Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bring back Balmain

B_Tiger

blatant use of balmain with complete disregard for the name "wests tigers":

"'If I really had to go, I'd love to go to Balmain because I was a Balmain supporter as a kid,' he told Sydney radio 2KY today" -Phil Bailey.

why the hell did balmain agree to being called wests? It has killed us. Who cares about the f**king logo? In 50 years they'll prolly change it to something more marketable anyway. The area of the club defines a club. We are defined by ug boot wearing westie doll bludgers and that crappy radio station c91.3 or whatever which no one but bloody westies listen to because the station is total shit and as such it only is meant to appeal to f**king westies.

god damn it! Not only does our club suck but it isn't even really our club anymore. And our shitty f**king jerseys!!! And our non-existant fans and non existant spirit. It makes you want to throw it all in sometimes. This is shit. f**king bulldogs get their f**king club for selling rugby league out and all of us get screwed. I hope the NRL dies and we are left with a small sydney comp where rugby league can once again be at it's best. f**k that crap. We shouldn't have to put up with this bullshit. seriously. Don't dismiss Yappy and tigger because they disagree, compromise isn't acceptable. Half of a club isn't good enough. They are right, our boards were gutless, they sold out, they killed our clubs. Look at what we are left with! Nothing but f**king scraps!

Once Dead

I didnt read your post.......but i agree that the name was a mistake........

It should have been Balmain-Wests United........and you would have lost a minimal amount of fans.....and some people who can't support the Wests Tigers might have been able to stomach supporting the merged identity....

And for whoever says it sounds too much like a soccer team, just look at Parra's new cutting edge soccer jerseys.....also, how about Burwood United? (now Burwood-Concord) Didn't one of Balmain's fav sons Mr Brasher come from a junior team of that name?

Seriously.....the name is one of those important things that should have been thought out.....and we could of had a jersey with the hoops of white, orange and black.....much like the team of the century......and we wouldn't have looked like hypocrites sponging off the history of the single entities that make up the merger because we would have actively shown that we valued the areas and the history of the teams........

BALMAIN-WESTS UNITED.......it was the only way to go

B_Tiger

I agre imp... that would have been the way to go. That wasn't the way they went though and we are stuck with the wests tigers. We are hypocrites, as you say. We did kill our clubs. We thought "f**k yeah, let's be succesfull" and we got ourselves a trendy little logo with a flashy looking jersey and we sold our clubs out. The boards that made those decisions are still there, still running our clubs. That is crap. Our fans are far too apathetic, we haven't done anything and yet both our clubs are being run straight into the ground. The dumbarses at wests say "let's make this thing bigger" to solve their problems while Balmain fans simply reckon nothing would work and as such try nothing. Both clubs reckon they are going to be in the shits for a while to come and what do they change? sweet f**k all! That isn't good enough, that is f**king terrible.

Once Dead

B_Tiger said:
I agre imp... that would have been the way to go. That wasn't the way they went though and we are stuck with the wests tigers. We are hypocrites, as you say. We did kill our clubs. We thought "f**k yeah, let's be succesfull" and we got ourselves a trendy little logo with a flashy looking jersey and we sold our clubs out. The boards that made those decisions are still there, still running our clubs. That is crap. Our fans are far too apathetic, we haven't done anything and yet both our clubs are being run straight into the ground. The dumbarses at wests say "let's make this thing bigger" to solve their problems while Balmain fans simply reckon nothing would work and as such try nothing. Both clubs reckon they are going to be in the shits for a while to come and what do they change? sweet f**k all! That isn't good enough, that is f***ing terrible.

Balmain fans are in a coma....well most.....they don't care anymore.....and i can say i've probably become one of those........but there are still guys out there, especially on A View From the Hill who are maintaining the rage like you........the thing is, you need numbers.....and how do you get that?........and what happens if this year is actually successful?

Lets block off Victoria Rd and barricade all entrances to "Tigers" (ITS THE BALMAIN LEAGUES CLUB, NOT 'TIGERS' DAMMIT!).....that's the only way to get ppl, especially the boards to wake up........

