Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Big Names on the market

Chachi

All things being equal you'd think our young team has the most potential improvement in them out of any team in the comp. IMO Carney, Dobson, Weyman, Costigan, TLL, Tilse and Goodwin were all very inconsistent throughout the season and only really showed glimpses of what they are capable of.

Henry's task is to get these sort of guys performing consistently - as well as Withers and Thompson. If he can do that I don't see any other club with more improvement in them than us. I think only Zillman, Tongue and Logan can really hold their head high and say they performed well throughout the season. To be so close to the top 8 with only 2-3 players playing anywhere near their potential is a pretty startling effort when you think about it.

Hopefully many lessons were learnt in Henry's rookie season and I think he needs to be afforded the luxury of building his own team rather than just be the scapegoat for the void his predecessor left.

Management's role is to support what the head coach wants as he's the one that lives and dies by those decisions. I'd expect nothing less and I'm sure Elliott had 90%+ say in who came and went from the club as AK said.

Would you prefered Henry to blast Howell and call him useless? Howell performed in Premier League and got a call up for first grade- which was a trend this year under Henry. Also the fact he gave it 100% knowing he wasn't wanted shows something about his character. He knew months ago that he was free to look around but decided to knuckle down and try prove his worth. It would be a terrible feeling knowing that you're not really wanted at a club..

By playing him in the last few games (when we were out of finals contention) mamimised the chances if him getting another contract, he has more bargaining power when he finishes the season the 1st grade, then when he finishes it it PL.. At the end of the day it would be a result that makes both parties happy. Anyway on form Howell wasn't exactly our worst back for the backend of the season.

I really hope Howell does find a new club that wants him, sure he has an odd brain explosion, but you can't really fault his effort. Especially when you sonsider the fact he played those last few matches with niggling injuries..

I wish him the bets of luck for 08, whether that be at another club, or playing for Souths Logan trying to prove he can be a part of the first grade side.

Also, at the end of the day managements job is to take care in the off field day to day running of the club. The Coach is the one who knows who he wants to keep, release and bring to the club.. Managements job is to ensure they have the funds.. Michael Monaghan going was Elliott's decision at the end of the day, how can management overule him? It's not their job to pick the side each week.

Mal's Milk

Stelios Giannakopoulos said:
Anyway on form Howell wasn't exactly our worst back for the backend of the season. I really hope Howell does find a new club that wants him, sure he has an odd brain explosion, but you can't really fault his effort. Especially when you sonsider the fact he played those last few matches with niggling injuries..

If he wasn't our worst back then who was!!!????

I don't want to knock players, but seriously, he was one our WORST in the last few games of the year.

Howell picked up points in 2 of his last 5 matches in the player of the year polls. Also he was also playing with injuries.. I don't want to single anyone out, but Phil Graham's performance against the Dogs and Goodwin's attempted tackle on Bowen against the Cowboys were just very sad moments as they looked like they didn't want to tackle them.

Bay56 said:
huh Schifty, you bastard :lol: ... the only guy I have faith in out yonder ... i hope that admin hat is fitting tighter and tighter :lol:

dude you werent responsible for the little "mistake" on the weekend were you ??

:lol: you're sad, sad man bay. In my weaker moments, i almost pity you... Almost

Bay56

Raider_69 said:
:lol: you're sad, sad man bay. In my weaker moments, i almost pity you... Almost

simple, dont be so weak R69 ... be strong man ... resist the temptation to pity me :lol:

nice to see you still have time to read my posts (or PM's) :lol:

Bay56

dubby said:
AK, Top post dude. Well said.

Mal, What's the point signing a guy the coach isnt going to play? May as well let him go so he can earn a living. Isnt that the right thing to do? Or do we keep him in chains until he asks for a release?

