Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Australia are the problem in international rugby league

Emu01

If you take Australia out of this World Cup it would be a very competitive tournament.when Australia flog another country it sets the international game back and people lose interest.

The best international series I can remember was the 1990 ashes in England against Great Britain.

All three games went down to the wire Great Britain was very competitive and Australia only just won the series 2-1.

It would be great if France could rise to the top again apparently they were outstanding in the 50’s60’s and 70’s.

After they defeated Australia 2-1 in the 60’s the French put on a parade back home and 150 thousand people celebrated the winning team!

deluded pom?

If French RL history is your bag Emu, try a book called Champagne Rugby. It's about the 1950 and 1955 France tours to Australia.

kiwileaguefan

The problem is lack of money and professional domestic competitions. Blaming it on one nation because they are so dominate is wrong. Don't here rugby complaining about the All Blacks.

People lose interest because the lack of international footy....not the big score lines.

deluded pom?

The ABs get bigged up by the sport, the media and others who know little about union and rightly so. Who champions the Kangaroos?

Pommy

Would it be a very competitive tournament or would It just be a guaranteed England NZ final rather than Australia and either England or NZ final?

Emu01

Would it be a very competitive tournament or would It just be a guaranteed England NZ final rather than Australia and either England or NZ final?

I reckon it would be cos Tonga and Samoa on their day can challenge NZ and England giving you a competitive top 4 nations.

Last Week

Unless the governing bodies of those nations start producing some genuine talent that they play in Super League or the NRL, they will never ever consistently challenge Aus, NZ or England.

ULYSSES

If you take Australia out of the WC then it could only be held in England and no matter who won it they would be considered second rate because they did not beat the southern power house.
If Australia was not included then I suggest the NRL clubs would find grounds to stop their players competing for the junior nations. Imagine Italy or Lebanon minus the Aussies...England and NZ would put 200 on them.
Lets leave Australia in it. The problem is not Australia, it is the lack of numbers playing in most WC playing nations. Lets develop these nations and solve the problem.

Pommy

I suppose we will see this World Cup. I’d like to see Tonga beat NZ.

Of course it could happen, but England could beat Australia. Neither are that likely I don’t think. I look forward to watching the teams try though.

hutch

Australia has its problems regarding international rugby league but the fact that they are providing Australian born players to every single World Cup team I’d say international rugby league is completely reliant on Australia.

You blame Australia yet praise France even though they peaked over 40 years ago.

ouryear

And basketball by team USA. Both sports are bigger than ever
There isn't much interest in international basket ball.

It's more a domestic competition.

They should make usa also have an all white team.

They would come last.

USA should be called Africa and then I would support them.

ouryear

Aww big bad Australia are too good.

I hope we lay waste to every other nation personally.

Australia is over rated this time around.

Also I think u have a short memory, in games that are not just a one off game, NZ beat the aussies regularly.

ouryear

If you take Australia out of the WC then it could only be held in England and no matter who won it they would be considered second rate because they did not beat the southern power house.
If Australia was not included then I suggest the NRL clubs would find grounds to stop their players competing for the junior nations. Imagine Italy or Lebanon minus the Aussies...England and NZ would put 200 on them.
Lets leave Australia in it. The problem is not Australia, it is the lack of numbers playing in most WC playing nations. Lets develop these nations and solve the problem.

Geeze, they are all developing league countries except England and NZ.

I think they do amazing to even get within 50 of us.

NZs main game is union and they smash us.

England's main game is soccer and they smash us.

League is our main game along with Aussie rules, but nz and England can still be competitive with us.

Summary.
We are no longer a great sporting nation, other countries are.