Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can The Tigers Win The World Club Challenge

Tigerpete

The Tigers will obviously start underdogs for this game given the prior records of english clubs in this game . Also Halatau and Marshall wont be available for the game as well.

strong_latte

RHYTHM AND STEALTH said:
Or will they be to pissed. Im picking the UK team will roll them simply cos of the GF hang over

Of course they CAN win it... it just depends on how seriously Tim Sheens takes it! Think back to 2003 when Ricky Stuart took it almost as seriously as the NRL finals series, and he organised several warm up games and heaps of training... The Roosters pumped St Helens 38-0!

simostorm

Im sick of all the friggin games being played over there, the WCC, the tri-nations
gee's why cant the soft c**ks come over here and play.

colonel_123

Am I right in thinking that the location for the WCC is decided on a year to year basis and there would still be an opening for the game to be played in Australia next year?

ParraDude_Jay

Tigpies will walk home, Bradford's side this year COULD beat them but they're losing too many players to challenge the Tigers.

raidersfan

The reason nothing is played in Australia is because we aussies don't get off our asses and actually go to these games. The English always pull great crowds for these games.

raidersfan said:
The reason nothing is played in Australia is because we aussies don't get off our asses and actually go to these games. The English always pull great crowds for these games.

Thats because Aussie fans are educated in Rugby League. You cant sell Aussie fans a sh*t contest.

British fans on the other hand.....

ESL - Wire

ParraDude_Jay said:
Tigpies will walk home, Bradford's side this year COULD beat them but they're losing too many players to challenge the Tigers.

If Leeds win the Grand final, which i think they will then i will tip them to win it.
Bradford will lose a lot of players come next year and will be a weak team.
Peacock, Reardon, Pryce, Radford, Morley will all be going and they so far bought Bai (who's crap) and Mckenna who is no match for Peacock but more on Radford's level.
Leeds on the other hand have a very strong back row with their signing Peacock and Ellis with Sinfield loose forward.

aussies1st

If Tigers were playing them right now I would tip them.
It will all depend on if the Tigers take the game seriously.

In-goal

Of course they CAN win it... it just depends on how seriously Tim Sheens takes it! Think back to 2003 when Ricky Stuart took it almost as seriously as the NRL finals series, and he organised several warm up games and heaps of training... The Roosters pumped St Helens 38-0!

I would say that was the best team we have seen in a long time not that the others sides weren't good the chooks were far and away the best, also saints got hammered by bradford the week after for what it's worth.

If Leeds Win they will walk all over the tigers, sheer size in the big men who are very mobile. Also they have there own set of whippet halves so marshall wouldn't provide the shock tactics some might believe.

LESStar58

RHYTHM AND STEALTH said:
Or will they be to pissed. Im picking the UK team will roll them simply cos of the GF hang over

Thats a fair call but lets see who they actually have to play first!

If its Bradford they'll get canned but I'd give em a chance against either Leeds or Saints....

Someone asked when it would be? It's usually early February...

Interesting side-issue, after winning the last WCC v Bulldogs, Leeds said that to stop all the knockers they'd like to play their next WCC in Australia, if they were to make it again. Wonder if they'll still feel that way if end up winning their Grand Final?

bartman said:
Someone asked when it would be? It's usually early February...

Interesting side-issue, after winning the last WCC v Bulldogs, Leeds said that to stop all the knockers they'd like to play their next WCC in Australia, if they were to make it again. Wonder if they'll still feel that way if end up winning their Grand Final?

Hmmm very interesting.

Its really hard to say how Sheens will treat this match, several palyers leaving, 4 new guys coming in....Benji and Deno I doubt wont be ready, will be a drastically different team to the one that won the GF the other nite.
Awesome experince ...footy and life....for the young blokes though.

There is some talk in the UK right now that the WCC is almost certain to be played in Australia.

Dont get your hopes up though, they've said it before.

jed

ESL - Wire said:
Bradford will lose a lot of players come next year and will be a weak team.
Peacock, Reardon, Pryce, Radford, Morley will all be going and they so far bought Bai (who's crap) and Mckenna who is no match for Peacock but more on Radford's level.

Bai's still unconfirmed, but seems certain to sign.

jed

Depends on where it's held (obviously), keep an eye on the NRL and Tigers forums, there'll be an announcement as soon as it's decided.