Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blacklock - Will He Ever Play For Australia?

I couldn't think of a better subject to start with.

In the Aust v NZ Test, it must have been one hell of a strong Australian team to have a player like Nathan Blacklock sitting in the stands.
Well not really, Sailor did nothing and McDougall did even less. Tuqiri, who has already represented Fiji played well but shouldn't have qualified.
I 'm absolutely certain that Nathan Blacklock will represent Australia on the Kangaroo tour. He is one of the true champions of the game and that will eventually become apparent to all.
fetch.dll

So that's my opinion. Injuries aside. Will Nathan Blacklock play for Australia.
Yes or No?

L

legend

Absolutely. Anderson has Nathan in his plans for the Kangaroo tour at the end of the year and he will be one of three wingers chosen along with Macdougall and Tuqiri. You will see him in the green and gold before the end of the year.

No doubt he will Willow, if it was fair dinkum he would have been in the SOO. You are aware that I disagree regarding the elibility ofTuqiri and I believe he and Blacklock should be the test wingers asthey are the bestfinishersin the game by miles.I'd reallylike to see 2 good centres inside them though, the two current ones are just good club men. I will be watchingGasnier, Walkerand Lyons with interest to see how they progress. I would even consider Anasta in the centres for the tour, that kid is a deadset champion in the making.

That's interesting Rasputin.
You should know that I consider Tuqiri to be the only winger in the world who should qualify as Blacklock's opposite.
He'snationality is apparently irrelevant so I'm more than happy to see him playing for Australia.

But what did Sailor do in the NZ Test? I can tell you now that he did nothin'.

During Australia's first try: Barrett looked for his winger and saw thatSailor was lurking 20 metres back. Barrett was forced tokicked inside instead. I will put my house on it that Blacklock would have scored with his first touch in international RL.
For the record, Barrett never looked for an outside wing support ever again during that match

L

legend

Nathan scored a great intercept try last night against the Eagles but does'nt Robert Miles have some speed? He pushed Blacklock all the way to the line and he had to turn and chase.

BTW, did anyone see Peachey's try against the Panthers last night? Great solo effort and the Sharks are starting to hit some form and I expect both Saints and the Sharks to run down the overrated Roosters.

Legend, It was a great intercept try and one he does regularly. It's not the first time this year that Tingha has turned a match on it's head in the blink of an eye.
It was another one of those great moments for a Dragons supporter and it was pretty dazzling to watch the turf fly in the air from his heals as he took off.
As for the chaser. No disrespect to Miles who as you say had to turn and chase, but Tingha was barely trotting towards the end.

fetch.dll

Well he didn't play but here's the 'Kangaroo rookies' pic from today's Telegraph.
For those don't know him, Tingha is the proudest looking one of the bunch.

H

Hass

Tuqiri is an Australian. He has lived in Australia all his life. However, the IRL made a request that players who were technically eligible for countries other than Australia because of the "grandfather rule" be granted special permission to play for emerging nations as a one-off during the World Cup.

This is why players like Tuqiri and Ricketson decided to help out International League by playing for emerging nations- only after being told it would not effect their chances for Australian selection because they were only doing it for International League's best interests.

Don't make life hard for this bloke. He was as proud as anyone (even as proud as Tingha) when he pulled on that Green and Gold jersey. If he knew he would not be allowed to play for his country if he went and represented Fiji in the World Cup then you'd be certain to have found him firmly saying "I can't" to Fiji.

These two talents should be the first two wingers picked for the Roo Tour- and no-one should be able to find any grounds to stop that being the case for either of them.

Cheers.

Hass, thanks for clearing that up and it's great to see you posting here!
I think Tuqiri is a fantastic winger and he showed up Sailor time and time again in the NZ Test.
If he qualifies for Australia then as far as I'm concerned he is more than welcomed.
If he puts time aside to play for Fiji, then he should be applauded.
I was never doubting his pride when selected for Australia.

But in case you haven't noticed, I'm a bit of a Blacklock fan.
I'm with you. Tuqiri and Blacklock... excuse me, that should read, Blacklock and Tuqiri are the 2 best wingers in the world.
:}

H

Hass

Blacklock is the best winger in the world, and it shouldn't be up to Dragons people like yourself to make that known to the world. It should already be confirmed by both the NSW and Australian selectors.

He'll play for Australia, when players have that much class, no matter how many times they are knocked back, they will win through. And here's to hoping Nathan has a long and prosperous career in the Green & Gold.

Cheers.

Hass I've been pushing his case for some time now. I have to say that after seeing that pic in today's Telegraph, I felt really happy for the guy. He must know now that he is at the very least, 'under consideration / on the short list'.
Yeah, he can't be stopped now.
I guess we spare a thought for Daniel Wagon and his crook ankle.

H

Hass

I think we'll find Wagon on the tour as well. He's just so versatile and has been playing great footy over the last 2 seasons. When Brian Smith bought Wagon I said to myself "no, he's hopeless, don't do it. Just another one of his St.George cronies, ala Kusto....etc".

Well, Wagon has proven me wrong, if the League had a most improved award he'd get it.

Cheers.

Bebeto in Japan

There is no doubt that Blacklock is a great winger, but lets see how he fairs against Parramatta this weekend. Go Parra!

Getting back to the serious discussion here, I honestly think the representitive selectors have severe problems because he is a great player. If Chris Anderson wants him in the Australian squad, suely that is all the assurance you need that he will realise his dream soon.

Go Blacklock (but not this weekend)