Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bears Confirmed & Rumoured Signings

Red&BlackBear

Deliberately constant sneaky foul play. Niggle, sledging, cowardly play... Then taking a cheap shot at a literal kid.. on social media grub.
Also completely ego centric narsasist.. absolute flog

Suspension doesn't define being a grub in the slightest, especially if you're a middle, that's literally your job to battle for dominance and I've never seen someone deliberately high.. to be sent off and suspended. They're pushing the limit and sometimes over it. JWH was one of the most suspended players but his job is to be an enforcer.

If Perth want fans.. just keep in mind, I'm not alone in my thoughts on Luai. It's not rare.
I don't think I've met anyone in real life that thinks he's anything but a total flog.
He is one of the nicest people in real life. Which shows again, opinions are construed by media and aren’t based on a legitimate understanding of a particular human - nor it seems can people differentiate a competitor on field from the person they are off the field.

Which honestly tells me more about your viewing of the game than anything else. All things you have mentioned which apparently vilify Luai - Wally did, Slater did, Munster did and in no other terms could those 4 be considered anything but greats. Thats their legacy and standings. This is due to the high bar set and maintained during their careers. I’d argue with the fact that Munster’s standards are lower and there was no push back when the club chose to chase him.

Ultimately, your view of the personality of a man which you do not know does not change the fact that person/player can be uber competitive and that competitiveness pushes them and his team mates to try be the best version of themselves through high standards being met during the week at training and during the moment of games.

The Galvin situation has no bearing on Luai’s ability and consistency in always chasing those standards.

End of the day - this is all hypothetical. I stand by my statement that I cannot see Luai moving away from what is important to him and therefore moving away from Sydney. I have no inside knowledge of if the Bears are or aren’t interested in Jerome.

I want to conclude that you’re free to dislike whoever you want. I just think it would be wiser to be able to differentiate perceived personality from work ethic & commitment.

Wb1234

If they are chasing Burton then I doubt they want luai as they would be reuniting the dogs halves

Funny how the bears are now spoiled for choice

Red&BlackBear

If they are chasing Burton then I doubt they want luai as they would be reuniting the dogs halves

Funny how the bears are now spoiled for choice
It’s been stated for months now. Player market and recruitment potential landscape changes every season at random - players that look happy and locked in at a club today are no guarantee to feel the same way/ or the club reciprocates that in a few months time.

This is how we end up with Lomax and Papenhuyzen situations or Hunt last off season or players who don’t take up their contract player option like Brown. Then there’s the mid-season transfers like Galvin, or club release like Fifita.

This should not be a shock, it happens almost every season.

I honestly don't understand why Luai leaving would be bad, taking up massive cap space and I can't remember him ever putting someone through a hole.
Most overrated player in the game. Let him go..
You might actually be able to keep some of the talent coming through.
you cant be overrated by being a 4x premiership winning half while making 5x gf's in a row. winning 2 origin series and taking samoa to a wc final. good things tend to happen around places he is at.

Wb1234

you cant be overrated by being a 4x premiership winning half while making 5x gf's in a row. winning 2 origin series and taking samoa to a wc final. good things tend to happen around places he is at.
He’s a bit of a handbrake in attack

A bit better than Burton

But Gibbs is wrong he’s a champion guy

Liam Henry & Iszac Faasuamaleaui are locked in

Liam Henry and Iszac Fa’asuamaleaui sign with Perth Bears​

The Perth Bears are delighted to announce Liam Henry and Iszac Fa’asuamaleaui have signed with the club for their inaugural season in 2027.

Henry has committed to a four-year deal (2027, 2028, 2029 and 2030) while Fa’asuamaleaui has signed for two years (2027, 2028).

“This is another proud day for the Perth Bears”. Head Coach Mal Meninga said.

“Liam is one of the most exciting middle forward prospects in the NRL and I am ecstatic to have him as part of our inaugural roster.

“Iszac is a versatile and athletic forward who will look to continue his development with Catalans next season before coming to Perth for 2027.

“Both players have their best footy in front of them and I have no doubt will make an immediate impact with the Bears”.

Hailing from Blayney, in regional New South Wales, Henry progressed through the Penrith Panthers pathways program before making his First-Grade debut in 2022.

The 24-year-old has played 50 First-Grade games for the Panthers and was a member of their 2024 Grand Final winning team.

In October this year, Henry was selected in the Australian Prime Ministers XIII team that defeated the PNG Prime Ministers XIII 28 – 10.

“I’m excited about the opportunity to be a part of history and continue my career with the Perth Bears from 2027”. Henry said.

“It’s not every day you get the chance to be a part of a new team in a new city and it’s that opportunity that excites me the most.”

Joining Henry in Perth will be former Gold Coast Titans enforcer Iszac Fa’asuamaleaui.

The 24-year-old forward played 28 First Grade games for the Titans and will join fellow Bears recruit Toby Sexton at Catalans Dragons next year before moving to Perth in 2027.

“The Perth Bears provide an incredible opportunity for me to continue my career and play a part in building something special in Western Australia. Fa’asuamaleaui said.

“It’s going to be good to get to play with Toby (Sexton) at Catalans and hopefully have a strong year in Super League.

“That’s my priority right now but in 2027 I’ll be ready to give it my all for the Bears”. Fa’asuamaleaui said.

Perth Bears GM of Football David Sharpe hailed today’s announcement as another significant moment in the development of the Perth Bears inaugural roster.

“Liam and Iszac are quality humans who I know will relish the opportunity to continue their careers in Western Australia.

“We are building something special over here and I am delighted to have them both as part of our inaugural Top 30 squad.” Sharpe said.

