Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best Pub in Brisbane to watch the Footy??

redvscotty

broncos leagues has sound and is cheap for beer. Play the mr woo pokies ther,e win everytime.

t-ba

lol @ the Wicko.

Broncos is good. Feel dirty when I go there, but it's good.

Logan Diggers is good too. Just don't leave the premises after dark.

miccle

Even if you hate the Broncos, the leagues club at Red Hill is definitely the best pub to go to in terms of a good viewing experience for the footy. Heaps of seating, two massive screens, plenty of smaller screens, good drinks prices, decent food & a TAB handy. Perfect!

Packy

Broncos is fine if you are a Bronco fan or it's empty.

I would stay out of the CBD if you are purely looking to watch the game. You generally won't get sound and will probably be annoyed at some stage by dickheads. Not to mention the amount of pubs that are affiliated with AFL or Union and only show league as a last option or if they dont have fox.

If you must be in the CBD or want a big night, pretty much any pub is the same. O'Malleys in the mall shows footy and has 1 large screen. The Victory has a big screen in teh beer garden and most other pubs have a number of tv's to pick a spot ande watch. The Casino is another option.

The fringe sports clubs are always a winner if you want to watch teh game, have a few beers and chill out. Places like Broncos, Sunnybank Sports and Crushers have the right atmosphere for that.

Even if you hate the Broncos, the leagues club at Red Hill is definitely the best pub to go to in terms of a good viewing experience for the footy. Heaps of seating, two massive screens, plenty of smaller screens, good drinks prices, decent food & a TAB handy. Perfect!

Agree. Alfie's bar is perfect for sport.

Thomas

Normanby? Fine for drinking beer and watching the "wildlife". They have a big screen too. Not my kind of place but it's pretty popular.

lol @ the Wickham. Old Calixte once challenged me to a trivia contest (wtf??) and I suggested the Wickham. he was all down for it until he found out what type of hotel it was.

redvscotty

I love watching the Broncos when they lose at away games at the leagues club. The place empties out about 20 minutes before full time.

Sir Biffo

Broncos is fine if you are a Bronco fan or it's empty.

I would stay out of the CBD if you are purely looking to watch the game. You generally won't get sound and will probably be annoyed at some stage by dickheads. Not to mention the amount of pubs that are affiliated with AFL or Union and only show league as a last option or if they dont have fox.

If you must be in the CBD or want a big night, pretty much any pub is the same. O'Malleys in the mall shows footy and has 1 large screen. The Victory has a big screen in teh beer garden and most other pubs have a number of tv's to pick a spot ande watch. The Casino is another option.

The fringe sports clubs are always a winner if you want to watch teh game, have a few beers and chill out. Places like Broncos, Sunnybank Sports and Crushers have the right atmosphere for that.

What pubs play AFL/Yawnion over League?

Been in Brisbane since 2003 and apart from Bloodyslow never seen it ... And if they are on fox on a Friday night watching an AFL game, just ask them to change it. You won't get any complaints :lol:

Normanby? Fine for drinking beer and watching the "wildlife". They have a big screen too. Not my kind of place but it's pretty popular.

lol @ the Wickham. Old Calixte once challenged me to a trivia contest (wtf??) and I suggested the Wickham. he was all down for it until he found out what type of hotel it was.

Calitxte was a regular at The Beat. He's having you on.

PJ Marshal

rob jeffson is without a doubt the nrls premier halfback, he is definetly in the shane perry mould

Joker's Wild

Crushers leagues is a sh*te hole. If your out in the N/W suburbs your best bet is Arana Leagues.

In the city it used to be the Brew House but thats gone now. The Exchange has a decent screen to watch the footy on though.