Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

BRISBANE CAN'T PLAY!

Fireclown

Let's have a singalong. 'Brisbane Can't Play' would be an excellent choice after Brisbane were beaten by 3 Saints first grade players and 9 lower grade players. :D

Blade

Mystery Man said:
Saint George don't exist.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Anyway...

Dragons hooker Mark Riddell piloted the ball between the posts from over 40 metres out following a dubious offside penalty from referee Tim Mander.

I' didn't see the game. How much of the above statement from Sportal is correct?

Ahhh.. blaming the ref... Brisbane lad Timmy Mander gave you blokes every chance and then some... I can't wait to read tomorrow's Brissie press.
Broncos can't play.... :lol:

Beat you twice this year boys...
32-16
26-25

Kaz

junior
We can only play well against the Dragons is Grand Finals. :lol:

Kaz said:
We can only play well against the Dragons is Grand Finals. :lol:
ouch. touche. ;-)

I was watching the game on the big screen at the Grand Hotel on the Gold Coast, and a good section of the room stopped when Riddell put that ball over the cross bar.

Never ceases to amaze me how many St George supporters are in SE Qld... or maybe its just that most folk on the GC dislike the Broncos... or maybe both.

In any case, a big cheer came up when Saints won. After that it was simply time for another beer. :D

Kaz

junior

I was looking for the Brisbane Based Dragon supporters at the game, I couldn't see them.

Unless my eyes were playing up.

You guys have a lot of support at the games in Brisbane.

Hope other saints fans don't take offence to the GF post, but I have to fight fire with fire. :?

You guys deserved to win, with the team you had.

I knew Riddell would kick the goal & I had my eyes closed. :evil:

Kaz said:

I was looking for the Brisbane Based Dragon supporters at the game, I couldn't see them.

Unless my eyes were playing up.

You guys have a lot of support at the games in Brisbane.

Hope other saints fans don't take offence to the GF post, but I have to fight fire with fire. :?

You guys deserved to win, with the team you had.

I knew Riddell would kick the goal & I had my eyes closed. :evil:
It was just about his range... 42metres? I don't think he has kicked that far since I've been watching him.

I never take offence to friendly banter. Its all good. :D

While watching the game, I noticed a lot of shots of Saints supporters so it was a healthy turnout all round. I recognised a few at faces from Sydney and good on them.

The Queensland St George Illawarra Supporters Group also has a good portion of members but I'm sure they were outnumbered by their interstate colleagues.

ReplicatedGod

im a Knights supporter and i even loved watching the Dragons ruin the Broncos. It was beautiful to see them get a 7 match losing streak. Brilliant Broncos, your brilliant :mrgreen: :badgrin: \\:D/ :lol: (just checking out these emotions as well, i also meen them towards this thread)

Mad Dogg

Blade said:
Dragons hooker Mark Riddell piloted the ball between the posts from over 40 metres out following a dubious offside penalty from referee Tim Mander.

I' didn't see the game. How much of the above statement from Sportal is correct?
There was nothing dubious about it. On the replay you could see that Berrigan was 2 metres offside.

But we should have had a try earlier. :evil: Frawley almost stuffed it up, but he still managed to get his fingers on to the ball while it was on the ground. But of course, the video ref said no try.

Blade said:

Even Brisbane's Sunday Mail (well known for bias to anything Broncos), had no problem with the rulings. To be honest I expected there to be a series of excuses... but even though the paper gave very little credit to the efforts of Saints, it does looks like the Brissie press are being relatively gracious in defeat... for a change.

All they could talk about was how the Broncos have hit 'an all time low.'

In his column today, Trevor Gilmeister said it like it was and imo, has the right attitude in regards to this match. Regardless of what else is said, the words of this former Bronco are far superior to any ref blaming. Indeed, he is on a dfferent planet when compared to how the Gummy Sharks handle losing a game.

Gilmeister opened his column by describing it as: 'the worst defeat in the club's history.'