Wb1234

Not getting kikau is ok

For the money he would’ve gotten at Perth he doesn’t deliver value

Means more likely Burton will be the one they release

He’s a good six but playing him at centre and luai at six and sexton at seven isn’t a bad result

Especially if they nail Tino which I thought was zero chance of happening

That’s enough “big names”

Liam Henry & Iszac Faasuamaleaui are locked in

Liam Henry and Iszac Fa’asuamaleaui sign with Perth Bears​

The Perth Bears are delighted to announce Liam Henry and Iszac Fa’asuamaleaui have signed with the club for their inaugural season in 2027.

Henry has committed to a four-year deal (2027, 2028, 2029 and 2030) while Fa’asuamaleaui has signed for two years (2027, 2028).

“This is another proud day for the Perth Bears”. Head Coach Mal Meninga said.

“Liam is one of the most exciting middle forward prospects in the NRL and I am ecstatic to have him as part of our inaugural roster.

“Iszac is a versatile and athletic forward who will look to continue his development with Catalans next season before coming to Perth for 2027.

“Both players have their best footy in front of them and I have no doubt will make an immediate impact with the Bears”.

Hailing from Blayney, in regional New South Wales, Henry progressed through the Penrith Panthers pathways program before making his First-Grade debut in 2022.

The 24-year-old has played 50 First-Grade games for the Panthers and was a member of their 2024 Grand Final winning team.

In October this year, Henry was selected in the Australian Prime Ministers XIII team that defeated the PNG Prime Ministers XIII 28 – 10.

“I’m excited about the opportunity to be a part of history and continue my career with the Perth Bears from 2027”. Henry said.

“It’s not every day you get the chance to be a part of a new team in a new city and it’s that opportunity that excites me the most.”

Joining Henry in Perth will be former Gold Coast Titans enforcer Iszac Fa’asuamaleaui.

The 24-year-old forward played 28 First Grade games for the Titans and will join fellow Bears recruit Toby Sexton at Catalans Dragons next year before moving to Perth in 2027.

“The Perth Bears provide an incredible opportunity for me to continue my career and play a part in building something special in Western Australia. Fa’asuamaleaui said.

“It’s going to be good to get to play with Toby (Sexton) at Catalans and hopefully have a strong year in Super League.

“That’s my priority right now but in 2027 I’ll be ready to give it my all for the Bears”. Fa’asuamaleaui said.

Perth Bears GM of Football David Sharpe hailed today’s announcement as another significant moment in the development of the Perth Bears inaugural roster.

“Liam and Iszac are quality humans who I know will relish the opportunity to continue their careers in Western Australia.

“We are building something special over here and I am delighted to have them both as part of our inaugural Top 30 squad.” Sharpe said.

more on this

Red&BlackBear

6 out of the 10 wishful before christmas recruiting signed up. wonder if they'll get a chance to announce another 4 within next 14 days. definitely seems likely/possible.

and to think 8-10 days ago or so ago some people here were making fun of it. i guess things really do change quickly in rugba league. once again you look correct @Red&BlackBear congrats cob
This has been achieved. They have over 10 signed up already but I’m not sure on announcement time lines. 2 more look likely before Christmas.

literally posted 3 posts above but either way hopes bears do gets tino

Centy Coast

Many people couldn’t stand Cameron Smith, couldn’t stand Billy Slater, its tall poppy syndrome through many people’s eyes.
Geez some people hate Nathan Cleary because he made a TikTok video during that covid rubbish lol.

Whether his long-term future is in Perth or remaining in Melbourne, Nick Meaney's short-term plans are to play in the centres rather than chase the Storm's vacant fullback jersey.

Ryan Papenhuyzen's shock off-season departure, walking away from his contract with a year to run, means the Storm will have at least one change to their first-choice backline in 2026.

But Meaney, who admitted he has been in talks with incoming NRL club Perth, is content to stay put in the centres, plumping for excitement machine Sua Fa'alogo to wear the No.1 jersey.

"We've got Sua there and he's a very handy football player," the 28-year-old said on Friday.

"I think it's good that he'll get first crack at fullback, hopefully, and I can keep doing my stuff at centre.

"Sua's had a bit of a rollercoaster career himself already but I think he's a very talented player.
"He can learn a lot more about the game and obviously it's up to us players around him and staff as well to help him get to that next level and be a ... top-tier fullback."

Asked whether Fa'alago, who has played 22 games since making his 2023 debut, had bulked up in the off-season, Meaney said he'd talked to the 22-year-old about the same thing.

"I was actually asking him what gym he goes to in the off-season and he said, 'No, I've got one at home', so I reckon every day he's on the gym and then on the PlayStation and back on the gym," Meaney laughed.

Following back-to-back grand final losses, Papenhuyzen quit the NRL looking to shift his life in another direction, and so far has no plans to return.

Meaney agreed his teammate had made the right call.

"Chatting to him, it was probably best for him to step away for a bit.

"We all know that he's been through a lot in his career with injuries and probably pressure from the media and outside noise as well, it can take its toll on everyone.
"Hopefully we see him back in the game in the near future."

With two young sons at home, Meaney is still weighing up his next move, with the Bears, who join the competition in 2027, in the mix.

"We've chatted with them (Perth) and obviously had a lot of conversations with Melbourne.

"I'm still going through the process at the moment and what's best for my future and my family as well.

"Hopefully in the near future have something set in stone, whether that's here or there or somewhere else as well, I'm not sure yet.

"I'm always open to anything but I've loved my time here at Storm - it's been great and I'm looking forward to next year."