Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Arana Taumata

Will he make it?

• Will not make it through the pre season.

Votes: 3 7.5%
  • Will make it through, then stuff up again.

Votes: 5 12.5%
  • Will get through the whole season rebuilding his career

Votes: 19 47.5%
  • Superstar.

Votes: 13 32.5%

Gents & Ladies

With our signing of Arana Taumata and given his checkered past,

What do you think the chances are of him actually taking the field for us next season?

N.C.

Impossible to say. Hope he's all that he's cracked up to be, and that we get good value out of him... Not sure about his association with Matty Johns, though. Could be a worry.

Bow_rider

Gents & Ladies

With our signing of Arana Taumata and given his checkered past,

What do you think the chances are of him actually taking the field for us next season?
Mate I think he has a bit of ability but up here last year with Easts he really showed he is an average type of bloke. I dont know he just seems to be a bad egg. Why would Warren Mcdonald pay anything for him when the Tigers 20s were in the GF.

super_coach

Will be our best buy in years, right up their with Ellis. The kid is on his last chance and with Johns and Sheens and a few others pointing him in the right direction he will do okay. Our biggest problem will be keeping him after he really kills them in 2010. All my spy's tell me he is in Benji's class.

He has signed for 2 years,reportedly $100k a year.

Mr_Raditch

THe blokes gotta wake up to himself eventually & realise getting on the turps is no good for him, so he should avoid putting himself in that position. Hopefully he has matured & realised this & has a great year.

RoMo

My spy tells me he is on the piss hard, has disgraced himself on a few occasions, is a twat and won't make it to Round 1 ... my spy is bang on the money as well I dare say

He has all the ability in the world.

It's not his ability or his attitude that gets him selected in first grade though.

It's Tim Sheens.

If someone as skilled and with as good an attitude as Matthew Head struggles to get a look in, then Arana is gonna be lucky to make it to first grade.

alien

He will be good for us if he behaves himself off the field and puts in at training. Not sure about him playing halfback though because I like Moltz at halfback. Maybe we could try Taumata at fullback in the trials.

macnaz

My spy tells me he is on the piss hard, has disgraced himself on a few occasions, is a twat and won't make it to Round 1 ... my spy is bang on the money as well I dare say

Well i think your spy is talking BS , i doubt with his track record the club would stand for bad behaviour this early into his contract, and i also doubt a person could be that f**ked that they would even do 1 thing wrong let alone do it on numerous occassions as your spy has said ... Repeat offenders usually have a break between screw ups.

Hello Alien,

I am very concerned about him to be honest.

You don't get sacked from 4 of the biggest clubs in the NRL for no reason.

Word is he has an enormous issue with the drink as well as behavioural issues while drinking.

There is no denying he is talented, but I reckon he will not get through the pre season.

I hope he proves me wrong and leads us to a premiership.

alien

Hello Alien,

I am very concerned about him to be honest.

You don't get sacked from 4 of the biggest clubs in the NRL for no reason.

Word is he has an enormous issue with the drink as well as behavioural issues while drinking.

There is no denying he is talented, but I reckon he will not get through the pre season.

I hope he proves me wrong and leads us to a premiership.

It's a shame because he is obviously quite talented.

We have some risky signings. Taumata and his drinking/behaviour problems and Cayless, Topou get injured alot.

Highflier

Mate I think he has a bit of ability but up here last year with Easts he really showed he is an average type of bloke. I dont know he just seems to be a bad egg. Why would Warren Mcdonald pay anything for him when the Tigers 20s were in the GF.

Disclosure - AJ is family, and I know him better than anybody on these boards ... I'll concede that he's sometimes known to be reckless and immature and hopefully he's turned the corner on such issues ... but he's not the person you purport to describe .... it's unclear if you are actually referring to his stint with Easts tigers in QRL ... before AJ joined they were wooden spooners ... his inclusion almost gained them a playoff spot ... maybe you should PM me and indentify yourself and I will do the same ... I'm interested to find out where you gather your intelligence from and why you would make such spurious and deregratory remarks about the man

Peace

Highflier

Disclosure - AJ is family, and I know him better than anybody on these boards ... I'll concede that he's sometimes known to have been reckless and immature and hopefully he's turned the corner on such issues

RoMo - who's your spy? I'm interested to find out where you gather your intelligence from and why you would make such spurious and deregratory remarks about the man. I reckon you're talking BS - anybody can get a username & avatar and say anything they damn well like it seems ...

Well here's a bit of real intell for you .... at speed tests yesterday, AJ became the fastest player at the club .... now that doesn't seem to correspond with an athlete who is on the piss hard!!

Peace

Highflier,

Make no mistake, we all want Arana to succeed, he has an abundance of talent.

As tigers fans though, you can not blame us for being a bit concerened with him due to his past.

The last thing Arana wants to be is a "could have been" or an "if only" kid working as a labourer instead of carving up the footy field.

We ALL wish him the best because we all want success for our team.

Him and Benji could carve through any defense, especially now with the pack we have.

Bubbles.

hybrid_tiger

I reckon he'll carve up and end up being a great buy.

If he has problems drinking he should quite simply not drink. These blokes who can't go a day without a beer are f**king pathetic.