Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brad Ottens

meltiger

What you reckon Kev?

Hottest trade prospect ever as Greg Miller has stated or lazy dis-interested footballer only playing for the money as some within the Richmond supporter base believe?

What you think we can expect for him?

CyberKev

Hmmm...

Miller is laying it on thick by referring to Ottens as the hottest trade prospect ever, but it isd his job to talk things up out at the Punt.

I don't mind Ottens, but he certainly hasn't come on in line with heightened expectations from a few years ago. That being said, he does have ability and carries value as a player who can perform in the ruck and up forward.

The problem for prospective suitor clubs is that he will carry a hefty price tag, and the problem for Richmond is that the sides that he is best suited to do not have a lot to offer trade wise.

Its already been mentioned that Sydney have proposed to trade Jason Saddington and their top pick, but the latter isn't particularly high overall and the former is coming off a nasty injury and carries considerable risk as a consequence.

Geelong and Collingwood would also be very keen, but neither could bring much to the table. The Magpies would probably run with top pick and Alan Didak, which may have appeal to the Tigers.

Hawthorn would always be interested in this type of player, particularly with Everitt getting on in years and allowing for the painfully mediocre state of our forward structure. His price tag would be a turn-off, however, and most Hawk fans would not want to see pick 5 used outside of the main draft. Aside from that, I can't see that Hawthorn would have a player that Richmond would require to add to the pick.

The Bulldogs would be exceedingly keen, especially given Eade's comments that he would rather get more experience into the side, as the club is already well endowed with young talent. Richmond really need quality talls though, and the Bulldogs are already light-on themselves in this area, and would probably only be able to offer picks 6 & 22.

Fremantle is looking to offload Troy Longmuir and Richmond may be happy with him and a second round pick ...

Sadly for you though, I think that (if Sydney can't get a deal up with Saddington) Essendon will most likely be Ottens new home. Knowing Sheedy he'll try and pull a deal that offers up Mark Bolton & Damian Cupido for him. Hopefully Miller & Co will use extreme caution and then some if they choose to get down and dirty in the trading pit with the Bombers...

Will be interesting...

CyberKev

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Sadly for you though, I think that (if Sydney can't get a deal up with Saddington) Essendon will most likely be Ottens new home. Knowing Sheedy he'll try and pull a deal that offers up Mark Bolton & Damian Cupido for him. Hopefully Miller & Co will use extreme caution and then some if they choose to get down and dirty in the trading pit with the Bombers...

Will be interesting...

CyberKev

Millers pretty much stated early draft picks must be ionvolved, Essendon are going to have to come to the party on that score.

What about luring Simmonds over from Freo?

CyberKev

meltiger said:
CyberKev said:

Will be interesting...

CyberKev

Millers pretty much stated early draft picks must be ionvolved, Essendon are going to have to come to the party on that score.

I was thinking later than a Longmuir/Simmonds Freo double play may be to the Tigers liking, but if they're hellbent on securing early picks, it probably won't come off...

meltiger

CyberKev said:
meltiger said:
CyberKev said:

Will be interesting...

CyberKev

I was thinking later than a Longmuir/Simmonds Freo double play may be to the Tigers liking, but if they're hellbent on securing early picks, it probably won't come off...

I'm hearing Brisbane quite strongly this morning. If so it's good to see the retention allowance will be put to good use next year.....

meltiger

Question for you, do our clubs get one or two extra picks in the Oct/Nov draft?

(Argument at work)

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Question for you, do our clubs get one or two extra picks in the Oct/Nov draft?

(Argument at work)

1 extra for Richmond, Hawthorn & the Hounds.

These will be picks 1,2 & 3 in the overall draft and cannot be traded by the clubs possessing them.

No matter what else takes place over the next few weeks, the first 3 picks in the draft will run in that order.

The same clubs will also, of course, have picks 4,5 & 6, but these can be traded around in the lead-up to the draft (almost certainly will be in the Bulldogs case).

CyberKev

Actually, on a rethink, I think the picks operate the other way... ie. picks 4,5 & 6 are the priority picks and cannot be traded.

It must be this way, otherwise Fremantle would not have been able to trade pick 1 to Hawthorn in exchange for Croad/McPharlin in 2001...

I glad we (Cats) have picked him up.

We need key forwards tho, so thye'll have to convert Ottens or another ruckman, to a key forward.

I understand he is predominently a ruckman.

meltiger

Twizzle said:

No lol

He is one of the best kicks in the comp and can take a mark against almost anyone. Although he is a FF, not a CHF.

What Geelong need to train out of him though is his tremedous ability to pull heart string muscles.

