Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best Music Decade? And has the standard of music lowered?

What was the Best Era of Music

• 50's

• 60's

• 70's

• 80's

• 90's

• 2000 - Today

Ron Jeremy

This is an easy question to answer...........THE 80's!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D

Some of the great bands to come out of the 80's or hit their peak were-

- Gunners
- Def Lep
- Van Halen
- Motely Crue
- Ratt
- Duran Duran
- Posion
- Bon Jovi
- The Police
- The Cars
- Skidrow
etc etc etc

The 80's produced the greatest most diverse music of any era, rock & pop both had their respective times on top of the charts-and according to my sister the night clubs such as the Cobra club etc were just plain sensational, she reckons it was the best times of her life in the 80's- the music was just sensational, she was a rock promoter and all her favourite bands i now listen too.

Their isn't any personalities anymore, no such thing as arena rock or build up to massive concerts, i remember seeing Gunners in 92 at Eastern Creek- and the whole atmosphere at the time was just sensational!!!

I've always said i wish i was a teenager in LA in the mid 80's, seeing all the great bands come out of this area would've been amazing.

I miss the 80's, the music, personalities & atmosphere and anticipation with touring bands, arena rock is gone....and in it's place is?? well?? Britney, Nikki webster etc.....just plain disgusting!

hrundi99 said:
64-74.

Virtually all of the music I listen to was either created then or deeply influences my favourite current bands.

Beatles, Who, Beach Boys, Byrds, Dylan, Badfinger, Big Star, Cheap Trick, Raspberries, etc...

I voted 70s, but this 64-74 makes sense. I would add the great singer-songwriters of the early 70s to this list-Elton John, Van Morrison, Neil Young, Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye etc. In the mid to late 70s it became more of a commercial business (as captured in the scene in Almost Famous where the record company sends in a new manager to take over the band's tour), and it's never been as authentic, or as good, since.

I take it that those voting for the 80s actually consider heavy metal to be music.

Dani

late 70's to mid 90's is my fav.
some of the crap thats being put out in the last 10 years makes me ill

Eelectrica

In terms of 'pop' music it has definately declined with the proliferation of flavour of the month pop stars.

Having said that, their are a lot of very creative bands out there to be discovered if people know what they want and where to find it. Unfortunatly the major record labels are doing their level best to destroy creativity. The very thing that music is supposed to be about.

warren

I voted sixties, becuase i love that type of music. led zepplin and the beatles are my fav.

Forum Idiot

Le Rouge said:
I was reading an article in a mag about how due to the increased amount of music being downloaded, that record companies have decided to counter this by looking at other ways to gain larger profits from an "artist" hence the new fashion of the Artificial Manufactured music we have today. Eg. Idol shows around the world, and crap like Jessica Simspon etc.

Basically they are flooding the music market with alot of crap, Much more than they used to. Signing up heaps of new people to make a record which results in them making a quick $$$$. Then when that band or perons short music career is finished they sign a new person or band up and the process continues. Resulting in stuff released which is of a lower standard of quality.

Kind of like a factory line pumping out alot of new products and because the product is not being hand crafted its more likely to be of a lesser quality.

This got me thinking when was music at it's best? and have we seen the end of great music. Are we currently in a music drought?

i reckon music has taken a turn for the worse. the shit that passes for music these days boggles me. most of the shit being played these days doesnt even feature one musical instrument :roll:
like eminem talking while a mobile phone ringtone plays in the background. absolute shit.
mainstream music stopped being decent somewhere during the late 90's.

anyone who voted for the 80s is kidding themselves. what an embarrassing era of music that was. there were great songs but most of it was overproduced crazy shit and did you see what they were wearing?! f**king freaks. hahah i saw boy george on the kumas the other night and he STILL dresses like he used to but even more freaky ahahah what a loser. and then you have the 80's metal bands :roll: bunch of homos wearing more make-up than all the women at their shows singing the most generic rock shit ever with the exception of a few ( van halen mainly). sorry ron but that includes RATT, they sucked arse, mate. the 80s was a joke.
cold chisel, john farnham and AC/DC are among the only good things to come out of the 80's.

anyone who wanst to listen to music - try some aussie punk rock.

Ron Jeremy

You're kidding???, over produced???....better then the under produced shite you listen too.

So frikken what if bands wore make up or outfits???........that was part of the image!!....just the same as when Bowie, Queen & Kiss wore make up.

Forum Idiot

Ron Jeremy said:
You're kidding???, over produced???....better then the under produced sh*te you listen too.

