Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best prop in the comp

aqua_duck

Tamou great player, just not sure if he would not be better suited as a back rower . I rate Matt Scott as a better prop, just because of the hard yakka he does both in attack and defense.

I reckon Tamou would make a gun backrower, he very similar to Sam Burgess, same size, similar Skillset and maybe even abit more athletic . The try he scored against the kiwis, 115kg props aren't suppose to be able to do that

DoggiesBro

Hard to name them in numbers though i'd have James Tamou at #1.

Followed with James Graham, Matt Scott.

Followed by Sam Kasiano, Ben Matulino, Tim Grant.

Followed by a bunch like Aiden Tolman, Trent Merrin, David Shillington, Josh McGuire, Michael Weyman, Aaron Woods.

Then blokes like Gibbs, Moi Moi, Mannah, McKendry, Rapira, Snowden, Bailey, Douglas, Hannant, Asotasi, Bromwhich.

Though on there day anyone of those blokes can be the best player on the field. Just think the ones up the top do it week in week out.

Also if Burgess or Myles are considered prop they are right up the top too. Though most the time used in the backrow when teams are healthy.

beave

He may be a filthy pommy grub, but you can't argue he had a great year. Still think Tolman is the Dogs best prop though.

Scott and Tamou are the best two props in the comp. Makes you wonder why the Cowboys can't mount a serious challenge, given they also have the best half in Thurston, and quality right across the park.

Having said that, I wouldn't swap out any of Weyman, Hunt, or Merrin (especially Merrin) for any other props in the comp. And we have another goodun coming through in Jack Stockwell. If only we could occasionally produce a halfback like we produce front rowers.

Because they came out of the sheds in th finals with a piss poor attitude against manly, as evident with the way Thurston carried on a little over the top with the kids coming out at kick off. Until we get a coach that is a dictator like Bellamy and can control these guys like Bellamy does with the Storm, then we will always be just making up the numbers if the top 5-6 teams.

The news that we are after said dictator is music to my ears, he could do great things up here.

SuperiorEasts

The best props are the players that are most versatile. ATM I'd rate JWH as the best prop cause he can play prop, backrow, lock and centre without any issues whatsoever. When he comes back into league, I reckon SBW will be the best prop. Of course he will start in the backrow but after about 20 mins he will move into the front row and shoulder charge all the other props including that nuffy James Graham and assert himself as the best prop without needing to bite someones ear off.

betcats

The best props are the players that are most versatile. ATM I'd rate JWH as the best prop cause he can play prop, backrow, lock and centre without any issues whatsoever. When he comes back into league, I reckon SBW will be the best prop. Of course he will start in the backrow but after about 20 mins he will move into the front row and shoulder charge all the other props including that nuffy James Graham and assert himself as the best prop without needing to bite someones ear off.

I do not like you.

Son of Minto

Stop posting.

RWB

umm didn't you say this about someone who is making 130m and making 30 odd tackles a game from the bench?

"Just sayin'"

Fifita averaged about 40 minutes a game this year, 100m and 25 tackles. I said his performances need to be put in context when compared to someone who started the majority of games this year and had similar avearges.

Graham's stats are up there with the best in the comp, even when you factor in everything including that he came off the bench he still stacks up favourably. Not to mention Graham has already proven himself as a starter (which you conveniently decided to leave out) at Super League, International & NRL level when given the chance.

32 tackles a game @ 97% efficiency rate
16 runs a game for 126 metres and only 5 errors
Revolutionising the Bulldogs game with unparalleled ball playing ability

All this whilst playing 60 minutes straight in arguably the toughest position in the game.

You must be hard to please if you think all the above should be discounted due to the fact that he has to come off the bench due to the balance of the team.

DoggiesBro

Well said RWB, completely agree mate. Graham is in my opinion the Dogs best prop. Though we are blessed with two others that would start at almost every single club.

Good thing too is they are all fairly young.

Big Pete

I'd still have Scott at #1. Obviously didn't enjoy his best season BUT has been the best prop for a good two years now and is still able to match it and destroy sides on his day. Tamou still has these rookie mistakes in his game (cheap errors and dumb penalties) that hurt his game for me. It's going to take another season for him to better his front row partner.

Cows are a good side but just lack the top class talent to compete in the finals. Scott, Tamou & JT are about the only players who can match it with the world elite and I still question whether Henry can get the most out of JT, I don't feel like he's played his best footy for the Cowboys since Murray left.

