Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji, Tigers mauled by own

Tiger Hawk

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/lhq...s-mauled-by-own/2008/05/18/1211049045480.html

TIM SHEENS has not fluked four premierships as a coach. He knows that if he wants to tell his players exactly where they stand - and have the message sink in - it is best to do it after a win that isn't very pretty. Do it after a loss and the players expect it, so the effect is reduced. Post-game yesterday, Sheens told his players some home truths - and his words had the desired effect.
Players eventually left the EnergyAustralia Stadium dressing room for the bus trip home looking sheepish. Five-eighth Benji Marshall repeated the speed he showed to score a 57th-minute try when he saw the media posse on his trail. Asked to slow down for a chat, Marshall said over his shoulder: "The coach said not to [talk]." Then he disappeared into a sea of autograph hunters.
Tigers hooker Robbie Farah, who, like Marshall, had returned from injury against the Knights, repeated Marshall's words. But, when asked to describe the verbal spray from Sheens, Farah did stop long enough to say it had been "a big one". Then he dashed off, too. Sheens explained that he had told his players he didn't want to see them "spruiking themselves" after their performance.
Marshall might be a star, but he is also a player who has particular issues with his game he needs to sort out, Sheens said. But we'll come back to that.
It was time, Sheens said, for the Tigers to decide whether they want to continue being a mid-range team that narrowly misses the finals. He said if they thought what they produced against a Newcastle side missing Danny Buderus and Ben Cross through State of Origin commitments, Kurt Gidley through injury and Matt Hilder suspension was the bee's knees, they would get stung.
"We're not playing well," Sheens said. "We're not playing with enough intensity. Since our first two games of the season [wins over the Dragons and North Queensland], we haven't played with that sort of intensity. Half games, spits and spats, that's all. We've had some reasons, but they're not excuses. We need to find some intensity and attitude to make a run at this year's play-offs or we'll miss the top eight again.
"It's time for a reality check and for everyone to have a good look at themselves. We got the two points against a weakened Newcastle side that had to back up from Monday night [against Melbourne]. Now that [Newcastle versus Melbourne] was a game you can talk about for intensity. We've had a strong talk about it and we're not happy.
"We're playing Gold Coast next weekend, and if we turn up with that sort of attitude, they'll put 40 points on us.
"It's time for a reality check and for everyone to have a good look at themselves. Our forwards have got to wake up to themselves and go forward. We need more intensity in our 'D'. Some of the tries today were like watching an under-20s game - you score, we score. That happens at that level, not at a professional level. We can't hide behind the fact we won the game and think, 'Well, everything will be hunky dory and we'll be all right, don't worry coach."'
Sheens said it was good to see Marshall, who had been out with a knee injury, and Farah, who has a chronic back problem, return safely. But, when asked to evaluate the performance of Marshall, who, apart from scoring two tries, chipped cleverly to set up another but fell off a regulation tackle in the lead-up to a Newcastle try, Sheens said Marshall's shoulder injuries had created a self-preservation mentality.
"You can't allow tries to be scored through you," Sheens said. "I'm still concerned about his attitude and his ability in defence. If I'd had five shoulder surgeries, I'd be worried, too, but he needs to pull his finger out and make some decisions there. There's a few self-preservation issues. Some I can understand, but some I can't accept."
But, Sheens added, Marshall, who made six tackles and missed four, had not been alone in falling down in the area where a player's attitude is most accurately gauged - in defence. "It's more than [just] him," the coach said.
The difference between the teams was simple. When it was time for one of them to win the game, the Tigers had the class to hand and the Knights didn't. Now we'll see if the Tigers can handle the truth.
It ain't the past 8 weeks only Sheens, try the past 2 & 1/2 years, in fact try 5 years except the last 16 weeks in 2005. That's the only sustained period under your tenure that we've maintained a high level of intensity. Why can't the players "get up" for each week's game? Why is the effort and attitude not present for sustained periods? Do you think as head coach this is your responsibility?

Also, good to see you slather Benji and then make an off cuff remark about others being shoddy. How about naming a few of them as well?

hybrid_tiger

I have no problems with him blasting Benji.

However, a couple of weeks ago Morris missed two tackles that directly led to tries and not a word was uttered. Why the double standards?

Benji, Head, Farah etc. have all been blasted at one stage or another, but Morris, despite playing like sh1t for the most part has escaped any criticism.

Don't forget his `go for intercept on tryline' special
Or his kick into second rower who runs a km to score skills
Not once has shines bagged the f**king turd

smeghead

I think Sheens only does it to players who will benefit from it.

