Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ben huntl

Nutz

If you go to 03:30 of the clip above, you will see all of Sloane's defensive problems summed up in ten seconds.

1. He turns his back on the attack (that is under-5s stuff)
2. He doesn't watch the ball
3. He doesn't run to fill the nearest hole and help his buddy in the line
4. He doesn't get his body square to target and his feet set (so he essentially just gets run past)
5. He doesn't have a target on the ball carrier (he doesn't know what kind of tackle he should choose to do)
6. He doesn't try to wrap up the ball (this occurs on the line so it is a very bad flaw)

I don't think this is necessarily fear. It is just poor defensive habits.
Some good points there mate. It sounds like you've played the game.
If you have you may recall the stutter step defensive drills. For those who don't know it's a drill where you very quickly run on the spot (balls-toes of feet) and you run left or right or straight depending what the trainer calls out, incorporating tackling bags later.
The whole idea of doing this drill is not to be caught resting on your heals when defending, especially shuffling left or right.
A sprinter now runs more on his toes. Check this year's 100m OG event.
I see basics being brutalised these days....don't get me started on tackling, geez.

It doesn’t surprise me one iota that Zac is rushing in to defend Bunt.

The trouble with Zac is that by and large, people have the same negative view of him as well as Bunt.

Someone should have told him that the horse had bolted and it’s every disloyal grubby sook for themselves.

Maybe they did but he held the honest belief that because he is so grand and wonderful, people would change their minds and we’d have a “Sorry Ben” thread here or something mindless.

All he’s done is fuel the fire of contempt that people have for himself and justify the decision of Flanno and high officialdom to chuck a sickie or become busy during his loathesome testimonial billion games or whatever it was.

Now does any other ex player want to ark up and bag off SGI? hurry the f**k up.

It just shows everyone that both lomax hunt what time of people they really are completely selfish little boys that have spat the dummy over and over again . They don't get it that they are both over paid players and they have both been released for less money to other clubs .
Perfect.

The surprising thing is that they both somehow feel that pleading their case in the media is helpful to either one of them.

The damage is done.

If they were smart, they should refrain from the entitled sook and do a few a noble things.

Here’s an example:-

We were all spewing when Ivan left and everyone clambered over each other to belt into him.

But tempers died down pretty quickly when it was revealed that Ivan was a quiet benefactor to our Tigers charity division.

Been donating solidly every year despite coaching the Panthers.

And full credit to him for not making a song and dance about it. Just got on with the job of quietly helping. It’s not well known either.

Unlike Bunt and Zac, who have to broadcast their bad humoured hate, unaware and lacking civility, honour and insight.

If you saw them in the pub, you’d leave. You wouldn’t want to be connected with either of them voluntarily. Too embarrassing.

You would have no bloody choice Silverdale old chum , it’s not as if the little miser is going to shout anyone a beer - hell will freeze over first . 🥶

All this dissing the club, neither Zac nor Bunt realise, it simply works in Flannos favour as it reinforces his decision to keep slurping on the milkshake.

If I was flanno, I’d be leaking stuff trying to get both idiots to keep responding because it’s a free hit.

They’ve spent years in the game and are yet to realise fans follow clubs over players. Sometimes fans are tested on a few issues.

An example:

Lots of miffed South’s fans when Renno was released despite offering a reduced salary to stay. The fans were proven to be right though.

Slippery Morris

It's pretty sad how the media is depicting Ben Hunt as the victim in all this rubbish. They keep going on about how Ben wanted out and Saints would not allow him to and trying to justify his really poor behaviour to the club, players and fans. This is a capt of the club mind you. There is all this sympathy for poor Ben but none towards the Club, players and especially the fans which is one of the largest in the comp. The way Hunt is carrying on about getting his freedom and wanting to play in a team that has a chance at winning the comp is so disrespectful and I am surprised it has not put other teams off getting someone like that at the club. Someone that if things don't go his way he spits the dummy, if the team needs there best player to step up especially with a couple of games to go against bottom 8 sides he goes missing, a guy that will wait till he is in training camp in a rep team, will take the gloss of an Origin series or International game to make it all about him. I am really keen to see how he goes. If a team honestly believes that he can win them a comp, good luck to them. Bennett, Bellamy and Cleary are not in the race and for good reason as if he wants to join a team that may win a comp, those 3 are his best bet and they clearly are not interested.

