Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best Year of Your Life

Misanthrope

Rewatching old school How I Met Your Mother got me thinking about the best yesrs of my life (so far) . All thistalk of wingmen, suiting up, and other such randomness...

What year of your life has been the best for you?

For me? It'd have to be 24/25 for me. Between May of 2008 and the same time in 2009. I was young, single, and living large in South Korea. In that time I dated a few girls out of my league, had the most epic weekend ofmy life at the mud festival with a nubile American cheerleader, buddied up.with a posse of awesome suit-wearing wingmen, became known in my city as a party animal, traveled, and generally just came out of my shell.

Then along came a long (admittedly very fulfilling) relationship, a two yesr return to Oz, and real life. It hasn't been bad, but damned if I don't miss those days. I'd give my left nard for that carefree lifestyle again.

So, what was your best year?

Ages 16 and 21 were pretty good years for me. Grown up enough to be comfortable in my skin, feeling very confident in senior high school and having a good daily laugh about life and enjoying deepening friendships and new experiences, music etc. And at 21 finally feeling comfortable in a different setting, then finishing uni and starting work (spare cash!), starting my first long-term relationship, and just having a care-free grand old time feeling invincible.... good while it all lasts!

Honourable mentions to 27 and 32. 27 was finally feeling comfortable in the workforce setting, feeling independent and invincible and probably at the peak of my energy for socialising and having fun. 32 was a second year of living and working overseas, making new friends, having experiences and travelling to places I'd never thought I would on a good career wage. Throw in a six week visit home was surreal and awesome, and then back O/S for two more years of the same.

This year (39) is shaping to be a pretty good one too so far too. Feels very zen... like none of the little things from days gone by are worth worrying about any more, and trusting that life has a way of sorting everything out if you approach it in a relaxed way. A different and very chilled contentment.

Misanthrope

Good to know there were a few swansongs. It eould be pretty grim if my best years were all 4-5 years behind me :lol:

Where did you live and work abroad?

DB

From 17-18... High School, parties, schoolies, finally being able to go to the pub legally.

BDR

I can genuinely say that every year since I turned 18 has been the best of my life. The last time I had a "bad year" was 17-18, moved out of home into a bad situation and struggled with a lot of things. This year for sure has been the best, good times with the lads, good results at school, good luck with the ladyfriends.

Onwards and upwards each year my friends.

Next year I will be 29.

In January my girl will give birth to our first, second and third children all in one go.

In February I will be making a career change from the Air Force to Qld Police

In September the knights will win the comp.

Good times.

Jono078

Life on a personal level has been awesome since turning 21, enjoying everything that has come out of it - friends, traveling, new car and all. Only downfalls have been close deaths in the family. But on a personal level I feel everything is starting to click and hopefully things continue that way and I can keep improving things.

23 now btw, so last 2 years have been fun.

Hallatia

I can genuinely say that every year since I turned 18 has been the best of my life. The last time I had a "bad year" was 17-18, moved out of home into a bad situation and struggled with a lot of things. This year for sure has been the best, good times with the lads, good results at school, good luck with the ladyfriends.

Onwards and upwards each year my friends.
I like this and believe in this.

Silent Knight

18 was the hardest but probably also the greatest year of my life. A year that was typified by studying my a** off every weeknight but then leaving school on a Friday and heading straight to a house party. I normally wouldn't get home until late Sunday night looking completely dishevelled and smelling of booze.

Every recess and lunch at school you'd be down on the asphalt tennis courts (minus the nets but not the poles) playing touch footy. It was the only available space in the school where we could play, despite having lush green football ovals behind the school that were out of bounds :?. You'd walk off each week with ripped pants, bruised arms and legs after getting banged into the concrete, but it was worth it. Mum just stitched up the pants.

My 18th birthday was unbelievable. About 100 people in the neighbourhood turned up (only 70 were invited but there was no trouble) and it really is something to hear all of them chanting your nickname as you're about to make your birthday speech. I had cult status for a month after that party.

