Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bulldogs the Real Deal?

Fat Krion

With Ben Barba scandal a distant memory, Bulldogs version 2014 seem a tight unit enabling them to grind out victories which they may have lost last season.

The Dogs lack flair but like sides of old they make up for it with a strong will to win, a never say die attitude and in a year where there appears to be no standout sides it may be enough.

A favourable draw and few representative players I expect the Dogs to be barking come September. The question remains will their bark be worse than their bite?

Fat Krion

Looking forward to responses from, in the blue corner, packy..bulldog for...bulldoglife....cammo etc....in the red corner.......everyone else

gypsy

They'll be there when the whips begin to crack.
Inu is back from a broken jaw soon? Also, although maligned on here, Perrett is sound at the back. Never has a bad game like the Barba's etc.

Big forwards, solid halves and some class out wide. They'll be thereabouts.

Danny-Boy

I hate them but I have to admit they're going good and will most likely finish top 4. I've currently got them challenging for the Minor Premiership. They're the real deal alright.

WaznTheGreat

Yes there the real deal,they keep winning,doesn't matter how much you win by,they know how to get it done in the close ones.

aqua_duck

They'll be there when the whips begin to crack.
Inu is back from a broken jaw soon? Also, although maligned on here, Perrett is sound at the back. Never has a bad game like the Barba's etc.

Big forwards, solid halves and some class out wide. They'll be thereabouts.

Inu won't play another game for the dogs, he's in nsw cup ATM and they're trying to flog him off. I think what's getting the dogs over the line is just good football smarts, the last 3 weeks the opposition was in a position to beat them but f**ked it up, the roosters game, the roosters had a penalty and opted not to go for 2, that was a major f**k up, also all 3 games the opposition were in field goal range but didn't have the football IQ to actually set up for a proper shot.

natheel

it will be interesting to see how they go against a side that has adapted very well to the new rules like a full strength tigers side. Winning is winning but i think the new rules open it up for the teams with flare to really be strong contender too. Dogs halves and 1 are their weakest when it comes to flare. Right now they're in grinding matches with sides like souths and roosters who haven't really adapted well and a struggling warriors side. Not writing them off but it'll be interesting to see how they handle a side who can throw the ball around and also has a strong defence all in 1

natheel

I still think they'll be a class below Roosters, Souths and Manly come finals time.

Roosters and Souths are still trying to adapt to the pace of the game. Shows in their losses they have had. Not writing them off yet at all just there are teams at the moment who are really using the new rules to their advantage with their little guys around the ruck etc

2010Dragons

I hate to admit it, but doggies have adapted well and will be playing finals footy this year.
Weather they win or go out in straight sets is up to the referees to decide.

Cammo

With Ben Barba scandal a distant memory, Bulldogs version 2014 seem a tight unit enabling them to grind out victories which they may have lost last season.

The Dogs lack flair but like sides of old they make up for it with a strong will to win, a never say die attitude and in a year where there appears to be no standout sides it may be enough.

A favourable draw and few representative players I expect the Dogs to be barking come September. The question remains will there bark be worse than their bite?

A positive Bulldogs post? What's going on Pip? You been drinking again?

Those decrying our attacking ability because we've grinded out 3 one-point wins... have you forgotten the 40 we put past Melbourne and Cronulla? :|

Peter_phelps

Really too early to be calling anyone a real deal after seven rounds. The misses and her family dragged me along yesterday to the match (dogs supporters). The dogs fans sounded incredibly well, and the stadium was erupting from them in that final 15min.

They will be there come finals time you would think, I think Ennis is their captain by name, yet Graham is their real captain. Top 8 finish yes, top 4...not sure (depends how some of the others travel with injuries and suspensions).

Those decrying our attacking ability because we've grinded out 3 one-point wins... have you forgotten the 40 we put past Melbourne and Cronulla? :|

I think your blokes are going well, but you can't use the Cronulla game and not be taking the piss. You can only play what's in front of you, but hey there wasn't much in front if your blokes in that game.

The Pip

Great thread - I was mulling over that very question since their win versus Souths. My answer after considering all the facts ,and not just looking at the table is...no. Lets analyse,

1 Who in the top 8 have they beaten? Melb - without Cam Smith, playing Sat in Perth, after a Monday night game and the week from hell. Discount this result as irrelevant.

2 Other wins - Cronulla, wow NSW cup side. Warriors, after sacking their coach, and by 1 pt. Souths - NSW cup side, with a bench straight out of a WW1 novel, by 1 pt. Chooks - in the wet, and with brains like Maloney, the Dogs were ready to lose. Lucky by 1 pt too.

Who have they lost to? Penrith - top 8 contender and at full strength,and the Broncos. Now this is the game we should judge them on. Full strength Broncos away from home ,toyed with them - gave them a fair old pounding.

Its great for the NRL that their SBS team is doing well, it keeps the west interested in the footy. I don't get fooled easily, if at all, and this Dogs team hasn't won me over - they are dogs in sheep's clothing.

I only hope that the Dogs, with their unattractive/boring football ,don't drag the game back to the eighties, the game doesn't need to revisit such dark football days ever again.

Cammo

Oh no, Pip doesn't think we are the real deal. Whatever shall we do? The world is ending

Now stop posting Pip sweetie and come back to bed

chrisD

Don't think so, the big contenders have another gear and when they slip into it I don't think the dogs will be able to go with them. How well they're going shows how good Des is.