It's his biggest injury problem ...

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Twizzle said:

No lol

He is one of the best kicks in the comp and can take a mark against almost anyone. Although he is a FF, not a CHF.

What Geelong need to train out of him though is his tremedous ability to pull heart string muscles.

Were I unkind I could pass similar advice on to the Kangaroo faithful regarding Thompson :p

meltiger

CyberKev said:
meltiger said:
Twizzle said:

No lol

Were I unkind I could pass similar advice on to the Kangaroo faithful regarding Thompson :p

The sad thing is, they are both potentially amazing players.

Don't get me wrong, I wish Brad all the best, I do now doubt his desire to be the best he can be in the game though - This year he dominated the ruck in most of our games, yet for anything other than the bounces was essentially useless to us. I mean if when Everitt dominates in the way Otto did this year in the ruck, he is one of Hawthorn's BOG's. It's just sad to see a player of such immense potential being so far from realising it - in 2001 he was close but since his injury has gone steadilly backwards and should have been dropped with Bowdo earlier in the year.

What pisses me off so much is Bowdo took the criticism of himself on board and is now being touted as 2005 club captain (Will be Johnson) but to redeem yourself to such an extent to our rabid supporter base is truely a worthy acheivement. It saddens me that Ottens couldn't do the same.

So what you are saying, he will make a good full forward, cause he is not mobile enough to play CHF or Ruck.

I've never seen him play.

meltiger

Twizzle said:
So what you are saying, he will make a good full forward, cause he is not mobile enough to play CHF or Ruck.

I've never seen him play.

You could say he's not Jonathon Brown, yes. He doesn't have the weight to be a champion CHF. But he does have the raw ability to be a champion FF or Ruckman.

Whether he ever achieves that though is in the lap of the gods.

CyberKev

Hey, Craig.

What do you think of the idea of Richmond using a lower pick to draft Mark Graham?

I must say, on a side note, that if Jeff Kennett was seriously interested in the Hawk presidency, I'm indeed disappointed that Dicker hasn't stood aside and installed him.

I loathe Kennett, but his experience and business/corporate contacts would be invaluable, and he could really make things happen at the club.

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Hey, Craig.

What do you think of the idea of Richmond using a lower pick to draft Mark Graham?

Not 100% sure mate. Even though we would only get 1 maybe 2 years out of him we have the immediate issue of NO tall backmen. I'd probably run with him if still there after pick 60 in the National Draft. They need to keep the #1 PSD pick for Patrick Bowden - I don't care what the Dog tragics may say (Cupid ;-) ) but the it's a family thing, Joel has really come through to the point where he could potentially be named club captain for 2005 ... We need to get the only member of that family not to pull on a Richmond guernsey to the club.

If they ran with Graham over Bowden i'd be highly dissapointed.

CyberKev said:
I must say, on a side note, that if Jeff Kennett was seriously interested in the Hawk presidency, I'm indeed disappointed that Dicker hasn't stood aside and installed him. I loathe Kennett, but his experience and business/corporate contacts would be invaluable, and he could really make things happen at the club.

You don't need a social policy to run a footy club in todays corporate environment - ie: The one thing you couldn't fault the great man ;-) on was his business credentials. Kennett would be awesome for the club!

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Not 100% sure mate.
They need to keep the #1 PSD pick for Patrick Bowden
If they ran with Graham over Bowden i'd be highly dissapointed.

You don't need a social policy to run a footy club in todays corporate environment - ie: The one thing you couldn't fault the great man ;-) on was his business credentials. Kennett would be awesome for the club!

Richmond would only consider taking Graham with their 5th pick down in the major draft, with pick 6 being the most likely.

Patrick Bowden will almost certainly be taken number 1 by the Tigers (who wouldn't contemplate taking Graham at 1 in the PSD). I'm hoping that Stephen Salopek from Port nominates so that he can be taken at 2. More likely is that Hawthorn will take Cain Ackland, assuming that:

1) They don't use pick 7 (please God, NO!) on a tall rucking type; or even pick 20 or 26 for that matter.
2) They don't snare Ackland in the earlier draft with a lower pick
3) Somebody else doesn't punt on Ackland in the major draft

On the Kennett issue... You don't have to like your club president as nobody sews the president's name and number on to the back of their duffel coat. You need someone with a hard edge, a passion for the club, and excellent corporate credentials and contacts. Kennett has all of these, and I agree with you that he would be an inspired choice for a new top dog at Glenferrie.

CyberKev

meltiger

Do you think Graham is worth a late draft pick punt?

I wouldn't be suprised to see Patrick turn up at Richmond training the day after noms close for the PSD.