Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bring Back Deano - The Buck STARTS Here

Shark

Well guys, how about it?

He wouldn't earn much, probably a small, token match payments if that.

Hell, if we all chucked in a few bucks each game, we could leave some dough in a brown paper bag at his house each week...

We need something to brighten up our Sharkies Christmas, how about Deano in a Santa sack?

Then again, if Bailey makes good on his promise, there might be some room under the cap!

Foz

I dont know about Deano but the chances of a return by the Rat would shorten considerabley. Hope theres a positive out of this sick and sorry mess.

Shark

Well, I'd have my money on Dean returning, but I wouldn't back Matty. He's travelling down a road that he seems happy with, while Deano met with lots of potholes...most of which were probably caused by the SCUD missiles his former coach was firing along in front of him!

Foz

When's that Union contract up? Dad might have a very big say in this. People can deny it until they are blue in the face but it still remains a goal of Rogers-to win a premiership at the Sharks. I doubt we were any chance while Ando was here but I think we might be back in with a show.

i reckon deano will come back

and after rat's woeful world cup i wouldnt be surprised if the ARU wanted him gone - but i wouldnt put my money on it

Frenzy

The club has just taken a massive retrograde step.

We don't need them to take more by trying to resurrect yesterday's heroes.

I expect Ando will fight this and while that is a possibility I wouldn't want anyone coming back who are only gonna have to leave again if he has a successful court action that may even include reinstatement.

Don't forget people it's not over till the fat lady sings.

Forward is the only way to go

cheese

On the subject of hookers.

I saw gibbo at tradies on friday night(ando jr and that nuff youngquest seem to still be in the clique btw) and he seems to have put on about 10 kegs.

Maybe its just from all the piss in his guts from a hard off-season, but he looked a helluva lot more robust and daunting than he did mid-season.

Make of what you will ..... but i always thought that if he slapped on a few kegs he'd be sensational.

ali

Foz said:
When's that Union contract up? Dad might have a very big say in this. People can deny it until they are blue in the face but it still remains a goal of Rogers-to win a premiership at the Sharks. I doubt we were any chance while Ando was here but I think we might be back in with a show.

I'd say now we are a far better chance now. I can't remember but was Rogers one of the blokes who always used to list Raper as his biggest career influence. For a while there half the side used to.

Fact remains we still need a goalkicker and probably will have a free spot at fullback for 2005. Dave Simmons is going to be good, but he can easily be shifted elsewhere for the return of the rat.

Shark

Frenzy, Anderson will NOT be back in any capacity at Cronulla, surely you must realise that.

Sure, the fat lady hasn't sung, but the only two possible outcomes of any court action are:

Anderson recieves a payout; or
Anderson doesn't recieve a payout.

End of story.

It's a sad tale of woe, but Chris Anderson will have no further part in the on-field future of the Sharks as a coach. Sure, if he takes Bailey somewhere he could hurt us, and if he gets a coaching gig elsewhere and plays against us he could have some role in our destiny, but as a member of the Sharks team, his days are over.

Dean may have played his best football some years ago. But hell, Langer rose from the dead, and Fittler had his strongest season in years recently. Old blokes can get a kick along in the right circumstance.

But, even if he is past his prime, look at our squad for 2004, and tell me Dean Treister is not capable of holding a spot in the 17 week to week on his merits.

Get him on board, we're gonna need all the blood donors we can get next year, and I know who I want to see fronting the queue.

ali

BTW, in terms of football played last season, I thought Gibbo gave us more than Deano. He was shafted big time.

Morpheus

I think Gibson will benefit greatly from Andersons departure and we will see the best of him under a new coach.

Bosnich is not a hooker that fits the mould of any of the hookers raper used in the UK, both Gibson and Treister are though.

Treister would add much to the squad for sure, but I would like to see him return more for the fact that he deserves a better send off than the one he got mid year. He was good enough to be man of match in the NRL only 8 months ago, surely those who question his playing ability have not forgotten that ?

However I would prefer to see Gibson given a better go under a new coach.

beerboy

if memory serves me correct, up to his sacking Deano was leading or top 2 in the Shark Den player of the year points

I'm sure Kimmorley would love to see him back. NOT! Wouldn't be great Treister linking up with old mate Raper and trying to put a power struggle with Kimmorley. Show him who's boss again eh? :roll:

Swapping Treister for Bailey = Stupidity

Comparing Treister to Langer or Fittler = Stupidity

Getting Treister back alongside Noddy = Stupidity

I loved Deano just as much but he is gone, let go people. Rogers won't be back for atleast another 4 years either and why would we want him then.

I agree with Frenzy, the only way is forward.

shadowboxer

I htought the whole idea was to start fresh and go forward. Bringing back bean would be ill fated, sorry but "a power struggle with kimmorley", you must be kidding, deano played with plenty of heart but he has had it. I think the only time youll see him is in the stands or maybe dressed up as a mascot.

Simo

Man some people forget very quickly.

Treister played some great footy before his fallout and release.

The weekend before it all happened the Sunday footy show had a specail on him. He was one of the Sharks most consistent players.

Anderson thought a change might help the poor start but he sacked one of the only players who had heart and consistency.

If Anderson complains of not getting a fair go, and maybe he didnt, Tresiter sure wasnt given a fair go either.

Many have had fallouts with Anderson, just because Tresiter had one doesnt mean he was suddenyl a crap player and of no use.

millersnose

great post simo

treister a has been?

lol

his lest 1st grade appearence for the sharks was a man of the match standard

and only a few months back