I honestly didn't think I was going to make it into uni after flunking my Maths and English trial exams, although I did fairly well with the school assessments leading up to that point. My parents managed to find an absolutely brilliant maths tutor who worked wonders in the weeks between my trial and the HSC exams, and I absolutely smashed my maths exam. I worked with my English teacher twice a week to improve on my understanding of Shakespeare lol.

At the end of year awards I didn't expect to get any other than my usual Business and Computing Studies awards. I was called up though for an award for Commitment and Desire To Improve (the second highest ranked award in the school). You should have seen the school ampitheatre. The cheering was thunderous, it completely overwhelmed you. Every last person got up and started shouting my name.

Then when my UAI came in the paper I realised I was going to uni. Standing in the campus hall later that day as I signed up for my degree was the greatest feeling in the entire world. My parents informed my high school business teacher and he made it his prerogative to put me up as the main feature in the school newsletter (hardly any kids from my school went on to uni).

Schoolies at Crescent Head was perfect. My mates and I poured beer on our cornflakes on the first morning. Then we followed it up with another beer. Beer flavoured cornflakes actually tasted okay. I won't go into the debauchery we got up to during that week.

19 was also bloody good. My Knights won the premiership that year.

23 was supposed to be the greatest year, but ended up being the worst. Went on a Contiki tour of Europe and had a legendary time. But then I came home, no one seemed that enthused to see me in Canberra and I fell into depression. All good now though, I left that dump when I was 26.

3 standouts for me 1988 when i was 20 my son was born.
1990 my 1st daughter was born in Februaury and by july that year she had survived 4 lots of open heart surgery (and is now a 22 year old woman) so that year in paticular was up and down emotionally.
Then 2006 when my 2nd daughter was born, to me nothing in life tops the birth of your children.
However mentions must be made of 1997 and 2001 for obvious reasons :)

2010 (I was 25) was my best year, and not just because St George won the title, although that was awesome. I got promoted at my previous job. Started to plan for a holiday. The guy who was my boss got fired. Saw more of my friends from Sydney. Made contact with a number of job possibilities. Things were looking positive. Then 2011 hit and things went down like the Hindenberg. 2012 has been a mixed bag. Hoping for a positive 2013.

Springs

2006, I was 15. Finally fit in at school, first real girlfriend, great year at footy, picked for several rep sides and somehow managed to have a good social life in my small hometown, mainly because the old Group 17 was still up back then.

Then everything went downhill after a close friend's death in literally the first few hours of 2007. Apart from a few good months after school finished in 2009, a Grand Final win last year and a few good trips away, the rest might as well be a 15 second montage. Had quite a few suit-up nights with the boys, but with the awful place that is Griffith, plus no interest in drinking or casual sex, not much to write about.

Dani

The year I turned 21. Moved out of home and to Sydney. Moved in with first real boyfriend. Bought my very first brand new car. Bought my very first pet. Made lots of new friends and generally had lots of GT's. Especially towards the end of the year.

Misanthrope

I hear you on the battle with depression, SK. 2011 was by far the roughest year if my life. End of a two year relationship, crashed and burned in Korea and fled home, had a string of completely unfulfilling one night stands, and struggled to get out of bed most days.

The move to China has worked wonders, although it has yet to reach the dizzying heights of 08/09.

Knightmare

Oh shit, this is a great thread!

For me, the best years would be:

On a personal level: I started kindergarten at North Sydney Dem, my teacher was a guy named Mr Dowd and he was awesome. On the first day of kindy I met my mate Viv, we were in this cubby house pretending that Saddam Hussein was on the TV and we were throwing plastic counters at him because, even as 5 year olds we knew he was bad! Viv and I are mates to this day, we hung out just the other weekend. It was the year Mum and my stepdad got married and I was the pageboy at their wedding. The wedding singer was an old friend of Mum's named Kerryn, who also happened to be the lead vocalist of that group 'Euphoria'. You may remember them from this track:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpaqt7tjcDE

To continue, at the time we were living at this place in Cammeray which was one of the favourite places I have ever lived. It felt like living in a quiet, leafy suburb close to Tunks Park, when in reality we were only 10 minutes from the city. I also got my dog, Joe, as an early 6th birthday present.