Players like Morris, Teo and Gibbs seem to react better to coaching than a blast in the media as they seem to lack confidence in many respects.

That being said I wouldn't be fussed if he lambasted the entire team publicly a few times

His threats are empty
He's stale
We all saw this at the back of last year
His defensive/assistant coach is a joke figure
The roster we have is in the Top 4 in this comp - EASILY
Yet we still struggle against sh*t like canberra, canterbury etc

Shines cannot motivate the side. He should have been punted after last yr's farce yet CEO Noyce had a fresh 3 yr deal waiting for him and sizzler to sign

hybrid_tiger

I want to see what "changes" he will make.

Why am I convinced Head will be punted? It would not surprise me in the slightest.

smeghead

I am convinced it is the forwars where the changes will be seen most.

Apparantly that is where Sheens was most scathing in his post match address. No metres and lazy described quite a few of them out there

hybrid_tiger

O'Hara may come in then. Though Sizzler may have something to say about that.

Surely Payne and Galea must go. They are useless and lack impact. Is Harrison back yet?

BTW I though Lawrence's defence was much improved yesterday, I didn't see him miss anything and he made quite a few tackles.

smeghead

I am normally very critical of Lawrence in defence but yesterday he really was very good indeed. Shifting him one position further in seemed to help with his efforts although I do feel that move drained him of alot of his attacking potential.

Galea I would be willing to keep as someone to sure up the ruck. Payne surely has to go. Halatau may see himself moved back to centre to sure up the defensive 3/4 line and allow for an extra forward to make the bench.

O'Hara is a risky proposition based on match fitness and I think we may see the return of Harrisson.

Also I thought Galloways game time was much improved yesterday

Tiger Hawk

O'Hara may come in then. Though Sizzler may have something to say about that.

Surely Payne and Galea must go. They are useless and lack impact. Is Harrison back yet?

BTW I though Lawrence's defence was much improved yesterday, I didn't see him miss anything and he made quite a few tackles.
Agreed on all counts HT - although Lawrence went to sleep when Dureau scored down the blind on the last just after half time, but so did Hino from marker (I think). But all in all, much better from him.

Think Harrison is back game after Titans but may be wrong.

However, a couple of weeks ago Morris missed two tackles that directly led to tries and not a word was uttered. Why the double standards?

And why not blast Lawrence after some of his pathetic tackle attempts/defensive mis-reads. I hope you're right Smeg and these players privately are getting a blast or 5.

hybrid_tiger

Halatau to centre would be good. P1ss off Junior Burger and have Lawrence defend on the wing, with Halatau inside him

1. Hodgson
2. Tuiaki
3. Collis
4. Halatau
5. Lawrence
6. Marshall
7. Head
8. Gibbs
9. Farah
10. Galloway
11. Te'o
12. Heighington
13. Fulton

14. Morris
15. Harrison
16. Galea
17. O'Hara

smeghead

Teo listed twice there mate. But it looks a decent and balanced side apart from that in both attack and defence

tiger_nick

LOL at Sheens bagging our go forward. Look at the team YOU picked you moron!!

A bench of a halfback, a small lock, a center that youve converted into a back/front rower and a small second rower who was a benchie for a bottom four side last year. Then in the starting side you have a center/hooker at lock and a bloke who has only been effective off the bench starting at second row.

I remember when Galloway came off after the opening spell and I was wondering whether Sheens would substitute him with a small lock, a halfback, a centre-secondrower or another second-rower... The only positive of playing that bench was it resulted in more time for Galloway & Gibbs. Does anybody have the minutes that they played?

Galloway went off at 20 in the first half as I remember looking at the clock
We do miss his metres when he is replaced by the likes of Galea

brooksy19

Big keith was good again yesterday, making metres and tackling everything. He needs to be playing 50-55mins especially whilst Payten is out. (5 more f**ken weeks of no Payten is going to be tough)

I would say that Fulton and Payne will be dropped. He will stick with Morris at half back. Hell he might even go with 6. Morris, 7. Head.

We missed Todd badly yesterday. He is such an underated player.

on Lawarence, Even my missus who knows bugger all about footy mentioned that his defence was so much better against the Knights.. I reckon that try he let in against the Broncos might of switched him on a bit..

smeghead

Peter Gentle has done a bit of one on one work with Lawrence with Danny Galea showing proper defensive technique, or so I hear.

It can only improve his confidence. It's what I like about the kid. He is willing to learn and ego seems to play no part in his character.

Payten is the biggest loss this season IMHO. He provides that vital link between the forwards and backs in the "total football" style we play with every player able to pass like a back. His defence is one of the best in the NRL as well