Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best and worst biffers

I'm sure Blocker spoke about that on a M Johns podcast recently....
said he just about knocked out an entire forward pack by himself....
Totally Ian Roberts....
Legendary player.

Uncanny, yep I listened to it today and they were talking about it. And apparently how Bryan Fletcher has been trying to find footage of it for ages. I reckon it’s in Channel 9 somewhere.

gerg

Uncanny, yep I listened to it today and they were talking about it. And apparently how Bryan Fletcher has been trying to find footage of it for ages. I reckon it’s in Channel 9 somewhere.

The French side back then were the grubbiest merkins ever. From memory Mick O'Connor was repeatedly attacked with cheap shots.

Lemon Squash

Remember for years there was all these tales of Carl Webb being a Qld champion amateur boxer, never lost a round, no teammates would spar with him etc

Finally gets in the ring on a Mundine undercard fighting some bloke they pulled from the street who deadset looked like he’d never punched a pad before... Webb is gassed half way through the second round and then got whipped from there until the ref stopped it.

Poor merkin has early onset MND now

Whip Whitaker

Remember for years there was all these tales of Carl Webb being a Qld champion amateur boxer, never lost a round, no teammates would spar with him etc

Finally gets in the ring on a Mundine undercard fighting some bloke they pulled from the street who deadset looked like he’d never punched a pad before... Webb is gassed half way through the second round and then got whipped from there until the ref stopped it.

Poor merkin has early onset MND now

Carl Webb never looked after himself.

I remember after he dominated Bailey in an origin, the next day, he is ordering fish and chips, and drinking a flavoured milk while waiting for it.

Webb had a lot of demons since his youth, and it's fair to say, he is one of the most wasted talents in the NRL (and boxing).

Pork Hunt

Number one les davidson.
Still remember him dropping brad Mackay and Jason Stevens with consecutive punches.
Correct me if I’m wrong but pretty sure those were the 2.
He belted Jason Stevens first and then Wayne Collins from memory. Blocker got the better of Les at least once. Remember Block saying when he went to England for an off-season stint (can't remember which club), the pack consisted of himself, Les Davidson and Les Boyd. Don't think too many Pommies would of been mad enough to start a blue with those 3 in the pack.

Watching The Fan on Tuesday, Terry Leabeater had Bundy on his toes during a big blue.

Yeah my memory is Bundy got Stevens unawares, getting up from a tackle, then Mackay came in and got dropped. But makes sense if it was Snoopy Collins as he’d have been at dummy half. But the first hit was definitely a cheap shot - who knows what provoked it. Signature Stevens wedgie perhaps?

Love to have this resolved somehow.. but would only be if someone had a tape of it.

Pork Hunt

Watching The Fan on Tuesday, Terry Leabeater had Bundy on his toes during a big blue.

Yeah my memory is Bundy got Stevens unawares, getting up from a tackle, then Mackay came in and got dropped. But makes sense if it was Snoopy Collins as he’d have been at dummy half. But the first hit was definitely a cheap shot - who knows what provoked it. Signature Stevens wedgie perhaps?

Love to have this resolved somehow.. but would only be if someone had a tape of it.

Saw that one with Leabeater, Leabeater hit him with a few before Davo could stand up. Once he got to his feet they were into it, Leabeater must have been able to handle himself alright to even attempt to mix it with Davo.
It was a wedgie that made Davo belt Stevens surprise, surprise! Remember seeing footage of it 5 or so years back on some show.

Pork Hunt

Dunno if that does Betham or Reardon justice. Monty started laying into Reardon when he was getting to his feet, and I'd be covering up too.

I remember Sirro in a game against the Dragons back in the late-80's, saturday arvo ABC one. Wally Fullerton-Smith had a relatively minor crack at Sirro, who fired up then towered over him to throw an absolute fearsome combination back at Wally. Went on for about 4-5 seconds, which doesn't sound like much, but reckon there was at least a dozen thrown... Wally had his hands up "protecting himself" like he was on a golf course when someone shouts "FORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!".. Sirro was an absolute beast - and I cant recall any fights he had after that - maybe coz everyone else saw it and thought better than to poke that bear.

While Tamati and Dowling was the best I've seen, this is my favourite - and funniest.

Les Davidson and Peter Kelly.

Vividly remember Sirro putting the cleaners through Fullerton-Smith haha.
Geoff Gerard was stupid enough to test Sirro out after that, in the last game of the year in '89: Panthers vs Tigers. Sirro ran through as a decoy and Gerard hit him on the chin with a blatant elbow, Sirro turned on his heel and hit him with a big right that knocked the piss out of him, pretty sure he was assisted from the field! Great days! Bruce Maguire floored John Cartwright with a peach of a hook in the same game.

myrrh ken

Vividly remember Sirro putting the cleaners through Fullerton-Smith haha.
Geoff Gerard was stupid enough to test Sirro out after that, in the last game of the year in '89: Panthers vs Tigers. Sirro ran through as a decoy and Gerard hit him on the chin with a blatant elbow, Sirro turned on his heel and hit him with a big right that knocked the piss out of him, pretty sure he was assisted from the field! Great days! Bruce Maguire floored John Cartwright with a peach of a hook in the same game.

Wow I thought sirro was a bit of a softy

I can’t remember seeing him fight before, and cant remember seeing him fight after. But that 4 or 5 seconds of mayhem against Fullerton Smith is burnt on my brain. It was scary. But sadly like many others, the footage has long ceased to exist.. Or even if it does, its somewhere in the deep dark bowels of the ABC archives.

Fufu Andronez

Manu Vatuvei could throw em. Too nice to ever let too many go on the field though, although I remember him clocking someone off the backfoot in a test match, might have been Matt King?

Here you go -

Geez. First time I've watched that in years and gotta say I'm disappointed - in the Camerawork. That went on for ages on the field before some bright spark decided to pan back to the fight.. which was over by then. Then they go again on the sideline. Serious stamina from both blokes to go at it again but DUD's on the TV coverage.. had they not been asleep at the wheel it would be epic.

On a sidenote - most people know that Mark Taylor (Tubby) was a youngster on the sideline right near where it kicked off again. But most don't know (and I didn't either til reading Vossy's book Stuff you may have missed) that Tubby played in a curtain raiser. However it was only his 2nd game of Rugby League - having played union then getting a call from a mate to see if he could fill-in for someone in their league team. 2 games in - plays at Lang Park.. and pretty sure he never played league again.

Mr Spock!

Bob Cooper (Wests) flattened 3 Illawarra Steelers in a brawl and was suspended for 15 months in 82.

Cooper threw three punches, one of which he supposedly didn’t remember – the Steelers players involved were left with a broken jaw, fractured cheekbones and one was heavily concussed.

Always wanted to see that.