Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bombers issue

snout

According to Fox last night Buzz is reporting the club will be making a call by week 8 on signing bomber. Or not.
They want to have heard from bellamy by then.

If bellamy says yes then obviously bombers at the mercy of what bellyache wants to do.
If bellamy says no lm still thinking bombers not automatic 2nd choice.

Our roster is very beige. We have talent. We can put on a try. Bombers fixed our defensive issues and we try really hard.
But are we going to win it this year?
No.
Can we compete with the other 7 teams in the top 8?
No.
When push comes to shove in the 78th minute do we have a Teddy to put on our winning play? A cody walker? Ben barba? James maloney? Pappyhoosen? Keary? Jack wighton? Jerome Leui?
No.

We have a roster that competes within the rules of pre- covid. The 7 was off the pace before they sped things up - he is now playing a totally different game to the one Jarome hughes plays. Or luke keary plays. Or george williams. Or adam reynolds. Or even third string will smith plays.
Our forwards. Tolman. Woods and williams.
Really?
We need major renovations.

We will have millions to spend at seasons end.
Millions.
Do the club see bomber as the guy to attract names. Big names. 78th minute names. To our club.
Im gonna say theres many who have serious concerns he dosent.
Or just outright say no he cant.

DJDL

According to Fox last night Buzz is reporting the club will be making a call by week 8 on signing bomber. Or not.
They want to have heard from bellamy by then.

If bellamy says yes then obviously bombers at the mercy of what bellyache wants to do.
If bellamy says no lm still thinking bombers not automatic 2nd choice.

Our roster is very beige. We have talent. We can put on a try. Bombers fixed our defensive issues and we try really hard.
But are we going to win it this year?
No.
Can we compete with the other 7 teams in the top 8?
No.

When push comes to shove in the 78th minute do we have a Teddy to put on our winning play? A cody walker? Ben barba? James maloney? Pappyhoosen? Keary? Jack wighton? Jerome Leui?
No.

We have a roster that competes within the rules of pre- covid. The 7 was off the pace before they sped things up - hes playing a totally different game to the one Jarome hughes plays now.

We will have millions to spend at seasons end.
Millions.
Do the club see bomber as the guy to attract names. Big names. 78th minute names. To our club.
Im gonna say theres many who have serious concerns he dosent.
Or just outright say no he cant.

I beg to differ. We just competed with the Raiders and Eels in back to back weeks.
The former, after defending off line for the most part of the first half. The latter, likewise in the second half, with no reserves and 39% possession. Two teams most pundits are tipping for the top 4.

Compete with them we can. With a fit and health squad I daresay we can beat either of them.

Throw SJ into the mix and I'm confident we can give it a good shake.

Do I think we'll win it? No.

But I do think we're in with as good a shot as any outside the Rabbitohs, Storm and Rooters (though they're back to the field now).

As for whether Bomber can attract big names: ask Cam McInnes.

For me, the team has shown improvement under Bomber's direction. I also feel he has improved as a coach over that time.

I'd be happy to have Bellamy come in as coaching director and leave Bomber at the helm, but surround him with better support staff.

To get rid of him now, just as the juniors are starting to filter through, seems a little like throwing the baby out with the bath water to me.

DJDL

Oh and to add to that: Buzz is an idiot.
He's batting two for two with his "scoops" so far this year.

Round 1

Buzz: Cooper Cronk has an integrity issue. He's contracted as part of the Rooters' staff but is helping the Storm halves.

Cronk: You're an idiot.
Rooters: You're an idiot.
Storm: You're an idiot.

Round 2

Buzz: The Sea Eagles and Hasler are at logger heads and it looks like he might not get a new deal.

Manly: You're an idiot.
Hasler: You're an idiot.

If he told me the sky was blue I'd spend a loooooong time verifying it for myself before I accepted anything he said.

Oh and to add to that: Buzz is an idiot.
He's batting two for two with his "scoops" so far this year.

Round 1

Buzz: Cooper Cronk has an integrity issue. He's contracted as part of the Rooters' staff but is helping the Storm halves.

Cronk: You're an idiot.
Rooters: You're an idiot.
Storm: You're an idiot.

Round 2

Buzz: The Sea Eagles and Hasler are at logger heads and it looks like he might not get a new deal.

