Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji cracking the whip

I'll tell you one thing, if we ended up with no quality middles at all, how do you reckon we would have gone in 2025?
Another spoon probably and everyone would be jumping up and down calling for heads to roll again for sitting on their hands.....dèǰà vu.
I didn't see our CEO grovelling. I don't think it's in his repertoire.
IMO we still could use another big bopper, even after May and Hunt's signings.

I wasn't that worried about our middles but it's a lot better now. I don't want excuses for Benji and the coaching staff.

Our squad should be pushing to make the 8. I mean injuries etc can happen but geez we should improve next season.

Nutz

I do not know every detail but I know we offered him more than Melbourne offered him. That was all on Richo. The club also contacted the NRL about the deal since he went to Melbourne for less than what we were offering him. These are facts.

The question related to do I prefer Richo over Pascoe is pretty clear cut because we've developed a decent squad now so I prefer Richo.
Our middle leaked like a sieve at times and post contact metres weren't great. Also there was no intimidating of opposition with rampaging runs and defense.

Not trying to offend you Tiger, more like trying to defend Richo.
I know the storm low balled us but as a learned friend recently told me there is more to contracts that meet the eye eg TPA's and a swag of other financial and life after footy incentives. Also a greater chance of playing SOO etc.
I commend Richo for trying to provide Benji with the best middle available at the time. We were not going anywhere without 2-3 big boppers.
I still maintain that Richo stopped short of what Stefano's manager wanted because he eluded to that in an interview, it could have been in BTR.
Anyway, I'm willing to shout you a beer mate and move on hey.

I know the storm low balled us but as a learned friend recently told me there is more to contracts that meet the eye eg TPA's and a swag of other financial and life after footy incentives. Also a greater chance of playing SOO etc.
I commend Richo for trying to provide Benji with the best middle available at the time. We were not going anywhere without 2-3 big boppers.
I still maintain that Richo stopped short of what Stefano's manager wanted because he eluded to that in an interview, it could have been in BTR.
Anyway, I'm willing to shout you a beer and move on hey.
At this stage, I’m happy with how it’s all turned out. I think it is a well balanced roster.
There should be no excuses from anyone if were not improving.

Anyway, I'm willing to shout you a beer and move on hey.

There is no need to defend him. I think he cocked up in that instant and I think it's something this club has a history of doing. We overrate players based on emotion.

No hard feelings at all.

I just hope the team performs this season. I honestly think we under-performed significantly last season but the no 1 under-performer was Stefano. Doueihi is also consistently that guy as well.

Nutz

At this stage, I’m happy with how it’s all turned out. I think it is a well balanced roster.
There should be no excuses from anyone if were not improving.
Yes that's right and I think those with differing opinions would all agree that there should be no excuses at the end of next year for failure.
This goes for a lot of players too.
Getting another spoon should mean instant dismissal of all the coaches I feel. A complete clean out of hangerons too.
I don't know how that will work with contracts, sponsors, and availability of replacements.
I'm interested to hear what you guys think will be a pass mark for next year.
At this stage, running my eye over this year top 8 I think the 8 next year is achievable but not necessarily a fail if not. I'd say anything under 11 would be.
We can beat 6-7 teams based on their roster so that's why I'm not aiming for a figure plucked out of my pooper valve.
Any better than 11th for me is a bonus. Top 8 and it's my oxygen machine on full blast :)

Nutz

There is no need to defend him. I think he cocked up in that instant and I think it's something this club has a history of doing. We overrate players based on emotion.

No hard feelings at all.

I just hope the team performs this season. I honestly think we under-performed significantly last season but the no 1 under-performer was Stefano. Doueihi is also consistently that guy as well.
I've already stated that Stef was crap this year and there was a mitigating factor like returning from injuries but he can't hide behind that..
I've seen some real promising stuff from him when he went on some rampaging runs late in the season. He scored a nice try in Rd and strangely enough it was when Benji was coaching. I'd like to check how many games Stef played under Benji compared to how many he played with other coaches. Did Benji start to have an influence on him.
Bellyache has seen something in Stefano that he can work with, and it's unlike him to pay big bucks for a player's potential.
Anyway, Stef isn't playing with us anymore so he can empty the locker room, good luck to him as he is a really nice fella apparently.