Dubster the next time you talk to Donny Snr tell him to tell Donny Jnr to pull his finger out of his proverbial and sign a couple of decent players ... tell him Bay said that is the thing to do and to ignore any advice that Henry gives ... and tell him that if Henry doesnt like it to sack the dude .. and tell him if it takes overs to entice them here than do so !!

huh, off my chest :lol:

Mal Meninga

By playing him in the last few games (when we were out of finals contention) mamimised the chances if him getting another contract, he has more bargaining power when he finishes the season the 1st grade, then when he finishes it it PL.. At the end of the day it would be a result that makes both parties happy. Anyway on form Howell wasn't exactly our worst back for the backend of the season.
That's a disgraceful theory. Howell was indeed one of our worst and being hooked against the Sharks was the perfect way to sum up his Canberra days. If Henry indeed played him while their were other players who could use the experience on the basis of 'shopping him around', than Neil should be handing in his resignation, I believe it's in his pidgeon hole ready to go.

It's incorrect to bag a player out in the public(Even if it's Doc) but you know what the perfect solution is? To say nothing at all. Instead he talked him up, blew some smoke up up his behind and kissed him on the forehead.

As an aside, say if a coach does indeed have 90% of the say, what happens if Henry prefers Campo/Dobson over Herbert? Will management let go of their 'long term solution' or overrule him? I'd say the latter.

So who would you have selected to play fullback for the final few games of the year??
Howell was pretty much the last guy we had left. The only real alternative was Goodwin, and who knows what the go was there, but that performance against the cowboys seemed to cost him.
All I'm saying is that playing Howell had the extra bonus of increasing the chances of finding a new club.

Bay, come to a post match at the Tradies and you can tell Don Furner Jnr yourself your wonderful plans for the future, who knows after your convincing arguements he might even offer you the role of recruitment manager. Then we can send you to sydney to woo players to Canberra Bay56 style :lol:

Bay56

Bay, come to a post match at the Tradies and you can tell Don Furner Jnr yourself your wonderful plans for the future, who knows after your convincing arguements he might even offer you the role of recruitment manager. Then we can send you to sydney to woo players to Canberra Bay56 style :lol:

you're taking the piss arent you schifty :lol:

Bay56

I'll even introduce to you to him.

recruitment officer huh ... yea, sounds good .... first thing I'd do is sack Donny and the entire board ... then I'd recruit you as my assistant .... matt can be talent scout .... Withers will be shown the door ... Carney will be given the keys to the city (not the car) ... from then the sky's the limit ... the future of the club will be in my hands.

:lol: Its hard to imagine you could compile a more useless bunch of rif rafs to run a club then we have at present, but by god you're going damn close there Bay... install me as CEO and Legend as morale officer, and bingo, you've done it!

Bay56

Raider_69 said:
:lol: Its hard to imagine you could compile a more useless bunch of rif rafs to run a club then we have at present, but by god you're going damn close there Bay... install me as CEO and Legend as morale officer, and bingo, you've done it!

no worries dude ... I'm also thinking T_R as our Qld scout ... I'll get together a full list of staff by tomorrow

btw good to see that you rectified that small prob over the weekend ... so what happened, did greeneyed press the wrong button or somthin :lol:

greeneyed

Hmmm... I wonder what thickos did to lose his mantle as the only trusted one?

You're it now Stelios!

Plus I never press the wrong buttons... in fact, I never press the buttons!

Bay56

huh, look what the cat dragged out :lol:

funny how a little criticism brings out the worst in some people

Stu my good mate ... you're still in the good books even though you dont answer my PM's

matt

Bay56 said:
recruitment officer huh ... yea, sounds good .... first thing I'd do is sack Donny and the entire board ... then I'd recruit you as my assistant .... matt can be talent scout .... Withers will be shown the door ... Carney will be given the keys to the city (not the car) ... from then the sky's the limit ... the future of the club will be in my hands.

bay thanks for the opportunity to work for your fine establishment , but before i commit lets talk $$$ and are you pretty relaxed when it comes to bullying in the workplace legislation????

nicks got to be the sales and marketing manager ffs he almost gets me to believe. ( only joking nick)

matt said:

bay thanks for the opportunity to work for your fine establishment , but before i commit lets talk $$$ and are you pretty relaxed when it comes to bullying in the workplace legislation????

Well going by bay's method you will get 150k more then your currently on :p

greeneyed

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Bay, don't worry, I was more intrigued by your abandonment of thickos... since edited out! :lol:

Cats... dragging out? Talking about the Tigers again! Well done!