Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best rugby league commentator today

Best league commentator

• Ray Warren

Votes: 17 20.2%
  • Andrew Voss

Votes: 5 6.0%
  • Mark Braybrook

Votes: 2 2.4%
  • Warren Smith

Votes: 22 26.2%
  • Ray Hadley

Votes: 5 6.0%
  • Andrew Moore

Votes: 1 1.2%
  • ABC Duo (Warren Ryan and mates)

Votes: 22 26.2%
  • Warren Boland

Votes: 1 1.2%
  • Other

Votes: 9 10.7%

Jason Maher

Just like in the cricket, it's the ABC by a mile. Morrow is great, unless he's calling a Saints game, then he's just amusing/annoying (depending on your perspective). The Wok does a good job of winding him up. Hamilton is good as well. Wish they still had Peter Wilkins though. He was the doyen.

On telly, some of the Fox guys are okay, and I would feed Peter Sterling and Wally Lewis if they were starving, unlike the rest of the 9 idiots (Freddie and Joey are ok for a giggle, so maybe them too).

An honourable mention for Billy Slater. I hate the merkin, but I thought he was pretty good in his guest stints. Perhaps there's a future post-football for him.

Warren Smith is the best on the list even though he's a bit of a tool at times.

I voted other though because to me Peter Wilkins is the best still. Shame he decided to throw his lot in with 2ue back in the day.

Twas 2GB if I recall.

Thirsty and the Wok are great.

I love listening to commentators who can recall moments from years gone by. Wok comes out with some great little behind the scenes yarns from back in the day.

SwampyMarc

the abc boys for me. Waz can get a little annoying at times, but anything beats listening to the bogans on 2GB!

I like the ABC boys when they call, Morrow, Ryan and Hamilton, as well as 2GB Andrew Moore, Blocker and Joel Caine.

Warren Boland is probably the best non caller, I remember the old days of Saturday alvo on the ABC.

On TV Rabs is still pretty good, but is nearly past it. Warren Smith is one the best.

I cant stand Braybrook, his negativity and his "Must Score" calls especially with Belcher. They should replace Belcher with Kimmorely.

:lol: I still cringe when he finished the sentence with :and book himself a NSW Origin jumper!" Disgraceful that he never got to don the sky blue

Warren Smith's my pick, Wazza goes good

Funny how they replay that try nowadays, say in a "Classic try Moments" and always cut to Laurie Daleys comments.

Warren Boland should be doing the head calling at the ABC for QLD games.

Not some AFL fan who knows bugger all about rugby league. There's two of them now in the QLD Grandstand line-up. Quentin Hull (who does have a reasonable RL knowledge, but AFL is his game) and some guy from Tasmania who has absolutely no idea about the game of RL.

Boland needs to be involved a lot more. A great caller.

NRL-TGG

Guest Moderator
Ray Warren is the best when without Gus.

The worse is Voss, no one with a brain would like that idiot.

Agree about Warren Boland - I remember him as a young kid on the ABC and thought he was very good, though it seems Quentin Hull (son of Riverina race caller Alan) is above him on the pecking order (or maybe Boland just wants to do sideline duties now).

IMO Warren Smith is the best, he has the combined attributes of Voss (good player ID and knowledge), and Ray Warren (excitable voice in the right moments). Though I do cringe at some of his try calls - i.e. "to the win the game", "playing from in front", "will win tonight".

On radio, Hadley is OK, and has good broadcasting diction but I reckon is slightly over rated due to the fact he comes from a race broadcasting background, and therefore his 'filler' can mask deficiencies in player ID and the like (e.g. "the acting half is there, the ball's played away on the outside to the centre three-quarter.......").

Hadley is the best caller in the business. Outside of calling the game he is great at giving it to he labor govt...outside of that, no much else.

Sterling, you can almost hear the embarrasement in his voice at having to call a game with the two clowns sat next to him! Gould, Warren, Fittler and Johns, what a TV team!

ManlyMania

bring back Graham Hughes - also braybrook has to be the worst after every play "gary belcher have you ever seen anything like it"?

afinalsin666

They need to let Freddy and Joey call a whole game. Would be hilarious. Of course you'd need to be drunk or stoned, or equal parts both.

Waz, Loz and Brandy are the reasons MNF is my favorite footy night.

Warren is terrible - he doesn't get the players right and spends half the time randomly talking to Gus or whoever about the good old days. He does believe his own hype too much.

I dont mind the ABC team but Ryan goes off on rants too often when there is play happening. You are calling the play Ryan, not telling stories and carrying on about the plays making bad decisions. At least the TV callers have the images to see what it happening, the radio doesnt.