Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji to Centre??

Ron's_Mate

I don't like Marshall at half. I do believe he is a 5/8 and if I was coach that is where he would play, and I would fit other players in around him. However now I am pondering the possibilities with a lunatic as coach, rather than someone sensible like me. It seems 5/8 is being freed up for Siro jnr & that is why Benji is at half, where he is not playing well. So how about moving him to centre where he can be creative, rather than having to organise everything? I'm thinking he could play a role similar to Jamie Lyon at Manly, who excels at centre. Then we just need to pick a half, which could be Moltzen if fit, or Humble or Miller.
I'm not pushing this idea and I'm prepared to cop a kicking from anyone who thinks it's stupid. Really just pondering how to get Benji away from half.

Benji should stay at 7. Last night Farah was playing first receiver a lot. He is a 9 not a 7 and Benji has been playing better a little tighter.

hybrid_tiger

Farah moved to 7 when Iosefa came on. Another ridiculous move, moving the NSW #9 to accommodate an overweight, Penrith reserve grade reject.

Mr_Raditch

I don't like Marshall at half. I do believe he is a 5/8 and if I was coach that is where he would play, and I would fit other players in around him. However now I am pondering the possibilities with a lunatic as coach, rather than someone sensible like me. It seems 5/8 is being freed up for Siro jnr & that is why Benji is at half, where he is not playing well. So how about moving him to centre where he can be creative, rather than having to organise everything? I'm thinking he could play a role similar to Jamie Lyon at Manly, who excels at centre. Then we just need to pick a half, which could be Moltzen if fit, or Humble or Miller.
I'm not pushing this idea and I'm prepared to cop a kicking from anyone who thinks it's stupid. Really just pondering how to get Benji away from half.

Dont take this the wrong way, but thats a f**king ludicrous statement. Jamie Lyon is one of if not the best defensive player in the league. Did you see Benji's defence last night? It was abysmal. You need to be a strong defender to play centre & Benji is not. Boyd constantly got on Benji's outside & then you saw the field day Tahu had with a weak defender playing centre in Reddy. He constantly came in when he needed to stay out. Stupid suggestion.

Farah moved to 7 when Iosefa came on. Another ridiculous move, moving the NSW #9 to accommodate an overweight, Penrith reserve grade reject.

To compound this Benji played worse out wide than he did when he was playing closer to the ruck.

The Gambler

Benji needs to start running the ball again.

He is quickly becoming very one dimensional in his 'sensible halfback plays'.

Benji needs to start running the ball again.

He is quickly becoming very one dimensional in his 'sensible halfback plays'.

Even with his amazing skills, his unpredictability was his greatest asset.

Sheens has nearly completed his destruction of one the games best five-eighths.

BuffaloRules

Farah can play the 80 minutes for NSW, yet Sheenius has to carry a reserve hooker on the bench of the Tigers ....

Could have used another forward last night...

hutch

Benji is our best halfback option at the moment seeing as sheens sees Moltzen as our permanent fullback. Miller and humble are not first grade standard at half or five eighth. It will improve when Sironen returns, although our best halves pairing would surely be Moltzen and Marshall who trained in those positions the entire off season!

7 Benji and 6 Moltzen would have to be the best option. Play Sirro of the bench and give him time to adjust to playing first grade.

The Gambler

7 Benji and 6 Moltzen would have to be the best option. Play Sirro of the bench and give him time to adjust to playing first grade.
I actually thought Sirro has shown just as much in his very limited game time than Molzten ever has in the halves.

Benji should stay at 7. Last night Farah was playing first receiver a lot. He is a 9 not a 7 and Benji has been playing better a little tighter.
Benji hasn't been playing better, he's been playing restricted. He's not given the freedom or opportunity to play his natural game, he has to play this heavily restrained nothing role, where he just kicks and passes and never takes the line on.

Running at the line is the single greatest asset Benji has. It brings out his massive sidesteps, his jinking steps, his very quick change of pace and the best aspect of his passing game.

If Moltzen goes into halves, he should be at 7 and Benji at 6.

madunit - did you watch Benji last night when he played at 6. He was terrible.

We do need him running the footy but I don't think the solution is to move him wider.

Benji hasn't been playing better, he's been playing restricted. He's not given the freedom or opportunity to play his natural game, he has to play this heavily restrained nothing role, where he just kicks and passes and never takes the line on.

Running at the line is the single greatest asset Benji has. It brings out his massive sidesteps, his jinking steps, his very quick change of pace and the best aspect of his passing game.

If Moltzen goes into halves, he should be at 7 and Benji at 6.

There's no excuse for Marshall not running the ball. Heaps of halfbacks take the line, hell I've even seen Luke Walsh break the line by running the ball.

The solution is moving him wider. He needs forwards going forward for it to work.

Benji is coached not to run the ball when playing at 7.

Just look at how restricted he plays when he is at 7 than when he plays at 6. It's abundantly clear. He makes less elementary errors as 7, but he becomes a far less potent attacking player at 7.

Pezz70

I don't think it makes too much difference which position Benji plays (1/2 or 5/8) they are basically the same these days. At the moment tigers are really missing the variation in running lines provided by blokes like Liam Fulton and Gareth Ellis (and Simon Dwyer massive loss) Blair needs to watch the tapes of these two blokes to see how it's done. This variation would provide some sort of foil for Benji to be able to weave some magic. Ayshford could also fill this role, but for his staggering loss of form this year, and likewisen Lawrence who really hasn't hit the line with the same venom as last year ( prior to injury). Sironen provided a good foil for Benji he was threatening all the time just through his size and pace at which he played the game and gave opposition something to think about in attack and defense. Tigers best two games of the season were with Sirro jr. In the side. Murdoch-Masila can run a line too and more game time for him might not necessarily be bad for Benji. Humble has great hands and Sheens would do well to put him in at halfback and leave him there for the rest of the season instead of chopping and changing all the time. Wests would have had more half five eighth combinations than any other team in them universe over the last two years, and it reflects badly on Sheens

T.T

its got nothing to do with what position he's playing its got to do with what sheens is telling him to do.

if sheens allowed benji to run the ball at half he could be just as dangerous

Pezz70

I think Sheens is on the right track kerbing Benji's creativity, it's hard to win a game if footy if you give up possession and Benji's flamboyance can sometimes lead to easy turnovers and silly kicks and drop outs. The other thing Benji does when he is off leash is run across the field too much, sometimes this works too but most of the time it cost us field position and quick play the balls. Generally, The tigers are at their best when they are rolling forward in the middle third before going wide. I think the problems at the moment are more related to Benji being a sole target in attack, we're short on variety in attack without those forwards I mentioned earlier, and without a first receiver on the opposite side of the park to Benji. In defense he becomes a target as well when the Fulton's and Ellis' aren't working their rings off protecting him

With Fulton, Ellis and Sironen in the side we can win the comp', without them I think we struggle to make the 8 ( we be thereabouts but just off the pace)