B_Tiger

Impellitteri said:
B_Tiger said:
I agre imp... that would have been the way to go. That wasn't the way they went though and we are stuck with the wests tigers. We are hypocrites, as you say. We did kill our clubs. We thought "f**k yeah, let's be succesfull" and we got ourselves a trendy little logo with a flashy looking jersey and we sold our clubs out. The boards that made those decisions are still there, still running our clubs. That is crap. Our fans are far too apathetic, we haven't done anything and yet both our clubs are being run straight into the ground. The dumbarses at wests say "let's make this thing bigger" to solve their problems while Balmain fans simply reckon nothing would work and as such try nothing. Both clubs reckon they are going to be in the shits for a while to come and what do they change? sweet f**k all! That isn't good enough, that is f***ing terrible.

Balmain fans are in a coma....well most.....they don't care anymore.....and i can say i've probably become one of those........but there are still guys out there, especially on A View From the Hill who are maintaining the rage like you........the thing is, you need numbers.....and how do you get that?........and what happens if this year is actually successful?

Lets block off Victoria Rd and barricade all entrances to "Tigers" (ITS THE BALMAIN LEAGUES CLUB, NOT 'TIGERS' DAMMIT!).....that's the only way to get ppl, especially the boards to wake up........

no, I'm like all the other fans. I'm content to watch my club die. We should all be doing something and I'm sure there would be support for change from every single balmain supporter. It's just something we all want someone else to do. It's f**king crap and it needs to change though. I'm sick of putting up with terrible decisions.

Once Dead

B_Tiger said:
Impellitteri said:
B_Tiger said:

no, I'm like all the other fans. I'm content to watch my club die. We should all be doing something and I'm sure there would be support for change from every single balmain supporter. It's just something we all want someone else to do. It's f***ing crap and it needs to change though. I'm sick of putting up with terrible decisions.

Well it looks like you're putting your hand up for the top job to lead the troops in ur post!

westie

If we had gone with Balmain instead of Wests our area would include a small inner city suburb with hardly any actual supporters and SFA juniors. On the other hand theres a shit load of westies out macarthur way,h who play good footy and pay cash to watch the footy.

tigger

westie said:
If we had gone with Balmain instead of Wests our area would include a small inner city suburb with hardly any actual supporters and SFA juniors. On the other hand theres a sh*t load of westies out macarthur way,h who play good footy and pay cash to watch the footy.

SFA Juniors???? :roll: :roll:

Quality not quantity.

Once Dead

westie said:
If we had gone with Balmain instead of Wests our area would include a small inner city suburb with hardly any actual supporters and SFA juniors. On the other hand theres a sh*t load of westies out macarthur way,h who play good footy and pay cash to watch the footy.

Thats why Balmain-Wests United solves all problems.........and eliminates all bias and possible alienation

tigger

Anyway, this post is exactly what every single BALMAIN fans needs to read & think about. I cannot understand the concept of forgetting 91 years of glory to sell yourself out with a club that we have nothing in common with except they were foundation members. Western Suburbs got a lot better deal out of the JV than Balmain did, they were gone regardless of what business analysts like westie will tell you. We threw them a rope and they climbed on board like a hitch hiker that rapes and kills the person that gave them the lift in the first place...... Balmain got shafted, yes we may have not been in the NRL today, but as a football club we had decent corporate support from Meriton that will not be there whilst Balmain are 50% of the JV. The people that decided to turn their backs on Balmain are the killers of the club. If everyone had not accepted the JV, it would have folded with the first season. But like lambs to the slaughter, so many listened to the bullsh1t sprouted by Chalk & Munk. I challenge any former or current Balmain supporter to provide a viable list of the benefits we received from joining the JV????

In 2005 it will be last year of a very very dark period for Balmain Tigers DRLFC...... All i hope for is that by the time my son is 5, he will be asking about some club that folded that used to occassionally play where Balmain now plays....

GO BALMAIN, f**k THE REST.

Lochie

Is the trigger for this the comments made by Phil Bailey, or are you looking for another way to bring up an old argument using any means possible to justify it?

If its the first, read the name again. Its Phil Bailey. Phil Bailey. A name synonomous with being over rated. I mean, would you really want him? He's Kimmorley in another skin.

As for bringing up an old argument, aren't we merely treading over old ground? I mean, respect must be shown for the past, for sure, and bad decisions may or may not have been made. We can debate on that to infinite, but the blatant fact is the decision has been made. Kick, scream, yell, swear, the decisions have been made. Focus on making a change if it means that much to you.

As always, merely my opinion.