This can only happen to Saints, if it were a player from the Dogs, Storm, Souths etc, the glamour clubs, acted like Hunt, they would be roasted and the media would be sticking up for the club.

Sorry rant over, just annoyed with the media and how they stick up for this rubbish behaviour.

epDragon62

It's pretty sad how the media is depicting Ben Hunt as the victim in all this rubbish. They keep going on about how Ben wanted out and Saints would not allow him to and trying to justify his really poor behaviour to the club, players and fans. This is a capt of the club mind you. There is all this sympathy for poor Ben but none towards the Club, players and especially the fans which is one of the largest in the comp. The way Hunt is carrying on about getting his freedom and wanting to play in a team that has a chance at winning the comp is so disrespectful and I am surprised it has not put other teams off getting someone like that at the club. Someone that if things don't go his way he spits the dummy, if the team needs there best player to step up especially with a couple of games to go against bottom 8 sides he goes missing, a guy that will wait till he is in training camp in a rep team, will take the gloss of an Origin series or International game to make it all about him. I am really keen to see how he goes. If a team honestly believes that he can win them a comp, good luck to them. Bennett, Bellamy and Cleary are not in the race and for good reason as if he wants to join a team that may win a comp, those 3 are his best bet and they clearly are not interested.

This can only happen to Saints, if it were a player from the Dogs, Storm, Souths etc, the glamour clubs, acted like Hunt, they would be roasted and the media would be sticking up for the club.

Sorry rant over, just annoyed with the media and how they stick up for this rubbish behaviour.
Let them think poor boof-head 1 and 2 were hard done by the club. Flanno should use it to build a siege mentally in the team and the desire to prove they are better off without the big heads.

Harry Bath

With Hunt and Lomax gone we can finally start to heal as a club.

Think it will be tough going in 25 but I finally feel we are on the right path.
Yes without a half back Dragons will struggle, still no signing of the props that are needed even after Flanagan went on record that they were looking for forwards. If no quality players signed soon 2025 will be another missed year, I doubt if the dragons don't make the 8 in 2025 the board will let Flanagan be there in 2026.

Mojo

Let them think poor boof-head 1 and 2 were hard done by the club. Flanno should use it to build a siege mentally in the team and the desire to prove they are better off without the big heads.
I'm pretty certain that other professionals at the Club have known for a long time that the team is better off without them. I reckon Flanno and others have known this for quite some time too.

This Year?

The most disappointing thing for me is when Ben 1st came to the club I wanted him to be the best version of himself and be all those things he says he is in that face to face inverview.
I wanted him to win a comp with us and be a success story. It never happened and as time went on it only got worse. I don't know if it's the club's fault for allowing it to go for so long or it having loyalty to him and hoping it'd come good, but I'm glad it's over now.
The media can have their fun but I'm keeping my powder dry until March.

It's pretty sad how the media is depicting Ben Hunt as the victim in all this rubbish. They keep going on about how Ben wanted out and Saints would not allow him to and trying to justify his really poor behaviour to the club, players and fans. This is a capt of the club mind you. There is all this sympathy for poor Ben but none towards the Club, players and especially the fans which is one of the largest in the comp. The way Hunt is carrying on about getting his freedom and wanting to play in a team that has a chance at winning the comp is so disrespectful and I am surprised it has not put other teams off getting someone like that at the club.

I think some in the media have been quite sympathetic such as Mark Levy.

We all know the truth, the basis being ignorant players having a parting shot because they can’t accept decisions that don’t suit them.

What they don’t consider is the reception and of the two ex footy juniors here at work, 1x saints and 1x rooster, zero have any time for either of them.

I asked the ex rooster if he thought any retained current SGI players had any sympathies for Hunt as that was my big worry.

He said it’s likely that he had a few close friends in the squad but in the main he always considered Hunt as estranged or distant from the bulk of the players due to his personality.

But once this blows over, he would be “ out of sight, out of mind” and no one is going to die on the Hunt mountain.

I wouldn’t mention it except he’s footy mad, is related to a player and gets the odd good insider… and just like us, the classic bum steer!

if I’m a manager of a SGI current asset, I’d get my player to ring Flanno, touch base and have a friendly conversation.

No need to mention the sulking elephant in the room, just reach out. Flanno will interpret the gesture correctly.