Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

benji factor

I realise benji is goin 2 be a good player, but do think that it could be a blessing in disgiuse, i know young players make mistakes, especially ones like him that are always gettin involved in the play, however im not so sure if hes ready 4 1st grade yet

he gave away 2 tries against melbourne and 1 against the bulldogs, what do ya think??????

hybrid_tiger

you know who??????????? said:
I realise benji is goin 2 be a good player, but do think that it could be a blessing in disgiuse, i know young players make mistakes, especially ones like him that are always gettin involved in the play, however im not so sure if hes ready 4 1st grade yet

he gave away 2 tries against melbourne and 1 against the bulldogs, what do ya think??????

Absolutely not.

What Benji needs is experience. He is not going to get this sitting on the sideline, and he is certainly not going to learn to correct these mistakes whilst not playing.

If anything, the injury has hampered his on field development by almost a year.

How was Benji supposed to stop Kidwell on his line with no help? Come on, he didn't give that try up.

SouthernTiger

what absolute rubbish Benjis defense was disgracful on the weekend ... if it was anybody else and he wouldnt be playing first grade again. the difference between benji and billy slater and Karmichale hunt is that they play fullback and no pressure is required to organise the side ... if we didnt have hodgson i would have been a big fan of benji at the back

SouthernTiger

it has nothing to do with my vested interest balmain boy ... i see benji as the long term prospect at 5/8th for the club. However, his performance against melbourne and canterbury were a disgrace, well below first grade ... considering Kerr and Benji play two entirely different positions im not sure how thats relevant. given that sheens was saying exactly the same thing until reynolds got injured are you going to accuse him of having a vested interest ... grow up balmain boy, i have declared my interest unlike half of you here who have wet dreams over benji marshall every night ... like some I have consistently said since last year benji would be best off playing at either fullback or centre for a couple of years ... well before kieran came to the club. Its very sad that for so long our club has been starved of an exciting youngster that people could really believe a 19 yr old with no grade experience could be the solution at 5/8th. But his time will come

cheers

s. tiger

SouthernTiger

mate my advice to you is to start watching the games and stop collecting the football cards. The game is played on the field

cheers

s. tiger

SouthernTiger

As much as wanted benji in the halves.It was evident to
me last night benji is a fullback.Got give him room
to move and take him out of the defencive line.It's way
too early to put him in the halves.

This is what one poster said after the cowboys game. I will leave it anonymous but just put it in to show that people have been saying this all year. Which doesnt make it right or wrong but indicates its a view that is of some substance

Well I'm not worried about Benji's defensive deficiencies when we have a player like Fitzhenry in the centres. And considering you've been advocating a move by prince to 6, and Kerr to 7, I think it does have a bit to do with it.

Benji is learning the game, no doubt about that. However, sticking him at fullback, centres wherever is not the answer. If you want him out of the front line he has to spend time in reggies or on the bench. It's hilarious how after one bad defensive game you are into him, when he had a very good game against parra.

SouthernTiger

I prasised him after that Parramatta Balmain boy but that just proves my point that was a premier league side ... probably where benji is is right now but first grade ... well watch the canterbury game ... you dont learn the game in first grade mate he isnt that good ... some people on here seem to expect benji will just walk into rep football. In my view he hasnt come near it yet, and has struggled to justify a spot in the wests tigers 17. If you wanted a comparison between hunt and benji, Hunt is a far better player but that could be something about the less pressure he has on him ... btw why arent you worried about benji's defensive deficiencies? is having two bad defenders better than having 1 :roll:

Go ahead and miss the point of my post.

I agree he's learning the f**king game. Either he does that in first grade in his position, 5/8. Or put him on the bench, or leave him in first grade. Not in another position, that's stupid. You're really boring mate.

Anyway, I trust Sheens in regards to player development over some dickhead on the net who wants to abuse people of having fantasies of Benji.

Wanker.

SouthernTiger

thanks mate :) i always love when someone leaves an argument by saying the coach must be right ... my point out of all this is that the view that benji isnt ready for number 6 is not far fecthed, whether its right or wrong, its a justified view to have. As for playing hime elsewhere well that didnt seem to hurt Fittler, Daley, Barrett ... but I guess that the idea of starting someone in first grade in a position other than 5/8th is such a bad idea, which is why sheens was planning on doing it all year :roll:
what point did I miss didnt think you had a point. Well not one that I could discern but re;ax boy that is what we are here for discussion. enjoy it

cheers
s. tiger

I reckon had Reynolds not been injured, Benji would still have been in the centres. That would have been Sheens prefferred option.IMO.
We all expected Benji to make errors, I dunno about everyone else but to me the errors seemed to be getting more frequent and more severe.

Tigerpete

Your right insaneo, I've got little doubt that would still be the case. Still Marshall does make a few mistakes and plenty of them have cost us this season, but sadly enough he was our best option by a long way at 5/8 so we cant blame Sheens or Marshall for this. I've got no doubts he will learn from this litttle cameo role this season too.

Oh and by the way ST, i dont think benji was disgraceful against melbourne or the bulldogs at all. Made a few mistakes but that in no way constitutes disgracefulness. Perhaps the standards expected of Benji are too high for some.

SouthernTiger

mate he was a a joke against the bulldogs and melbourne well personally i regard missing two one on one tackles that resulted in tries and running saideways ost of the game disgraceful but you are right people expect too much of him. Take me for example I expected him to play to a first grade standard ... way too much

Gus22

Consistency is where Benji will need to improve.
He was great against the Raiders, the next week he was poor against the Bulldogs, followed up with a terrific game against the Eels, then he was woeful in Melbourne.

Scalps04
thb_11.gif
thb_8.gif
thb_4.gif
thb_3.gif
thb_2.gif
thb_9.gif

Tigerpete

l :lol: :lol: :lol: Come on mate, he's played 10/11?? career games in a cutthroat position such as 5/8. Look at Hunt and Slater , they play fullback, Marshall cant play there obviously because of Hodgson and since Reynolds got injured and Marshall returned from his layoff he became our best option it that position.

What Marshall hasnt had yet that the other 2(Hunt and Slater) have is consistent first grade. he's played 4 games at best on the trot, hardly enough in my mind for him to find his feet. All i ask is you stop baggin the kid cuz i guarantee you there is a lot of people who would select marshall in there team even allowing for his mistakes, and last who has been our best 5/8 this season????? not much to talk about is there. Cop it on the chin and tough it out i say.

SouthernTiger

Tigerpete said:
l :lol: :lol: :lol: Come on mate, he's played 10/11?? career games in a cutthroat position such as 5/8. Look at Hunt and Slater , they play fullback, Marshall cant play there obviously because of Hodgson and since Reynolds got injured and Marshall returned from his layoff he became our best option it that position.

thats my point. Thats all i have been saying. Everything you say there i agree with which is why i think he shouldnt have been playing 5/8th

cheers

s. tiger

Tigerpete

yeah i can see that but where is a better option at 5/8 at the moment? Maybe Buettner in a few weeks, but of all our 5/8 this season, Benji's been the best of them but also the one with the most mistakes, i think its just something we have to cop on the chin until he gets used to it.