Manly: You're an idiot.
Hasler: You're an idiot.

If he told me the sky was blue I'd spend a loooooong time verifying it for myself before I accepted anything he said.
Cannot you see his MO when it comes to getting a story???
He continuously calls out the very wrong facts until someone comes in to correct him so he gets the said story.
I'm actually being serious here, it is exactly how he has operated for years.

fizman

I agree with my Mate DJDL.

This is what Bomber has had to work with from day one:

1.Reduced salary cap
2. No home ground
3. Loss of player talent - J. Morris, Prior, Xerri
4. Significant injury toll

I give Bomber a 10/10 for development - bringing young talent into the NRL.

I’m not yet convinced he is capable of taking a team all the way to a Premiership at this point, but I strongly believe he should be given an opportunity

If Bellamy is a “No”, I would be very happy to see Cronulla sign Bomber for the next 2-3 years.

DJDL

Cannot you see his MO when it comes to getting a story???
He continuously calls out the very wrong facts until someone comes in to correct him so he gets the said story.
I'm actually being serious here, it is exactly how he has operated for years.

I hadn’t actually noticed but now you mention it, you could be on to something.

The old News Corp journalism style 101

Did we get a sugar daddy come with lots of dollars?

As if we could afford Bellamy. He would not come cheap, rightly so, It is laughable speculation.

I would like to see him at the Titans.

As for Bomber, his love for 'his boys' like Chad, Williams is the only fault I see, it is hard to polish a turd.

Lots of the others young ones coming along nicely.

And no to Flanno.

snout

I beg to differ. We just competed with the Raiders and Eels in back to back weeks.
The former, after defending off line for the most part of the first half. The latter, likewise in the second half, with no reserves and 39% possession. Two teams most pundits are tipping for the top 4.

Compete with them we can. With a fit and health squad I daresay we can beat either of them.

But I do think we're in with as good a shot as any outside the Rabbitohs, Storm and Rooters (though they're back to the field now).

For me, the team has shown improvement under Bomber's direction. I also feel he has improved as a coach over that time.

I'd be happy to have Bellamy come in as coaching director and leave Bomber at the helm, but surround him with better support staff.

To get rid of him now, just as the juniors are starting to filter through, seems a little like throwing the baby out with the bath water to me.
Im not saying either way whether he should stay or go.
In fact if anybidy else comes in l believe it is crucial bomber is part of the joint.

But the fact theres a wait of a third of a season means someone has reservations.

Yep. We 'competed' with 2 top sides.
Did we win.
No.

And theres the reservations.

Hear hear

snout

Im gonna say bellamy is coming.
Im gonna say hes told us.
Im gonna say thats how the story got out and thats why Dino was quick to confirm becuase the confirmation stopped buzz going further. That was a big enough story.
Im gonna say the fact we can compete with but not beat top 8 sides is bombers death knell. That alone means we go no further than week 1.
Im gonna say sponsors have been told - without all the details or mentioning any names - that there is a huge phoenix rising frim Shark Park next year and get on board now. The smarter ones may have read between the lines or got a wink and a nudge because there was a week or 2 of companies signing on - around the time of bellamys name being mentioned.
Im gonna say the week 8 thing is to take heat off bomber but to also apply pressure to the same bloke. If therss a week 8 announcement it will be that the club is going in a different direction in '22. No way will bellamy confirm this early in the Storms year.
This is all guesswork - but lm still saying it.

SharkShocked

Im not saying either way whether he should stay or go.
In fact if anybidy else comes in l believe it is crucial bomber is part of the joint.

But the fact theres a wait of a third of a season means someone has reservations.

Yep. We 'competed' with 2 top sides.
Did we win.
No.

And theres the reservations.

Guess we should have sacked Flanno after his first two years while he hadn't built the squad he wanted either hey. After all, we didn't compete with the top teams, just floundered around and dropped out of the finals week 1.

Ridiculous notion given what Bomber has had to put up with. Guess you'd prefer to have madge and be playing like the Tigers.