On a broader level, 1991 was an awesome year for music: Crowded House released 'Woodface', U2 released 'Atchung Baby', Nirvana released 'Nevermind', Mr Bungle released their self titled debut album and I remember Dad playing Paul Kelly's new album 'Comedy' a lot. I reckon it's one of his better albums. To this day, I clearly remember being in my room, playing with the train set I kept under my bed, sunlight streaming through the window and this song playing in the living room:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_ndC07C2qw

Oh, and Ayrton Senna won his 3rd Formula 1 World Championship as well. What a year!

On a personal level, I finished Primary School and my teacher was really nice to me, even though I was an arrogant little shit back then. I went down to Melbourne for the Grand Prix with my family, got to see David Coulthard win for McLaren, which was the first time McLaren had won since Senna at Adelaide in 1993 which was a special moment for me. My 12th birthday party was the same day Princess Diana was killed and I remember all my friends turning up, already telling Diana jokes :lol: I suppose I remember this year fondly because I was counting down the months till I finished up Primary School forever and moved onto Highschool. It was just a fun year hanging out with my friends, it was kind of the last year where I had that childhood innocence, if you could call it that. As soon as Highscool began I found myself feeling very self-conscious about how I looked, what people thought of me and especially what the girls thought of me.

Apart from that, all I have to say is: 1997 Grand Final. Darren Albert. 6 seconds to go. Thankyou very much.

I'd also have to honestly say that this year is shaping up to be one of the best ever. I went to the UK and Paris back in March/ April and finally got to see Liverpool play at Anfield. I travelled with a mate, it was the first time I had been overseas unsupervised and I found there was so much more I took on board and appreciated this time around in regards to how different things are even in our mother country. We are so lucky to live in a country as egalitarian and wealthy as Australia, is all I can say. I suppose also this year I have changed a lot for the better, I feel as if I've finally got myself together and I have a clearer idea of what I want in life and how to go about it. I turned 27 a couple of months back, and from what I've heard it seems that 27 is often a milestone age for people. I've also just started my own business and I'm really looking forward to next year. I feel a lot more positive and confident than I ever used to, even mates have commented on how much more confident I seem in myself than I ever used to be.

Well done on a brilliant thread, mis. It's funny because just the other night I was thinking about 'HIMYM' and how it is that many people don't appreciate how awesome their younger, single years are until it's all gone and what a shame it is...

sensesmaybenumbed

1998 was a cracker of a year, living on campus, running amok, leaving behind the bullying and hate of small town highschool bullshit.

Also: 2001, (hooked up with le wife after 4 years of knowing each other and months of eying one another off) 2005 (well... Tiger... duh) and 2011 ( getting stateside to impregnate wife after 6 months of work enforced separation)

Silent Knight

I hear you on the battle with depression, SK. 2011 was by far the roughest year if my life. End of a two year relationship, crashed and burned in Korea and fled home, had a string of completely unfulfilling one night stands, and struggled to get out of bed most days.

The move to China has worked wonders, although it has yet to reach the dizzying heights of 08/09.

Here's a great depression fighter. Play this song while you go for a run alongside the ocean:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8MAHQhKe7Q&noredirect=1

Worked for me (along with the meds).

Hallatia

I think 2011 was the worst year of my life. But I became uber obsessed with cricket that year (I was already a big cricket fan, but in 2011 I was so miserable with my own life that I let cricket take it over and that made my life seem so much better), that part was alright, most of the other parts from October 2010 till November 2011 just sucked balls. The cricket was good though