He gave credit to St George and re-quoted Nathan Brown when he described Saints as "a reserve grade team with a couple of big names thrown in."

Gilmeister said: "When you have 12 players with State of Origin or Test experience and you lose to a reserve grade team with two Origin players thrown in, something is very wrong.

"Remember how everyone carried on when the 'Baby Broncos' beat the Wests Tigers last year?

"Great effort, sure, but that team still had some guys like Scott Prince, Brad Meyers, and Stuart Kelly in there to pad out the numbers... everyone was elated when the Broncos got up that night but the Dragons' win was a much better victory than what the Baby Broncos did at Campbelltown.

"When you look at the magnitude of the game and compare the level of experience between the 2002 Tigers and the 2003 Broncos, those young Dragons should walk away from this season with their heads held high.

"It is no comparison. The Dragons' win far outweighs the Baby Broncos' win."

Kiwi

Willow said:
Blade said:

Even Brisbane's Sunday Mail (well known for bias to anything Broncos), had no problem with the rulings. To be honest I expected there to be a series of excuses... but even though the paper gave very little credit to the efforts of Saints, it does looks like the Brissie press are being relatively gracious in defeat... for a change.

In his column today, Trevor Gilmeister said it like it was and imo, has the right attitude in regards to this match. Regardless of what else is said, the words of this former Bronco are far superior to any ref blaming. Indeed, he is on a dfferent planet when compared to how the Gummy Sharks handle losing a game.

Gilmeister opened his column by describing it as: 'the worst defeat in the club's history.'

He gave credit to St George and re-quoted Nathan Brown when he described Saints as "a reserve grade team with a couple of big names thrown in."

Gilmeister said: "When you have 12 players with State of Origin or Test experience and you lose to a reserve grade team with two Origin players thrown in, something is very wrong.

"Remember how everyone carried on when the 'Baby Broncos' beat the Wests Tigers last year?

"Great effort, sure, but that team still had some guys like Scott Prince, Brad Meyers, and Stuart Kelly in there to pad out the numbers... everyone was elated when the Broncos got up that night but the Dragons' win was a much better victory than what the Baby Broncos did at Campbelltown.

"When you look at the magnitude of the game and compare the level of experience between the 2002 Tigers and the 2003 Broncos, those young Dragons should walk away from this season with their heads held high.

There can be no excuses mate, the Broncos lost to a team they should have flogged by 30. They have lost to the Sharks, Tigers and Manly, all teams they should have flogged, but they didn't, and thats the bottom line. IF the Broncos make the final 8 they will have to improve 200% to not get flogged themselves in the first week of the play offs.

No worries Kiwi.

I'm still looking for this 'dubious penalty' that Sportal were talking about.
Some people just have no idea I guess.

Blade

Willow said:
Blade said:

Thanks Willow.

Since my post I'm reading similar stories around the news hosts.

:cry:

Rocky Maivia

slippery eel said:
What about Tallis!. i thought he was going to cry after the game. 8)

I just about did. Lockyer kicked the field goal with 5 minutes on the clock and I was so happy. I know we didn't play well all game, but a win is a win, and I have no doubt that it would have injected a bit of fuel into the Broncos. Then Riddell was awarded a shot at goal. I laughed. He lined up the kick. He got it. I cried. (Well nearly). I was shattered, and I bet every other Broncos fan would have been too.

Mad Dogg

As soon as Riddell lined up the kick I knew it was going over. It was just one of those moments where you could tell it was going to make it. If the result hadn't hinged on it he would've missed for sure, but, all credit to him, he excelled under the pressure rather than bowing beneath it.

I had the chance to watch the game again tonight and did a bit of lip reading...

The Broncos were leading 22-18 and trying to deliver the knock-out punch to Saints. But it wasnt happenng and they were meeting some pretty stern resistence.

Gorden Tallis, while back-peddling into the defensive line was talking to himself, as he does, and with about 20 minutes to go he said, 'this can't be happening...'

I'm sure he was referring to the situation at hand... that is, why was it that they were battling (at home) against a bunch of kids?