Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Biggest in NRL??

newman

Discuss.
Kobe Bryant is 197cm.
Shaq is 215.

Although Cam Ciraldo is a unit, do you really think he is only 18cm or 6 inches shorter than Shaq?

shaq.jpg

Manu Vatuvei

I didnt measure myself incorrectly you imbecile. Its not a hard task. Im not trying to shrink anyone. I reckon all of the height measurements of the players are embellished (Hell, they do it in Basketball, and those guys are f**king TALL).

I know. Most basketball measurements are embellished by approx 1 1/2 inches, basically giving the height of the player in bball shoes

Apart from the aforementioned tall guys, most NRL players are actually quite short. (Warning, more name dropping here) I recently attended a sharks function and Kimmorley, Gallen, Bird and Ricky Stuart were all there and its quite amazing how bloody short most of them are. Jake Selmes, David Simmoms and Fraser Anderson are the tallest Sharkies and theyd be lucky to be over 6 foot.
Gallen and Bird for sure are two of the shortest forwards going around. Dunno what their listed heights are but I reckon Gallen especially is max 5'10". I'm sure you'd guess a bit lower.

Yes it is.
Go and get a tape measure out. Mark 191cm on the wall and have a look. Imagine being above that height and then try and have a shower in an ordinary shower, sit in an economy seat on a plane, chop vegetables at a standard height counter etc etc.
Mate, as you can probably tell I'm slightly obsessed and very particular when it comes to heights and weights. It's not a fascination I'm proud of but there you go, lol.

I'm perfectly aware of how tall 191cm is because I have several mates around that height or taller. One, for example, describes himself as 195cm but is listed 193cm by his acting agency- he reckons it's better to downgrade as his height works against him in getting jobs. One of my best mates claims to be 6'6", and indeed when we were kids growing up I've measured him at over 6'4", but I reckon he's more 6'5"/195cm max now, even though he's a massive unit. I'm well aware of the tendency for people to exaggerate.

I myself am bang on a very average 179cm and that's barefoot and being fair dinkum. I know I can pass for 6' foot, especially to people shorter than me.

As I said, I've met 175cm Lance Hohaia and the guy deadset looks like a midget bodybuilder. He's so buff, he looks almost comically short and squat. He's probably 170cm. Other than that so, I've met and seen up close tonnes of NRL players (I'm sure most people at this forum have) and most are close to their listed height.

An example- I met 186cm listed Karmichael Hunt. At 179cm he towered me and I really thought he seemed taller. Yet when you look at Hunt compared to, say, Mason, he does look 9-10cm shorter. 178cm listed Darren Lockyer was almost exactly my height. And generally, with a few glaring exceptions, the listed heights of most players in the NRL make sense in relation to the other players' listed heights. Having found that 90% of players I've met are more or less their listed heights, I'm pretty confident that there isn't over-listing en masse in the NRL.

I spent 2 or 3 hours with 191cm listed Jerry Collins, who is clearly shorter than SBW, who is clearly shorter than Willie Mason, and if Collins isn't 191cm he's minimum 189-190.

Manu Vatuvei

Discuss.
Kobe Bryant is 197cm.
Shaq is 215.

Although Cam Ciraldo is a unit, do you really think he is only 18cm or 6 inches shorter than Shaq?

shaq.jpg

That's 7".....7'1" vs a bit under 6'6".

I haven't looked closely enough at Ciraldo, but I'd bet that Willie Mason is probably about the same height as Kobe who is really 6'5" max :p

Isn't Boykins about the same height as Preston Campbell?

Manu Vatuvei

Just out of interest newman, are you tall and rangy or heavy-set? I think NRL players can seem shorter than they are because of their builds...

mongoose

*Blatant Namedrop number 1* Sirro Raldo is taller than Mase, but not near 2 metres. Dude is very good friends with my brother and spent plenty of time in our family home over the years.

I didnt measure myself incorrectly you imbecile. Its not a hard task. Im not trying to shrink anyone. I reckon all of the height measurements of the players are embellished (Hell, they do it in Basketball, and those guys are f**king TALL). Apart from the aforementioned tall guys, most NRL players are actually quite short. (Warning, more name dropping here) I recently attended a sharks function and Kimmorley, Gallen, Bird and Ricky Stuart were all there and its quite amazing how bloody short most of them are. Jake Selmes, David Simmoms and Fraser Anderson are the tallest Sharkies and theyd be lucky to be over 6 foot.

Yes it is.
Go and get a tape measure out. Mark 191cm on the wall and have a look. Imagine being above that height and then try and have a shower in an ordinary shower, sit in an economy seat on a plane, chop vegetables at a standard height counter etc etc.

I am 188-189cm and i wouldn't want to be any taller. Sitting on a plane in economy for 12 hours is torture.

Hoofa22

Discuss.
Kobe Bryant is 197cm.
Shaq is 215.

shaq.jpg

The fella's name is Earl Boykins who is one of the shortest ever to play in the NBA at 5'4'' which is about 162cm:sarcasm:, Shaq is 53cm taller than him.:lol:

Went out in Melbourne and stood face to face with Adam Blair from the Storm who is listed as 186cm and he probally came up to my neck. The last time i checked a couple of years ago i was 195-196cm tall. Id say the NRL players are listed with shoes on so i'd say id be 2oocm in NRL listings.

Manu Vatuvei

The plot thickens

With the exception of Hohaia, most NRL players I've seen off-field are their listed heights

Examples include- Sam Thaiday (181cmish) Karmichael Hunt (at least 186cm), Mark Gasnier (seemed 186-188cmish, slightly shorter than listed, but appears taller than Hunt whenever I've seen them together on field). I dunno what Reni Maitua is listed but he seemed about 180cm which seems about right. Simon Mannering and my namesake Mr Vatuvei are their listed heights or more.

I dunno, my 6'5" mate thought I was shorter than my 5'7" girlfriend so maybe tall ppl just can't judge height :p