Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bulldogs the Real Deal?

footy75

Don't think so, the big contenders have another gear and when they slip into it I don't think the dogs will be able to go with them. How well they're going shows how good Des is.

Who do u rate as the big contenders Chris??

The Pip

Don't think so, the big contenders have another gear and when they slip into it I don't think the dogs will be able to go with them. How well they're going shows how good Des is.

Well said, unlike Cammo who gives extremely simplistic responses. Poor Cammo, still stuck in his cave eating raw meat, the simpleton.

I posed the question, and a valid one, who have the Dogs beaten? The dogs, the feral creatures that they are, are quite happy to beat up on teams that are understrength - but the wheel will turn, and they will falter ,when it counts the most, and the true fans of the NRL will rejoice.

I also hear that Newcastle will be missing Boyd, Gidley and Mullen this week, so the Dogs should enjoy another famous victory...

Cammo

I make simplistic comments cause you are a simpleton as well.

Now back to my raw meat

BunniesMan

They're basically the Titans. A statistical anomaly. They'll be around a .500 team by the start of the finals.

GONZO72

Cammo aka the shemale, at least you agree that you make simplistic comments, that's a good start.
Are the Dogs the real deal ? This might come as a suprise to many, but I actually think they are not the real deal, anything but.
They have recorded two lopsided results against understrength teams, and had 3 undeserved victories. Every league fan, except bias Bulldog supporters, agree, the toxic club's fortunate run, can't continue. Yesterday Souths were robbed of a deserved victory, as we're the Warriors. As expected Todd Greenberg has ensured the grubs, get a perfect origin draw, by playing teams like the Roosters and Manly, who will both be understrength.
Even if the Dogs get into the 8, they will again crumble like sayo biscuits. Who could forget the pathetic way, Newcastle toyed with them at ANZ in a semi final?
Expect Bullgrub Force to wax lyrical about his toxic club. He is as pathetic as they are.

ek999

You can only play what's in front of you and as the great Vin Diesel once said it doesn't matter if you win by an inch or a mile. 5 from 7, top of the ladder and at worse the second best defence in the comp.

Cammo

The funniest thing about all of this, is that Krion, Pip, Gonzo etc actually thinks people care about it's opinion.

I hope you realise Gonzo that people on this forum are laughing at you. If you are ok with that then by all means keep posting, but don't for a second think that you have any hope of swaying anyones opinion on anything.

If anything your posting makes me love my club even more cause you hate them so much :)

The Pip

The funniest thing about all of this, is that Krion, Pip, Gonzo etc actually thinks people care about it's opinion.

I hope you realise Gonzo that people on this forum are laughing at you. If you are ok with that then by all means keep posting, but don't for a second think that you have any hope of swaying anyones opinion on anything.

If anything your posting makes me love my club even more cause you hate them so much :)

I admire your loyalty and perseverance to the Dogs, I really do. I also feel sorry for you, even pity you.

You remind me of the string quartet on the Titanic, that kept playing whilst the ship sunk.

Iafeta

They'll be top 8, but no, I don't see them as the real deal or serious title contenders. They've had two fortunate victories in a row for mine - obviously Merknolds flopping around like a carp out of water in Auckland, and I have serious doubts on the Thompson try (Sutton for mine was taken out by the block runner and the others had to jam in for that... admittedly I didn't see the first half and I'm hearing they were denied a fair try). To be completely fair on the Auckland win I didn't think the Warriors should have had one of their tries, given it came off a fairly blatant strip from Suaia Matagi.

That said, their front rowers Graham and Tolman are world class, Kasiano coming back into it gives them an even greater threat. I just think they're a little weak in the outside backs, and I think the Pritchard injury could hurt them.

As a team I like them. They'll be there or thereabouts, if they can get Williams firing to give their edge a threat then maybe they could come home with a wet sail.

shf77y

Great thread - I was mulling over that very question since their win versus Souths. My answer after considering all the facts ,and not just looking at the table is...no. Lets analyse,

1 Who in the top 8 have they beaten? Melb - without Cam Smith, playing Sat in Perth, after a Monday night game and the week from hell. Discount this result as irrelevant.

2 Other wins - Cronulla, wow NSW cup side. Warriors, after sacking their coach, and by 1 pt. Souths - NSW cup side, with a bench straight out of a WW1 novel, by 1 pt. Chooks - in the wet, and with brains like Maloney, the Dogs were ready to lose. Lucky by 1 pt too.

Who have they lost to? Penrith - top 8 contender and at full strength,and the Broncos. Now this is the game we should judge them on. Full strength Broncos away from home ,toyed with them - gave them a fair old pounding.

Its great for the NRL that their SBS team is doing well, it keeps the west interested in the footy. I don't get fooled easily, if at all, and this Dogs team hasn't won me over - they are dogs in sheep's clothing.

I only hope that the Dogs, with their unattractive/boring football ,don't drag the game back to the eighties, the game doesn't need to revisit such dark football days ever again.

what is your problem mate? give credit where it's due, if these comments are relating to the team coming first then I'd hate to see you comment on the rest of the competition.

Doesn't matter if we win every game by 1 this year. Our biggest lost margin is 6 against the broncos and according to you we got a "fair pounding"

I'd like to see you find more ways to discredit their wins cause it's quite laughable.

Souths NSW Cup team?

I'd love to see the day Sam Burgess, Greg Inglis and John Sutton line up in a NSW Cup team together :lol:

To early to call but so far they are winning really close games so good for them.... Here's hoping they peak a week before the finals

It's only round seven... I think the OP has had a premature ejaculation.

This thread should have been started after origin(if by that time we are still in good form).

Kiwi

it's only round 7, it's certainly going to be an interesting year, no team is so complete that they can't be beaten by ANY other team this yeah and at given time.... except the sharks, they are just shit

Fazz_138

I want to shit on The Bulldogs and say they're only beating out of form teams, but honestly the entire comp seems to be out of form this year. The Titans are leading the comp and look absolutely mud. At this stage in the year, nobody should be called the real deal, to be honest. If things continue on at this rate anybody that makes the 8 will have a decent chance at winning.

Bulldog Force

With Ben Barba scandal a distant memory, Bulldogs version 2014 seem a tight unit enabling them to grind out victories which they may have lost last season.

The Dogs lack flair but like sides of old they make up for it with a strong will to win, a never say die attitude and in a year where there appears to be no standout sides it may be enough.

A favourable draw and few representative players I expect the Dogs to be barking come September. The question remains will their bark be worse than their bite?
Top 8 yes, but not the Premiers. I'd say it's between Melbourne and Roosters. Both teams, particularly the Roosters, have had a relatively slow start, but will fire up soon. Also beware of Manly. We'll probably have enough fight to shape and shake up the 8, but I can't see us winning it this year.