor was it stated he was drunk. One witness saw him with a vodka lime and soda..wow!

Watts on the other hand is f**ked

oldmancraigy

There is no way they will tear up carney's contract. He was out till late but it doesn't appear he did anything malicious nor was it stated he was drunk. One witness saw him with a vodka lime and soda..wow!

Watts on the other hand is f**ked

Well - Carney is not supposed to drink again this year with the Chooks.

However I'd wager they will NOT rip up his contract. Watts will be made an example of, and then Carney will be 'suspended by the club' for a month or so, then brought back to play.

Is it worth looking at Watts as a hooking option?

So if the Rorters sack Carney, that means that they will be in the market for a top line No.6/7. Fckn great. :roll:

Carney dosent deserve to be playing football for a living, he takes it all for granted...

If you knew your playing career and livelyhood depended on not drinking and making a fool of yourself how the f**k can you bring yourself to do it!!!!!! at least do it at home or something FFS

Bigfella

Carney will be given far more chances than most because he is a better player than most.

The sooner these diciplinary issues get taken out of the hands of the clubs the better.

No to Watts if he did what is alleged.

I'd rather have a bloke like Jeff Robson and lose every game than have either of them TBH.

By sweeping all this crap under the carpet for so many years the Roosters have shot themselves in the foot I reckon.

For on field talent v results, they have been bigger under achievers than us.