So frikken what if bands wore make up or outfits???........that was part of the image!!....just the same as when Bowie, Queen & Kiss wore make up.
bowie queen and kiss made some good music though.
dont worry ron i dont hate ratt for making sub standard music because they werent there to make great music. they were putting on a show. it was all about the image with those shit hair bands, music took a back seat.
men+make-up = gay. simple.

Trollhammaren

Forum Idiot said:
Le Rouge said:
I was reading an article in a mag about how due to the increased amount of music being downloaded, that record companies have decided to counter this by looking at other ways to gain larger profits from an "artist" hence the new fashion of the Artificial Manufactured music we have today. Eg. Idol shows around the world, and crap like Jessica Simspon etc.

Basically they are flooding the music market with alot of crap, Much more than they used to. Signing up heaps of new people to make a record which results in them making a quick $$$$. Then when that band or perons short music career is finished they sign a new person or band up and the process continues. Resulting in stuff released which is of a lower standard of quality.

Kind of like a factory line pumping out alot of new products and because the product is not being hand crafted its more likely to be of a lesser quality.

This got me thinking when was music at it's best? and have we seen the end of great music. Are we currently in a music drought?

i reckon music has taken a turn for the worse. the sh*t that passes for music these days boggles me. most of the sh*t being played these days doesnt even feature one musical instrument :roll:
like eminem talking while a mobile phone ringtone plays in the background. absolute sh*t.
mainstream music stopped being decent somewhere during the late 90's.

anyone who voted for the 80s is kidding themselves. what an embarrassing era of music that was. there were great songs but most of it was overproduced crazy sh*t and did you see what they were wearing?! f***ing freaks. hahah i saw boy george on the kumas the other night and he STILL dresses like he used to but even more freaky ahahah what a loser. and then you have the 80's metal bands :roll: bunch of homos wearing more make-up than all the women at their shows singing the most generic rock sh*t ever with the exception of a few ( van halen mainly). sorry ron but that includes RATT, they sucked arse, mate. the 80s was a joke.
cold chisel, john farnham and AC/DC are among the only good things to come out of the 80's.

anyone who wanst to listen to music - try some aussie punk rock.

Don't get hair metal bands mixed up with ACTUAL metal bands. Hair metal is a disgrace, it is equivalent to today's commercial music such as r 'n' b though, granted, they could actually play instruments.

Ron Jeremy

Forum Idiot said:
Ron Jeremy said:
You're kidding???, over produced???....better then the under produced sh*te you listen too.

bowie queen and kiss made some good music though.
dont worry ron i dont hate ratt for making sub standard music because they werent there to make great music. they were putting on a show. it was all about the image with those sh*t hair bands, music took a back seat.
men+make-up = gay. simple.

No thats where you're wrong!!, Kiss made sub standardn comercial crap aswell, they appealed to the teenagers of their era, how is that different from the 80's hair metal groups, kiss were too part of the image, actually they were all image Kiss!!

So what if they where all for putting on a how??........what the f**ks wrong with that??, obviously you haven't been too a decent concert before because there is nothing better then going to a Kiss or Van Halen concert.

I love Kiss though, and hair metal in general, why??.....because believe it or not they were much better musicians then the shite you listen too, yet you wanna critisise who i want to listen too??

men+make-up = gay. simple

So you're saying Kiss, Queen & Bowie were gay??, well maybe one of them :?

Dani

i like hair metal. c'mon, def leppard, van halen ect, great beands, and most had been and gone way before my time.
i dont understand todays music, if you could even call most of it music :?

Ron Jeremy

Todays music is shit, plain and simple.

No personalities, talentless crap.

Why do you think that todays groups have to do remix's of old 80's classics??

Forum Idiot

Ron Jeremy said:
No thats where you're wrong!!, Kiss made sub standardn comercial crap aswell, they appealed to the teenagers of their era, how is that different from the 80's hair metal groups, kiss were too part of the image, actually they were all image Kiss!!

So what if they where all for putting on a how??........what the f*** wrong with that??, obviously you haven't been too a decent concert before because there is nothing better then going to a Kiss or Van Halen concert.

I love Kiss though, and hair metal in general, why??.....because believe it or not they were much better musicians then the sh*te you listen too, yet you wanna critisise who i want to listen too??
kiss made good music. it sounded great. yeah they wore make-up but they backed it up with good music so they are exempt from citicism.
theres nothing wrong with putting on a show, but RATT sucked. they didnt make good music. im all for a band putting on a show as long as it goes hand in hand with good music i.e- KISS, Van Halen.

ron jeremy said:
believe it or not they were much better musicians then the sh*te you listen too, yet you wanna critisise who i want to listen too??
they may have been good musicians but by god they made bad music. a good drummer+ a good bass player+ a good guitarist+ a good singer doesnt necessarily = good music.
of course i want to criticise who you listen to. they sucked. thats not having a go at you, just RATT.