The rest of the squad are at awkward stages of their career. Either they're past their best (Bowen, Tate, Graham, Payne, Hall, Johnson etc.), virtually rookies (Thompson, Morgan, Linnett, Taumalolo, Segeyaro, T. Sims etc.) or plain (Cooper, A. Sims, Winterstein, Bolton etc.).

For them to be a chance, they need these young kids to step up and take more of the responsibility off the vets. Cows have the potential to be champions, they just need to realise it.

Desert Qlder

Cows are a good side but just lack the top class talent to compete in the finals. Scott, Tamou & JT are about the only players who can match it with the world elite and I still question whether Henry can get the most out of JT, I don't feel like he's played his best footy for the Cowboys since Murray left.

The rest of the squad are at awkward stages of their career. Either they're past their best (Bowen, Tate, Graham, Payne, Hall, Johnson etc.), virtually rookies (Thompson, Morgan, Linnett, Taumalolo, Segeyaro, T. Sims etc.) or plain (Cooper, A. Sims, Winterstein, Bolton etc.).

You try hard mate but your assessments of the North Queensland club are always hopeless. What you have done there is describe a normal football club i.e. a mix of experience, youth and role players. Yet tried to make it sound unique for North Queensland, and criticise them in the process.

Labelling Graham as past his best is woefully inaccurate, considering he was the leading tryscorer in what was his breakout year in '12. A year in which he had many Cowboys fans eating their words. Bowen too reached a level of form this year that matched anything he had produced in the past. And it's fair to say that Tate brought defensive stability and leadership qualities from his years of experience. Tate also came out of a stunning Origin series and brought that form back to the club.

Linnett is hardly a rookie, there is a few years of experience behind him now. He plays like a veteran and was becoming one of the premier linebreakers in the game.

I know you want to make points about North Queensland on this forum but the devil of your detail makes you invalid for the task.

The main problem for North Queensland is not being able to build a culture of winning in Sydney. End of story. When the club can waltz into Sydney Football Stadium like they own the friggin joint and play the same way against Sydney clubs then they will have much longed-for success.

Big Pete

Tell me how did Bowen, Graham & Tate perform for you against the Sea Eagles? They're good players during the regular season when they're up against average sides but when they come up against the best these types always get exposed.

I couldn't care less whether you rate my analysis but it's funny that you criticise my general observation (which you came to the conclusion too, that you're a middle of the road squad) but then come back with one of your own.

beave

Most of those lads you speak of BP had their worst games of the season in that game, Tate especially. We went toe to toe with Manly a month or so earlier, along with beating the Storm down there (Slater-less admittedly) and competed well against the doggies in Sydney. I just think the whole group need some more regimented coaching, the way they play sometimes is just too off the cuff and whilst their defence improved dramatically compared to the season prior, they let it all go to shit in the semi against Manly. The very first set in defence I knew they were going to lose that game, they weren't switched on at all, it's like as if they thought they were going to beat manly without having to roll their sleeves up and do the hard work.

Desert Qlder

Tell me how did Bowen, Graham & Tate perform for you against the Sea Eagles? They're good players during the regular season when they're up against average sides but when they come up against the best these types always get exposed.

Not what you said.

You were quite specific about this when, for instance, you said Graham was past his best. How could you reach that particular conclusion?

It is no secret that NQ has a cultural problem of succeeding when it matters, and I wouldn't deviate far from you on that assessment.

But we differ greatly on analysis of particular players and their roles, and I found yours quite laughable.

Big Pete

Your big issue is on the placing of Ash Graham? :lol:

To be honest, I was tossing up between placing him in the plain group as well but the injury he suffered in 03 and the impact it made on his career reminded me of Tate & Bowen which is why I went the way I did.

Silly to act like a pretentious snob over that & the grouping of a player who before 2012 had not played a full season but whatever works.

AlwaysGreen

My two bob's worth on the cowboys. They will never win the competition if they finish outside the top 4 and probably really need to finish top 2 to give it a shake regardless of how good their props are. The tyranny of distance is a huge burden on them and the warriors.

And I wouldn't rate Fifita amongst the top 30 props running around statistics or not.

Big Pete

Lol. Matt Bowen just had maybe his best season ever

He's been good over the past two regular seasons but he's not as threatening as he was in say 04-07.

beave - Yep, Cows can definitely compete but they just haven't had the players to deliver the knock out punches. There is really only so much Scott, Tamou & JT can do and like I said I still don't believe JT is being used effectively by Henry.

The biggest issue for the night was the lack of an experienced dummy half. Payne hasn't been the same since 09 but at least he understood the role, Segeyaro & Mitchell were still underdone and this lead to some really incohesive play when the Cows had finally earned themselves some possession and territory.