2012....Sharks Year

I reckon Bellyache is 100 to 1 to come here.... hope I’m wrong. I agree at the very least Bomber needs to be kept on in some capacity. I would also be happy for him to be given another 2 years based on how many of these juniors he’s turned into first graders. The improvement of Will Kennedy and even Teig Wilton last night are further examples. He deserves the chance to add some classy players to the talent he has already bought through. The fact we’ve stayed competitive while we’re going through this rebuilding stage is a credit to Bomber imo.

snout

Guess we should have sacked Flanno after his first two years while he hadn't built the squad he wanted either hey. After all, we didn't compete with the top teams, just floundered around and dropped out of the finals week 1.

Ridiculous notion given what Bomber has had to put up with. Guess you'd prefer to have madge and be playing like the Tigers.
Yeah nah youre reading it wrong.
Nowhere did l say l want bomber punted.
Like you lm reading between the lines and like you l might be putting 2 and 2 together and coming up with 7.

Bombers a great bloke.
Hes very smart.
He knows the game.
Hes a very good coach because he has improved blokes games - kennedy is an example - and hes turned our defence around 180 degrees.
Do the club want him.
In my opinion no.

I'd say we're a very long shot to land Bellamy. But, if he does choose to sign with us then obviously we'd have to agree to his preferred coaching appointment. In which case, I hope Bomber may be Bellyache's preference. I want to see what Bomber can do given enough time and an even financial playing field.

shadowboxer

Morris would tick most boxes you would assume to fit into Bellamy’s structure one would assume,, but who knows.
Maybe his chad love would be a negative but on most, he would be a great candidate to work with

R-15-3

Just give him 1-2 year deal with a Bellamy clause that allows us to part ways if Bellamy comes to the club in some way.
Gives us a bit of security in knowing we have something sorted 1 way or the other.

TRIALS

Bellamy is f**king slim at best.

Unpopular opinion but i want Flanno back.

If that doesn't happen, then i think Morris deserves another 2 years.

Weaponhead

The bigger issue is the club's strategy. We have seen the commercial strategy come together with the development, kareela and sponsorship. The football strategy is in development with Bellamy being a key target to lead that process.

For Morris, his role in the football strategy seems dependent on the Coaching Director appointment. Morris has shown the he is a very good development coach. He has brought through good players and improved younger, less established players.

The question mark is can he mold a squad that can win a comp. To do that he needs to show that he can recruit and get the best out of high quality players. In fairness, he has had limited opportunity to recruit due to the shit show he inherited. He has had mixed results getting consistent high quality out of the big names in the squad.

I think Morris has done a good job considering the issues he has to deal with. If Bellamy joins then he could develop the hard edge needed to go to the next level. If not, presumably the club has other targets for the Coaching Director role.

By going after Bellamy, Dino is showing an ambition that is a welcome change. Long term fans have been desperately hoping the front office would be competently run. Getting the commercial side on track gives hope that the football side of the club can be consistently successful. Hopefully, there are bright days ahead.

Im gonna say bellamy is coming.
Im gonna say hes told us.
Im gonna say thats how the story got out and thats why Dino was quick to confirm becuase the confirmation stopped buzz going further. That was a big enough story.
Im gonna say the fact we can compete with but not beat top 8 sides is bombers death knell. That alone means we go no further than week 1.
Im gonna say sponsors have been told - without all the details or mentioning any names - that there is a huge phoenix rising frim Shark Park next year and get on board now. The smarter ones may have read between the lines or got a wink and a nudge because there was a week or 2 of companies signing on - around the time of bellamys name being mentioned.
Im gonna say the week 8 thing is to take heat off bomber but to also apply pressure to the same bloke. If therss a week 8 announcement it will be that the club is going in a different direction in '22. No way will bellamy confirm this early in the Storms year.
This is all guesswork - but lm still saying it.
You are saying The Messiah is coming

snout

The stars aligned for bellamy at storm.
A young smith cronk slater and inglis and a total buy-in from the first 3 in whatever rules regs and expectations he laid out.
They are intelligent. They are cleanskins.
They drove the culture that bellamy knew would be successful.
To their advantage they are a 1 team city in a state where arent the no.1 game and used that very cleverly to their advantage.

How does all that transfer to the Sharks.
Whos our club leaders to drive the message home and demand accountability?
Because if anybdy thinks bellamy just walking in the front gate and the magic happens....think again.
Bomber would be a perfect foil for bellyache