Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cameron Smith is the greatest rugby league player ever.

Can you imagine that buddy wanker wearing a Play NRL jacket while refereeing a junior league game at halftime of an NRL game in Sydney? Me neither, it's absurd and Smith can't be naive enough to think the AFL wouldn't be trading on his profile in rugby league in doing so. I wonder if he cleared it with the NRL? He should have had the decency to wear something more conspicuous. At least he topped it off by telling a public gathering at a storm function, at which media was present, that he watches more AFL than NRL.

All this from a guy campaigning for a share of the games revenues.

Yeah, and he's all pissed off about it apparently.

Honestly, as far as I'm concerned he should be stripped of his Australian captaincy. Not Queensland though, those f**kers would forgive him if he copy-catted Hoddle St.

King hit

Best Hooker ever to play the game? hahahahahaha

Cameron Smith has never stuck his head into a real contested scrum to my knowledge. They should re-name the position to Fulcrum.

When I read the book 'never before never again' there was a section at the end about their thoughts on today's game and they said 'don't mention Cameron Smith to us he's never been in a scrum before'

Barkley

asterisk-clipart-asterisk-hi.png

AlwaysGreen

The days of professionalism mean that the 'best' may look better than they actually are.

Smith has a whole support team and a whole life to dedicate to football. He doesn't have to think about going to work at the construction site at 6am in the morning after a game. He's got an injury? The physio team get right on it.

If a decent player is vood enough if he can stay fit there's no reason why he can't play 300 games and well into his 30s because financially he's better off playing, in the days of semi professionalism retiring early was often a ticket to bigger dollars. Playing for years longer than the semi pros makes your numbers look gigantic compared to theirs.

Smith after johns is the 2nd best player of the professional era. You can't fairly judge others who were part timers.

POPEYE

Can you imagine that buddy wanker wearing a Play NRL jacket while refereeing a junior league game at halftime of an NRL game in Sydney? Me neither, it's absurd and Smith can't be naive enough to think the AFL wouldn't be trading on his profile in rugby league in doing so. I wonder if he cleared it with the NRL? He should have had the decency to wear something more conspicuous. At least he topped it off by telling a public gathering at a storm function, at which media was present, that he watches more AFL than NRL.

All this from a guy campaigning for a share of the games revenues.
I can only imagine that Smith has to take his kids somewhere on his days off, got to get them away from those f**king iPads. Where better to take them than somewhere he can drum up Storm memberships, let the locals know RL can't be so bad if the 'best' player in the game is as interested in AFL as the sporting capital of Australia should be interested in his sport . . . not as though players are going to jump ship in either direction

He must've meant he watches more AFL on tv because he certainly watches more RL on video, maybe his kids won't give him the remote, maybe he plays enough without having to watch it . . . how are the Storm memberships going by the way, maybe Cam and Molly both are being paid to make fools of themselves

POPEYE

The days of professionalism mean that the 'best' may look better than they actually are.

Smith has a whole support team and a whole life to dedicate to football. He doesn't have to think about going to work at the construction site at 6am in the morning after a game. He's got an injury? The physio team get right on it.

If a decent player is vood enough if he can stay fit there's no reason why he can't play 300 games and well into his 30s because financially he's better off playing, in the days of semi professionalism retiring early was often a ticket to bigger dollars. Playing for years longer than the semi pros makes your numbers look gigantic compared to theirs.

Smith after johns is the 2nd best player of the professional era. You can't fairly judge others who were part timers.
Exactamundo ol' mate, everyone thinks I'm taking the piss . . . maybe they'll believe it coming from you

STORM.99/07

Yeah, and he's all pissed off about it apparently.

Honestly, as far as I'm concerned he should be stripped of his Australian captaincy. Not Queensland though, those f**kers would forgive him if he copy-catted Hoddle St.
Cam smith was only being a side line dad on Friday night at the "G". NOT an umpire of Aus kick.
making light of Hoddle Street murders is in REALLY BAD TASTE.why stoop so low..

STORM.99/07

[

That actually disgusts me and makes me think even less of him. Scumbag.

The bloke has no respect for the game whatsoever. His kid can play whatever he likes, I don't have a problem with that, but I have a large problem with the current Australian captain wearing an AFL jacket to an AFL game.

Maybe he's confused and doesn't know that AFL is a competitor to Rugby League in Australia?
Are you so shallow that you begrudge a father supporting his son in an Auskick game.... I wonder if AFL supporters hate Shaun Burgoyne going to watch an NRL game on Sunday. surely he can`t like 2 codes of footy

insert.pause

Are you so shallow that you begrudge a father supporting his son in an Auskick game.... I wonder if AFL supporters hate Shaun Burgoyne going to watch an NRL game on Sunday. surely he can`t like 2 codes of footy
he couldn't do it without wearing auskick paraphernalia that promotes the direct opposition to junior rugby league, the game he is employed by and that he is obligated to support it's best interests?

Who is Shaun Burgoyne? Is he the brother of that Peter Burgoyne? Nice family for Smith to interact with. If you don't know what I'm talking about, type "Peter Burgoyne Adelaide Parklands" into google...

http://www.abc.net.au/pm/content/2004/s1069962.htm

BTW, I'd top myself if knew his name.

He can go to as many AFL games as he wants, I couldn't give a shit. But he shouldn't be wearing the top of the opposition to junior Rugby League.

POPEYE

Which team did you support pre-Storm?
The last team I followed with one eye was the 1983 Eels, the only team I detested between then and now was Arko's Manly. I've done my best since Gibson to follow every team with unbiased fairness, the only reason the Storm is at the top of my list is because it's the ultimate shitstir . . . aside from wanting every team to be like them

Hank_Scorpio

Enjoying all the salty tears and how one future immortal of the game can upset some to the point of pure hatred. I'm sure he has trouble sleeping at night knowing all the people out there who don't like him. Best ever.

ed-grimley

The last team I followed with one eye was the 1983 Eels, the only team I detested between then and now was Arko's Manly. I've done my best since Gibson to follow every team with unbiased fairness, the only reason the Storm is at the top of my list is because it's the ultimate shitstir . . . aside from wanting every team to be like them
You could piss off more people here by promoting the Bronco cause.

Pedge1971

Brilliant player no doubt, but wait until he's been retired a few years to see if he's the best ever. The 2011 Lockyer wankfest got pretty sickening at times but since then his legacy has lowered a fair bit. Nobody really talking about him as the next immortal or how his team struggles without him. Thurston is similar in the 2nd regard too, the Cowboys have been as good without him this season as they were with him and Queensland in Origin 3 did fine without him.

I'm obviously bias but Johns is the best I've seen. He had more affect on the result of a game than any player. Smith is closer to him than Lockyer and Thurston because like Joey he's dominant on both sides of the ball. The rabble that my club has become since he retired as well as NSW having won only 1 series of 12 since he finished up is a testament to how much they relied on him to win football games, not to contribute to, but to get the result almost single handedly. I can't imagine any player past, current future having that level of impact on the teams they play in.

We never lost a World Cup and Tri Nations on Joeys watch either.