Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

CALLER ON ABC RADIO

wittyfan

Birdy has had just one indiscretion. Johns has a history of cheap shots when Newcastle are well behind on the scoreboard.

A history of cheap shots aye? An elbow on adam dykes a few years ago... THats about it.. Other suspensions he has had werent cheap, they were just high tackles that almost any other player in the NRL has done.. And i think did a backslam once... Which alot of other players are also guilty of.

Birds knee far outweighs anything johns has ever done.

wittyfan

Chicken_Hunter said:
A history of cheap shots aye? An elbow on adam dykes a few years ago... THats about it.. Other suspensions he has had werent cheap, they were just high tackles that almost any other player in the NRL has done..

Birds knee far outweighs anything johns has ever done.

There was a game up at Penrith last year where Johns got up to some mischief, ;-) Johns may be a champion player, but he's one of the worst sports the game has seen.

Hmm, was that when someone in the crowd was saying personal insults to him (i think something about his marriage break up) Thats not really a cheap shot.

He's not a bad sport, he strives for the best and when he dosnt get it he will naturally feel pissed off. He's a perfectionist.

Jimbo

If you want to see how bad Andrew Johns can be, eatch the second half of our demolition of Newcastle in 2002. Keep an eye on Johns and count the number of cheap shots he puts in.

Disgraceful...

Sorry, i didnt bother watching the second half of that game.

I have been watching johns play for years and his worse indescretion was coming down with the elbow on adam dykes.. Anything else he has done isnt anywhere near as bad as that and every footballer would be guilty of it.

lodown

blueboatboy2 said:
Kimmorley's always been better than johns.

Get your hand off it.

Johns shits all over Kimmorley. How many times has Kimmorley gotten the Blues or Australia #7 over Johns?

There is no doubt in my mind that Johns is the best player ever but how much footy has he played over the last 3 years. We have the best player in the comp at the moment, why would we want an injury riddled Johns even if this rumour were true?

The bad thing about the rumour is the underlying factor of Opes. Whereever he does end up, you can be sure that he is going to try to get Noddy to follow. I hope Noddy stays with us til the end of his career, wins the Dally M here, is the first Shark to lift the premiership and becomes an immortal.

bull shark

Johns at his best was better than the best I've seen from Kimmorley.

But right now, Johns has seen his best days, BK is 5 years younger, and is the better player. And I believe that BK is going to get better so it'll be interesting to see how the two careers compare in the end.

Also, is there any reason to think that Johns wants to leave the Knights?

Him saying that he would be making decisions for himself rather than keeping others happy was a fair indicator. I reckon he'll go to Manly.

Marduk

El Garbo said:
Most ludicrous rumour... ever.

I have to agree. There was a similar rumour floating around a few days ago on morning radio here in Brisbane.

Ludicrous! 8)

Craigshark

Kimmorley carves Johns up.. Johns was good but over the past few years he has been very injury prone..

hmm, i wouldnt call johns injury prone.. they are just 3 seperate freak accidents.. THink about it.. Fractured back, Hurt his neck, did his ACL in his knee. 3 seperate injuries all freak accidents.. I wouldnt say injury prone, just unlucky.. Ben kennedy is injury prone.

Well both his back injuries were cause by other players.. But thats a part of football, even if one was knees in the back and the other was a swinging arm.

Johns is too old and injury prone. I'll be happy to have Noddy playing in his prime for us over the next two years, and maybe more. Shark for life I say. Johns is past is prime. I reckon he'd be better off following in the footsteps of Matty Johns in England.

beekershark

Hmmm Can I believe what Im hearing, shark fans NOT wanting Joey in blue black and white ?

I'd love to have him, with or without Noddy.