Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bulldog game discussion.

blackberryman

What about the Hornby "nearly a try" ?

What was wrong there ? Weyman didn't knock it on, should have been play on, there was a try there.

As for indris's, even though eeewoo was not actively obstructing, he was loitering and not getting out of the way, and any contact like that is no try. If he wasn't there soward would have caught him, atleast interfered with him, what happens from there no one will ever know.

The bottom line is, we dominated everything so you can't say that we didn't deserve the win by 2 points.

And as someone mentioned, the dogs have gotten away with a few on us over the last years, so it's about time we got our own back.

Dragons for Premiers!!!!!!!!!!!!!:crazy:

Saintsman

Because the dogs made the worst defensive read of the year (Letting Creagh get through untouched. He was always going to get the ball) they didn't deserve to win. :)

LOYAL DRAGON

Karma. Sonny Dill scored in the last minute with a strip on a 2 man tackle last year or the year before. Everyone called that a dodgy decision then as well and the Dogs got away with it. This year the Dragons got the rub of the green.

Credit to the Dogs defence. The Dragons had enough ball in the 1st half to score $hit loads of points yet only scored 2. Was it good defence or poor attacking options? I would say a combination of both.

Geez it is frustrating watching Dragons dominate field position and possession yet not score points. They should give Head a run to see if the attack imroves. I am sure it will.
Slippery well said mate,
icon14.gif

LOYAL DRAGON

ohh you huys got the 2 pts, goodluck to ya's but honestly, that was a disgraceful decision and can you imagine if it was the other way around, nearly all dragon fans at the game knew it and 99% of all NRL fans knew it was a try, just a pathetic decision
kamas a bitch, you guys won at Kograh last time in the last minute in a two man tackle and money bill williams striped the ball and scored, sh*t happens and that was discraceful as well:D this time we smile the next you may be smiling, thats the way the cookie crumbles

SuperSuper

i have a question, on the tv they basically skipped right over it but the in goal reply of Idris' try where Morris brought him down seemed pretty blatant to me that he put the ball down outside the ingoal line but it cut straight to a commerical. anyone else get a good view as i was 'working' at the time.
I have not seen a reply of the game, But both myself and my mate who is a Doggies fan thought he put it short.

Dave Q

Im stil not sure that wasnt a try.

Id still be there at the game a week later playing back the video.

But having said that, I am happy for you guys. Its been a great year for you. I can live with the result.

and Soward that little grub is nothing but a cheat, he milked it for everything and i honestly dont know how you guys can celebrate this "win", karma will bite you Soward

When I see a Dogs supporter use the word "cheat", I have to have a bit of a snigger. Or that they have been "ripped off" or "robbed"!!!!

What a joke. They who were responsible for a massive rort of the salary cap, and then went and won a comp with basically the same squad 2 years later???

If I have ever seen karma, then surely last night had it in spades.

MattYg1

Originally Posted by ByRd
and Soward that little grub is nothing but a cheat, he milked it for everything and i honestly dont know how you guys can celebrate this "win", karma will bite you Soward

Okay this is where I draw the line...

Now I am as disgusted as any other LEAGUE fan, but that right there is a disgusting attack by a one eyed bulldog supporter. I can understand you rage and anger ByRd but what you suggest there is just a disgusting as Steve Clarkes decision.

What you suggest is that Soward INTENTIONALLY backed into Eastwood and then milked it to get a penalty... This is a game first and for most, players are playing for the win. Soward is no cheat, at least not on this merrit. That is what the Officials are out on the field to do...

I will support the bulldogs all week and beyond in saying that YES that was a try but I will not support comments such as these.

The game besides the end was a tremendous game of Rugby League. Both halves of footy were a carbon copy of eachother with the teams switching roles. Nothing can be taken away from the efforts of either team and if Rugby League were results were based on statistical results then a draw would of done justice to both sides, though we know this isnt the case.

Neither teams supporters should take away from the efforts of either team based on the horrible OFFICIATING in the last minute of play.

dragonfire

I have not seen a reply of the game, But both myself and my mate who is a Doggies fan thought he put it short.

thats one that will frustrate me as thre will be no mention of it as they didnt cover it on the broadcast and they will purely go on the last minute decision rather than that and watever weyman did which i didnt see.

ByRd

Ok i was still fuming last night and Soward may have not done it deliberately but it was still the wrong call, Robert Finch has released a statement saying it should of been awarded and that he cant defend the decision.

Mr Red

ok enough of the name calling - players are professional and do what needs to be done - funny though a dogs supporter calling any dragons player a grub when they have the king grub in Michael Ennis.... but anyway here is how i saw the game:

1. the ben hornby no try was a try !
2. Idris first try was a double movement - he was short and then rolled the ball forward onto the try line after his momentum was stopped.
3. The last bulldogs no try should have been a try - soward was in no way going to make the tackle and backed into the bulldogs player.

But all the controversy could have been avoided if we kicked it into touch or Nightingale simply made a ball and all tackle on goodwin preventing him from passing to Patten in the first place...

Nightingale has forgotten how to tackle lately and has become a "jumper grabber" this has become even more noticeable lately since Bennett has been playing him in the centers.... its a MAJOR concern - his defence is awful..

Dean Young looked a lot better in the back row then at hooker - slow service, and anytime he had to pass any great distance the pass was high and loopy putting pressure on the first receiver - the defense was in their face by the time the ball arrived.

Ben creagh - SUPERMAN!
and given the field position and possession we had in the first half 14-6 was simply not good enough, should have been 24-0 ! Cooper also blew a try when he had soward unmarked...

Ok i was still fuming last night and Soward may have not done it deliberately but it was still the wrong call, Robert Finch has released a statement saying it should of been awarded and that he cant defend the decision.

But did Finch have anything to say about the Hornby no-try or the Idris try being short of the line??????????

No cred if you only want to whinge about the 79th minute.....

St. Brett

african-immigrants_998807c.jpg

Those Bulldogs fans sneaked past Port Botnany to arrive in time to attend last nights game in Illawarra.

See the try given to Idris? His hand was behind the line. The try green lighted to Idris shouldn't have been. He didn't even have the ball over the line.

It's there for all to see the pathetic Bulldogs fans throwing things and ruining our game.
They belong in A-league or Bonnyrigg white Eagles.
We don't want that sh*t in our NRL.

Put this on record...I hate B/dogs fans.

dragonfire

But did Finch have anything to say about the Hornby no-try or the Idris try being short of the line??????????

No cred if you only want to whinge about the 79th minute.....

no there will be no mention of the two incidents that benefited the Dogs all week by anyone, if so i will be completely shocked.

In regards to Nightingale what position was he when he came on, all i saw was Roberts manhandling him to make a simple line break and him continually getting run over. Playing a team like the dogs we need to run 3 forwards, a prop and two second rowers as well as Priddis.

ByRd

Man the ref was right there for the Idris try, i think he had a better view then us and if it was short you would of seen the dragon players blowing up. And with the Hornby one, Goodwin lost the ball, it hit Weyman then back onto the Goodwin then they picked it up, go have a look and see why it was called back

God-King Dean

And with the Hornby one, Goodwin lost the ball, it hit Weyman then back onto the Goodwin then they picked it up, go have a look and see why it was called back

I think you should look at it again, cuz I know I have. Goodwin lost it, fell into Weymans belly, went backwards, & should have been play on. Archers being whistle happy cost us a try.

Originally Posted by ByRd

Karma came back to bite Idris....

Idris was awarded a try that was short and
then denied a try he probably should have got.

W.B.2.S.O.S

Karma came back to bite Idris....

Idris was awarded a try that was short and
then denied a try he probably should have got.

that was my initial thought for the idris try
i didnt see him plant that on the line until he went for his second attempt
oh well
cant complain now