Red Bear

Benny Elias would certainly love to see the Tigers back. As would I. But first i would like my Mighty Bears back thank you very much, the most screwed team of all.

Once Dead

GoTheBears said:
Benny Elias would certainly love to see the Tigers back. As would I. But first i would like my Mighty Bears back thank you very much, the most screwed team of all.

Benny should stick to managing that wannabe INXS replacement front man......he has alterior motives....he got on the board and the first moment he got there he said "Sorry, Balmain can't stand alone" - even though he used that catch cry to gain election......moneeeeeeeeey

magpiemax

Quality not quantity
i have noted over time that people with a small penis usually say this line and it certainly applies here with tugger.
but in regard to this thread :"why be called wests and not balmain?"
simple cause its no longer balmain."the area of the club defies a club?"
this defies an area wests tigers.wests=WESTERN SUBURBS.
tigers is affiliated with BALMAIN.
anyway thats your opinion and thats the way you feel and i respect that.
but i hope for 2 things
(a)your not brain washed by tugger whom is not exactly tactful.
(b)you dont hop on the band wagon soon as wests tigers make the 8 next year cause i have a long memory and remember threads like this.

Once Dead

magpiemax said:
Quality not quantity
i have noted over time that people with a small penis usually say this line and it certainly applies here with tugger.
Whenever people sound as assertive as you when making statements like that are actually speaking from personal experience......but in regard to this thread :"why be called wests and not balmain?"
simple cause its no longer balmain."the area of the club defies a club?"
this defies an area wests tigers.wests=WESTERN SUBURBS.
tigers is affiliated with BALMAIN.
anyway thats your opinion and thats the way you feel and i respect that.
but i hope for 2 things
(
a)your not brain washed by tugger whom is not exactly tactful.
And your quote above was tactful?
(b)you dont hop on the band wagon soon as wests tigers make the 8 next year cause i have a long memory and remember threads like this.
You seriously have to be sad to remember threads posted by aliases......

magpiemax

yeah....maybe your correct and maybe i am sad
but not half as sad as people who continue to get on this forum
and bring up issues that have been loitering around since the JV's inception back in 1999. i mean all jokes aside how many times has tugger posted something bad regarding the JV? and me and my family laugh. and think why does this attention seeking fool get on this forum? he should get on the jets forum and stay there!
look my passion has always been western suburbs magpies and i am currently and always will be a voting member,but as i have stated in the past i have decided to move with the times and not deprive my kids from following a footy team that perhaps one day may even be a success.
so my friend if that makes me a sad person "so be it." :(

King Tigerman

GoTheBears said:

now you can wake up & get back to reality

BALMAIN ARENT COMING BACK I HAVE LEARNED TO LIVE WITH IT BUT SADLY THERE IS A SMALL MINORITY WHO DONT BELIEVE IT , ALSO TUGGER WHEN YOURE SON IS PLAYING IN THE EASTS JUNIORS BECAUE BALMAIN DONT EXIST YOU CAN TELL HIM WHY , BECAUSE TOU CAN NOT LOOK INTO THE FUTURE YOU & YOURE BUDDY YAPPY LIVE IN A WORLD OF MAKEBELIEVE YOU THINK THE CURRENT REDEVELOPMENT OF THE MCG IS FOR THE 1956 OLYMPICS , YOU THINK THE MATCH OF THE DAY IN ROUND 1 WILL BE BETWEEN ANNANDALE & GLEBE

King Tigerman

GoTheBears said:

BALMAIN ARENT COMING BACK I HAVE LEARNED TO LIVE WITH IT BUT SADLY THERE IS A SMALL MINORITY WHO DONT BELIEVE IT , ALSO TUGGER WHEN YOURE SON IS PLAYING IN THE EASTS JUNIORS BECAUE BALMAIN DONT EXIST YOU CAN TELL HIM WHY , BECAUSE TOU CAN NOT LOOK INTO THE FUTURE YOU & YOURE BUDDY YAPPY LIVE IN A WORLD OF MAKEBELIEVE YOU THINK THE CURRENT REDEVELOPMENT OF THE MCG IS FOR THE 1956 OLYMPICS , YOU THINK THE MATCH OF THE DAY IN ROUND 1 WILL BE BETWEEN ANNANDALE & GLEBE

King Tigerman

GoTheBears said: