Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bellamy - "St George is the benchmark"

Frank Facer

Yes we are the benchmark and will continue to be as long as we continue to improve. Don't worry, the Storm did not miss the fact that they scored their only three tries down our left edge - and it was easy. I just don't understand why they did not go that way more often.

We need to make major adjustment on our right edge and if we don't, we will have every team targeting that right edge until the end of the season. My solution is:
Mann to right centre
Lomax to right wing
Aitken as bench utility - same role as Mann has been doing
Nightingale to ISP.

This right edge will have the speed and defensive skills needed to address the right edge problems. Both players will add to the teams ability to continue to remain on top of the ladder.
You sound like you know what you are talking about Possum. lol

Frank Facer

Of course he is foxing, the chap will do and say anything to gain the slightest advantage over his opponents . That big target has been on our backs now for a number of weeks and shall continue to grow with each win , however it does not appear to be affecting the team one iota.
This Dragon outfit is totally different to the ones of the past few years - the self belief and confidence in their own ability is tremendous. That plus the new signings and the army veteran who has been assisting them has worked wonders for the squad , keep the good work up boys . :innocent:
We are 8 from 9 this year and premiership favourites, there is already a target on our backs

Frank - isn't that what I said ? ? - " that big target has been on our backs now for a number of weeks and shall continue to grow with each win " . :flushed:

im crowing after thrashing roosters and storm.
Nice try but you're actually calling out OV to admit something that has yet to be proven.
Because Saintsified is now convinced is no reason why anyone else who has seen us crash and burn form the No 1 spot on the ladder to also become a disciple.
Would you become a Judas if OV turned out to be correct?

FlameThrower

dont believe the hype....
if i was Coach i would show the team..the 10 minutes of panic football in 2nd half....even though we were in front..and also show those JAC tries, plus drop ball on 1st tackle...
We've got to keep improving and get rid of the outside noise and mind games..
October @ ANZ is the prize..

Slippery Morris

Saints can thanks the Dogs for beating them last year in Rd 26 for this as they seem to keep bringing that up. If they made the finals last year I think Saints would not be performing as good as they are. They are so motivated by last years failure. Also the press not tipping them to be top 8 or reminding them that they have been in this position before twice and done nothing.

Mary giving the young guys a small taste before origin is also pretty smart coaching as he is already preparing for that $hite part of the NRL season. I freakin hate Origin with a passion.

Dragons 09

dont believe the hype....
if i was Coach i would show the team..the 10 minutes of panic football in 2nd half....even though we were in front..and also show those JAC tries, plus drop ball on 1st tackle...
We've got to keep improving and get rid of the outside noise and mind games..
October @ ANZ is the prize..

That is all true but i see it expressed as the glass half empty theory. The fact that the points you make are very valid and yet we are winning and can still obviously improve, puts it in the glass half full category for me.....at present, we are definitely the benchmark.

Other teams are going to improve so we have to be able to keep improving to maintain our dominance and the good thing is, i believe the current 17 can. I would be far more concerned if we were in the same position but had been playing faultless footy with little room to improve.

I think Injuries and or burnout are our biggest worry. Not a huge amount of depth and experience behind our first 17 and we have all witnessed what happens when mental and physical burnout strikes. Mary's true test is still to come but it will be more about roster and player management than about skills, set plays and ball handling.

Alec's-saints

Saints can thanks the Dogs for beating them last year in Rd 26 for this as they seem to keep bringing that up. If they made the finals last year I think Saints would not be performing as good as they are. They are so motivated by last years failure. Also the press not tipping them to be top 8 or reminding them that they have been in this position before twice and done nothing.

Mary giving the young guys a small taste before origin is also pretty smart coaching as he is already preparing for that $hite part of the NRL season. I freakin hate Origin with a passion.
origin period isn't that bad this year. its only round 13-19 and we play storm.

Crush

Yes we are the benchmark and will continue to be as long as we continue to improve. Don't worry, the Storm did not miss the fact that they scored their only three tries down our left edge - and it was easy. I just don't understand why they did not go that way more often.

We need to make major adjustment on our right edge and if we don't, we will have every team targeting that right edge until the end of the season. My solution is:
Mann to right centre
Lomax to right wing
Aitken as bench utility - same role as Mann has been doing
Nightingale to ISP.

This right edge will have the speed and defensive skills needed to address the right edge problems. Both players will add to the teams ability to continue to remain on top of the ladder.
If their tries were easy then what were ours? The tries we scored against Storm were some of the softest I have ever seen against Melbourne. I would suggest that the team that lost by 20 have way more to worry about the than Dragons. If Dragons leaked points in the fashion that the storm did then this place would be up in arms!
Dragons ARE the benchmark. Storm have a lot of work to do to get UP to our standard!

Blood Shot Eyes

Foxing mate.

We are going great guns at the minute, and credit to all, but Bellyache knows what he's doing.

They,... and I think Chooks will be there deep into September.

I actually didnt mind Mary's response. Basically, said that nice to hear, but we have a way to go.

And to remain " gounded"..

Anyway, IMHO, mind games by Melbourne.
I agree mate mind games indeed...its typical Bellamy reverse psychology to take the pressure off his mob and load it onto us....type of ploy that Bennett uses from time to time.....its how we handle the tag is the main thing

I was watching Bellamy very carefully as he said that and I am sure that he had a tongue like a snakes - forked , one whom says one thing , but means another other .