Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Aukland 9s vs Indigenous Allstars?

Which would you prefer?

BranVan3000

The All stars is dogshit. The indigenous players play great but the All Star team doesn't give a shit and is made up of about 35 players so each one gets about five minutes each lol. The interchange rules make it a complete bore

Canard

9s for me but I would merge them and have QLD,NSW and an Indigenous side play against 13 international sides in a World 9s.NRL 9s is just a greedy cash grab by the clubs.

???

It wasn't iniated by the clubs.

fourplay

I'm very excited for the 9's with all the extra space that will be available for the great attacking players.

andrew057

9's for me as well.

Fast, open, attacking footy, with great prize money ensuring it will be competitive. Sounds like the perfect combination for the preseason.

As mentioned, if the Indigenous All Stars game was played every 3-4 years it might keep its lustre. But the concept seems to have gone stale to me and a number of the players.

If it was an international nines I'd have travelled to see it, NRL nines I'll stop,home and watch on TV.

Canard

They didn't kick it into touch either though.

GI would have a choice but l know most kooris would choose their people over their state.

Some clubs may not make a cent out of it.

It's a professional sport, not some hipster gen Y bullshit.

LU home of the League hipster "I don't watch Origin!, I don't like pre season League, I'm not watching because it's not international"

Whilst you guys are at home growing your beards and working on your fixies, I'll be watching it with the rest of the sold out crowd.

Tone83

I'm still gonna watch every second, and have never complained about extra footy before, but this just has me scratching my head. And yeah bummed about no allstars.

I'd prefer Indigenous All Stars vs Islander All Stars Friday 3rd October 2014 @ Townsville with 3 million people watching nationally.
This would be better... damn, this would be really good.

I agree with criticisms of the allstars btw, it's really all about the one team. Anyone who is a fan of the "all stars" team should pretty much be arrested cause all it could possibly mean is you hate aborigines. In that way it's an awkward concept, and islander allstars vs indigenous allstars would be a huge improvement.

Shame there could never be a whities all stars, they could be called the convicts, lol, but yeah nah, you can't do that.

I just really love to see what indigenous squad is assembled, can get some really exciting combinations out there. Would have loved to see Kelly connect with GI for example.

shiznit

I liked the 9s until I investigated going across and found out the tickets are an immense ripoff for decent seats
Have another look mate, all the bronze and silver tickets are practically gone I think.

So they are re-releasing some of the gold tickets on the edges as silver.

I'm with a group of 12... We all paid about $160NZD each for gold tickets re-allocated to silver.

Apparently they had sold 3/4s of the tickets for both days... That was a month ago.

It's selling strongly... And with Xmas coming up I reckon it's gonna sell out before feb.

cleary89

I think I've only ever watched one all stars game. Would watch it if at home but not making plans around it.

Have flights and tickets to Auckland 9's.

Easy decision on the poll.

thorson1987

I agree with criticisms of the allstars btw, it's really all about the one team. Anyone who is a fan of the "all stars" team should pretty much be arrested cause all it could possibly mean is you hate aborigines. In that way it's an awkward concept, and islander allstars vs indigenous allstars would be a huge improvement.

You have said some truly stupid shit on here, but this takes the cake.

Yep, people should be arrested because they won't follow a team they have no affinity with.

So that means Australians who don't follow the Kangaroos should be arrested aswell because they hate their own country.

afinalsin666

Being a 9's comp, the shittier teams will get a good run at winning it. That alone enhances the excitement factor, you just don't know what's gonna happen. Also, the prize money would really help boost some of the weaker clubs if they won it.

9's all the way, really.

paulmac

Some clubs may not make a cent out of it.

It's a professional sport, not some hipster gen Y bullshit.

LU home of the League hipster "I don't watch Origin!, I don't like pre season League, I'm not watching because it's not international"

Whilst you guys are at home growing your beards and working on your fixies, I'll be watching it with the rest of the sold out crowd.

All clubs will make $70,000 just for turning up.I love all RL grew up watching the World 7s which is why I am a fan of it being international.Not once did I say I wouldn't watch it.
PS this will not sell out I reckon they will get 50,000 for the two days which is still great and I once tried to grow a beard and I got nothing but bumfluff.