Ron Jeremy

kiss made good music. it sounded great. yeah they wore make-up but they backed it up with good music so they are exempt from citicism.
theres nothing wrong with putting on a show, but RATT sucked. they didnt make good music. im all for a band putting on a show as long as it goes hand in hand with good music i.e- KISS, Van Halen.

So now you're going back on what you said that Make-up=gay???........why be a hypocrite for, you cannot make exemptions you either for or against.

And what about queen, early Gunners, Bon Jovi etc....they all wore make-upat one stage, Alice Cooper too, Make-up was part of the image back then, why can't you see that??, it was the thing too do???....even Ozzy wore bloody make-up and outfits in the 80's for f**ks sake.

Offcouse Ratt sucked :lol: , any band that sells 16 million albums in the US alone, sells out arena's across the country must be crap, i can't believe i didn't see that before.

they may have been good musicians but by god they made bad music. a good drummer+ a good bass player+ a good guitarist+ a good singer doesnt necessarily = good music.
of course i want to criticise who you listen to. they sucked. thats not having a go at you, just RATT.

And what would you know about good music??, please tell me what you class as good music these days, i'm anxious to hear.

I like how you are trying to make an argument about Ratt only Ratt?? why not the rest???........c'mon, there was alot more to the 80's and glam rock then Ratt??....tell me about the other rock groups, actually start with the Ramones, now theirs a good example!!, they never even had a platinum album :lol:

Your argument is pointless and wasting my time, your original thoughts on the 80's was about make-up, costumes etc, but now you're making exceptions.

Fair enough you don't like the 80's, i can handle that, but the 80's was such a diverse era where rock & pop had a equal share of the charts, we don't have that anymore, music is was super conpetitive, today it's pop 1 2 3 4 5!

Forum Idiot

Ron Jeremy said:
So now you're going back on what you said that Make-up=gay???........why be a hypocrite for, you cannot make exemptions you either for or against
And what about queen, early Gunners, Bon Jovi etc....they all wore make-upat one stage, Alice Cooper too, Make-up was part of the image back then, why can't you see that??, it was the thing too do???....even Ozzy wore bloody make-up and outfits in the 80's for f*** sake.

Offcouse Ratt sucked :lol: , any band that sells 16 million albums in the US alone, sells out arena's across the country must be crap, i can't believe i didn't see that before.
if you actually read my very first post i stated that there are exemption. a band can be gay and wear gay arse make-up if they want but can they at least be good musicians? thats what i meant. put on a show, dress like a chick if you want but please make some good music. that was my point. that way you arent just putting on a pretty show. just for the record ozzy sucked post sabbath.

ron jeremy said:
I like how you are trying to make an argument about Ratt only Ratt?? why not the rest???........c'mon, there was alot more to the 80's and glam rock then Ratt??....tell me about the other rock groups, actually start with the Ramones, now theirs a good example!!, they never even had a platinum album :lol:
i was only generalising. when i said RATT i meant RATT+ other shit hair bands from the 80s. again with the album sales argument. my comeback to that is - kylie minogue.
ron jeremy said:
Your argument is pointless and wasting my time, your original thoughts on the 80's was about make-up, costumes etc, but now you're making exceptions.
no i did state that there were exceptions in my very first post in this thread.

i agree this argument is going no-where because it is based on my hatred for generic 80s hair bands like RATT and your love of generic 80s hair bands like RATT.

Ron Jeremy

i was only generalising. when i said RATT i meant RATT+ other sh*t hair bands from the 80s. again with the album sales argument. my comeback to that is - kylie minogue.
dickhead wrote:

I like how you called me dickhead, must be a sign of defeat.

The difference between Kylie and other 80's hair bands is that a majority of hair bands, wrote, played & semi produced their albums, Kylie doesn't need to do that

no i did state that there were exceptions in my very first post in this thread.

i agree this argument is going no-where because it is based on my hatred for generic 80s hair bands like RATT and your love of generic 80s hair bands like RATT.

You like Van halen??.......they produced generic stuff aswell....cough cough jump & panama.

if you actually read my very first post i stated that there are exemption. a band can be gay and wear gay arse make-up if they want but can they at least be good musicians? thats what i meant. put on a show, dress like a chick if you want but please make some good music. that was my point. that way you arent just putting on a pretty show. just for the record ozzy sucked post sabbath.

Well the most succesful 80's hair groups did just do that, look at the record sales....it says it all!