Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Broncos r11.

I'm Hornby

Lids is our weapon, for sure.
Would he be as effective though if playing 80mins?
We wouldn't know because the coach hasn't given him a chance to show what he can do over the 80 mins.

Just because that doubt exists doesn't mean it's not worth trying, Cook doesn't offer much at all and is/was a silly signing.

Dea

Great win today. Listened while driving through Tassie and was concerned at half time and never really confident during the second half, even when up by 10. It was great to get home and then watch the game knowing we won and stuck it to Ben what’s-his-name!
Overall, pleased with the second half effort and them going the distance and not loosing their way as they have in recent years.
I liked having Liddle and Cook on together. Seemed to give us some speed around the ruck i would be happy to see them both on the field like this more often. Cook appeared to play like our 7 but also offered a bit as a running forward.
Our actual no 7 is still very much a work in progress, and together with KFlanno they need to do and give us more. But a win going into a bye is good feeling!

be55

We wouldn't know because the coach hasn't given him a chance to show what he can do over the 80 mins.

If that were the case, then fair enough...

But it's not the case because Liddle played 80 minutes in 15 games last year, and in many more he played over 65 minutes.

Nobody could be stupid enough not to realise that he is shining so brightly because he's coming on with the sting out of the game and playing fewer minutes than last year, and making fewer tackles, and keeping the freshness in his legs to utilise the speed he has for his running game, could they?

I'm not saying he can't play 80, he showed he could last year. But he's more effective playing fewer minutes and staying fresher. That should be obvious to anybody...

Get2dachopper!

A great effort from the boys. I still think Illias needs to come back into this team, even if it’s just for his defence. LKT is a bit shaky. I think coach got the Cook/Liddle interchange timing just about right for this game.

2010Dragons

As always Referee Sutton makes a massive error call with the forward pass call he should have seen he was right there!!
And the imposter referee ponytail Badger was in exact line with the 2 metre forward pass call.
How did they both miss this forward pass?

The games are orchestrated by the referees, hear me out...
Referee Sutton and the ponytail Badger miss the blatant forward pass in the first half.
Then the second half every 50-50 calls and rub of the green goes the Dragons way.
Don't you find it interesting that a referee can square up the dodge calls ledger as he chooses.
The referee can orchestrate the outcome of the game.
I'm not complaining about the square ups... but the games are not played on merit.
The gambling companies have taking over the games.

KingFlanno7

Really well earned W last night. It was good to see Cook and Gutho take it upon themselves abit when we lost our way. Kyle can't be our 6 or 7 going forward that was quite obvious last night. Liddle is an absolute must to resign but I am hearing he has already signed a deal with another club and it might be in the cooling off period. I'll give Flanno some credit the boys did fight hard in the 2nd half, but geez the Broncos are terrible. First coach sacked will be Madge followed by Obrien and Dessie so Flanno will be safe this year. Give him the benefit of the doubt and if we sneak in the finals and start next year stronger he will deserve an extension but in my opinion it's abit to early to judge based on how bad the opposition was last night. Maybe our run starts here? It will be a tough one but who knows what team will show up against the Knights.

KingFlanno7

As always Referee Sutton makes a massive error call with the forward pass call he should have seen he was right there!!
And the imposter referee ponytail Badger was in exact line with the 2 metre forward pass call.
How did they both miss this forward pass?

The games are orchestrated by the referees, hear me out...
Referee Sutton and the ponytail Badger miss the blatant forward pass in the first half.
Then the second half every 50-50 calls and rub of the green goes the Dragons way.
Don't you find it interesting that a referee can square up the dodge calls ledger as he chooses.
The referee can orchestrate the outcome of the game.
I'm not complaining about the square ups... but the games are not played on merit.
The gambling companies have taking over the games.
When you have clubs and stadiums sponsored by these companies and Vlandys up top you start to question it abit.. Those forward passes just can't be ignored they were as blatant as they come.

since77

I said earlier in the week I wasn’t watching the Dragons play for a while after last week. Then not long before kickoff yesterday my son just rocks up at the front door and says let’s watch the footy. Now I’ve just got home the day before from a week away and courtesy of a bad service station sandwich I’ve been throwing up with food poisoning all night and was planning on spending all day in bed. I’m not in the mood for him or the Dragons. So I throw the TV remote at him and give up and watch. How many times during the game did I say to my son - see - this is why I didn’t want to watch these guys?!?!
Then mid way through the second half, there are glimmers of hope. Then 10 points up. 4 minutes to go. I know my Dragons though. I get up and walk down the hallway and say , so I’ll tell you what happens next. Broncos short kick off, they regather the ball and score. Of course that happens. And then the Dragons hang on by their fingernails for the next few minutes. Bloody hell. This team.

I'm Hornby

If that were the case, then fair enough...

But it's not the case because Liddle played 80 minutes in 15 games last year, and in many more he played over 65 minutes.

Nobody could be stupid enough not to realise that he is shining so brightly because he's coming on with the sting out of the game and playing fewer minutes than last year, and making fewer tackles, and keeping the freshness in his legs to utilise the speed he has for his running game, could they?

I'm not saying he can't play 80, he showed he could last year. But he's more effective playing fewer minutes and staying fresher. That should be obvious to anybody...
You're neglecting the fact that only in 8 matches last year, did we not have a secondary dummy half on the bench.

So yes while Liddle played 80 in many games as you've stated, he was being used out of position as a lock/second row after starting at hooker for most of them.

So you've seen 8/24 games of Liddle being our sole dummy half and based on that you reckon it was worth going and signing a has been 33 year old and making him captain as well?

Think of the opportunity cost of the Cook signing, I'd much prefer we spent that money on getting some of the big name front rowers we missed out on, then Flanagan playing money ball and letting them go to other clubs.

If we gave Liddle a genuine go at 80 minutes at hooker (more than just 1/3 of a season) we might actually have a decent idea to make this judgment.

Looking at this you can see why Liddle would be thinking of moving on to another club where he might actually get used to his full potential, more rubbish retention from Fraudagan the wonder coach.

Lovemedragons

Why on earth was the game not stopped for Egan? It goes against all the safety protocols they have rightly implemented over the past few years AND it came out of the blue. Did he think Egan was faking? The ref was even about to restart the play with Egan still on the ground, after the ball had touched his prone body, but was finally convinced to hold play. It was nonsensical and Sutton should be required to explain his rationale.