Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji Marshall - where does his loyalty go

Robster

Hard to believe Anzac test is only a few months away, New Zealanders will be crying out to Benji to put his loyalty to his birth place, but will he choose that? I certianly hope so. Reasons why he might choose Aussie is to get a bigger name for himself and play origin. What do you think Benji will decide?

Nook

I get the feeling he will decide to play for NZ.
He should - he's a Kiwi through and through, and despite the lure of State of Origin I think that would be the best way for him to go.

Talk of him and the ANZAC test is very premature, i reckon. He's only a kid with little experience of rugby league, let alone elite rugby league. Wouldn't suprise me if he started the season in Premier League for Wests or Balmain, although i think he will be in the number 14 for the majority of the season. Barring injuries, NZ have better options in the halves at this stage with Stacey J Thomas L and Lance H. If he has an awesome year, which is possible, Benji may find himself in the Tri Nations squad if he does decide to represent his homeland.

Mighty Tiger

Robster said:
Hard to believe Anzac test is only a few months away, New Zealanders will be crying out to Benji to put his loyalty to his birth place, but will he choose that?

He will play for NZ - thats what his touch footy coach told me when he played his game for the Wests Tigers

Robster said:
Reasons why he might choose Aussie is to get a bigger name for himself and play origin. What do you think Benji will decide?

Mate the kid has hardly even played the tackle form of the game and already he has a bigger profile than most who have :shock: No matter what country he plays for I don't think he would be too worried about building his profile to match those of Beckham, besides that if he takes the world on storm in league and plays for NZ well he would then become a god over in NZ ;-)

Once Dead

Nook said:
I get the feeling he will decide to play for NZ.
He should - he's a Kiwi through and through, and despite the lure of State of Origin I think that would be the best way for him to go.

Talk of him and the ANZAC test is very premature, i reckon. He's only a kid with little experience of rugby league, let alone elite rugby league. Wouldn't suprise me if he started the season in Premier League for Wests or Balmain, although i think he will be in the number 14 for the majority of the season. Barring injuries, NZ have better options in the halves at this stage with Stacey J Thomas L and Lance H. If he has an awesome year, which is possible, Benji may find himself in the Tri Nations squad if he does decide to represent his homeland.

Exactly......we should leave the kid alone....and let him become the player we want him to be if he's destined for it

tiger_nick

If QLD pick him this year as if he wont play for them. NZ wont pick him for the ANZAC test as he will only have played about 10 (max) 1st grade games. i think it will be whoever he is picked for first. Nathan Cayless wanted to play Origin and for Australia but the Kiwis picked him when he was a benchie for Parra so naturally he played for them. Hahah if the Kiwis picked me I'd play for them!

Magpie Nick

He could play for NZ in the test but it depends on how Motu Tony is playing. If he plays well Robbie Paul could play 5/8 and Motu Tony at fullback. If not benji could play 5/8.

tiger_nick

I cant see the NZ backline changing that much from this year. They have an awesome three quarter line:

1. Vaeliki
2. Utai
3. Vagana
4. Toopi
5. Meli
6. Tony/Leuliai/Hohiaia
7. Jones

I rate their 2,3,4 & 5 as better than ours.

Magpie Nick

Robbie Paul shits on Vaeliki because he is crap and Leuliai and Hohiaia because they are young. Utai wont be in the team if he doesn't fix his attitude.

ghoti

Then what's the deal with Lote Tuquiri? He's Fijiian born and bred, played for Fiji in the 2000 World Cup...yet he was a State of Origin regular...AND played for Australia. I think the system needs a major change. If a player can choose which country he wants to represent, there is something wrong with the sytem.

So we got:

- Tuquiri - Fijian, playing for AUS

- Villasanti - NZ, playing for AUS

- El Masri - Lebanese, played a test four AUS

- Marshall...could go anywhere...

I don't think Marshall should be in any rep side this year. I think Wests fans are too quick to sing praises for Marshall and claim him as their saviour.

Max01 said:
Then what's the deal with Lote Tuquiri? He's Fijiian born and bred, played for Fiji in the 2000 World Cup...yet he was a State of Origin regular...AND played for Australia. I think the system needs a major change. If a player can choose which country he wants to represent, there is something wrong with the sytem.

So we got:

- Tuquiri - Fijian, playing for AUS

- El Masri - Lebanese, played a test four AUS

- Marshall...could go anywhere...

I don't think Marshall should be in any rep side this year. I think Wests fans are too quick to sing praises for Marshall and claim him as their saviour.
Its not Wests fans that are talkin him up....sure thered be a few but as a reggie on the WT's official forum the consensus is he should be given time to mature as Sheens has said he plans to do.

People like Gould and Wally Lewis and other journos are those doin all the talkin.

Marshall will be lucky to be a regular in 1st grade this year let alone any international team. :roll:

The only Benji I know was that famous dog. I think anything else named Benji is overrated at this stage....... :roll:

brook

Max01 said:

Villasanti was born in Australia and is an Australian citizen.

His adoptive parents are also Australian citizens with south american ancestry

His Natural parents have Tongan and Samoan Ancestry

his only connection to new zealand is that he has a grandmother that lives there and that he plays for the warriors

So I fail to see why you think he should be playing for the kiwis and not Australia.

El Masri is also an Australian - Like Benny Elias was - his ancestry is totally irrelevant

Brook, el masri was born in Lebanon and lived there for a while, so it's bit more than ancestry. He's also publicly stated that where it a choice between Australia and Lebanon he would choose to play for Lebanon. As it stands he can play for both.

brook

I can't comment on any comments he may have made regarding who he would play for as I haven't heard any.

However he IS an Australian citizen - If they were to tighten the rules like the guy above suggested he would only be eligible for Australia and not Lebanon.

woodgers

Should choose NZ when he has the choice. Look at the quality young halfbacks running around OZ.

Firman
McLinden
Witt
M Monaghan
Wing