Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Any 10 pin bowlers on this forum???

Evilgrowler

If so, where are you? How long have you been involved in the sport? What's your average? How often do you compete? What kind of gear are you using?

I've been involved for over 33 years. I'm a scratch bowler. I don't compete at the moment. I was using an Assault and Icon, but sold all my gear before I moved back to Brisbane from Perth. Now I'm in the market for new equipment.

chileman

G'day my ole mate Evilgrowler....I keep saying I'll get together with you to have a drink but maybe I need to meet you at a bowling alley although you'd probably humiliate me :lol: think I nearly got a score of 200 once but I probably had my eyes closed! :p I love the game, it's alot of fun and if I had the time I would play it more often!

Mighty Tiger

IIf so, where are you? How long have you been involved in the sport? What's your average? How often do you compete? What kind of gear are you using?

NSW, Been bowling for 7yrs, average is around the 206 have had it as high as 218 last year.... Did compete 6 days a week but things have changed from under 21's to open grade and just not having as much fun as I use to..

I don't hook to much although do hook from the 7-5 board, just use the good old Battle Zone

Evilgrowler

That's very impressive Mighty Tiger. Just one question though, why aren't you enjoying your game any more?

No worries Chileman, I'll give 100 sticks start. ;-)

Mighty Tiger

Evilgrowler said:
That's very impressive Mighty Tiger. Just one question though, why aren't you enjoying your game any more?

No worries Chileman, I'll give 100 sticks start. ;-)

Well under 21's your all mates when in compition, where as in open grade its nothing but back stabing and abuse the whole time. I kick there arse and still I coped abuse saying it was a fluke....

I'm taking a break from things for a few months and next year I will probably defend my title and show the idiots it was no fluke!

Evilgrowler

I don't see why going from one division to another should make any difference. When I graduated from juniors to seniors, nothing changed between me and my mates who came through with me.

Craig Bollenhagen and I were the 2 highest ranked juniors in the country at the time. Absolutely nothing changed between us or any others. We all remained mates and continued to hang out. The only thing that happened was the competition became a little stronger.

Distractions are part of the game. You have to deal with it. You need to go bowl with the pros. Get some first rate coaching from the Americans. I was invited to compete with them on the PBA circuit for 4 weeks in the early 80's. No urathane or reactive balls then, but I carried a 217 average for my time with them and mostly due to their coaching techniques.

In Australia, we are at least 15 years behind the Americans in the sport. Even today. You need to be maintaining a 195 average over 66 games to apply. Perhaps that's a little higher now. I'd like to bowl you for money. I think I'd wipe the lanes with you.

Are you a cranker or a real bowler.....a stroker.

chileman

100 start amigo, I think I'll need that and for you to bowl between your legs for me to have a chance :lol: