Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

can we smash canberra?

bluebayou

apparantly we have never beaten Canberra away before, but looking at the team list I think we have an excellent chance! What do others think?

2 True Blues

Jets beat Canberra 34 to 24 earlier this year at Henson, however they have they wood on us in the away games.

Josh LEWIS is apparently playing first grade this weekend, however his replacement goes pretty well as well.

Should be a good game. Jets have a strong side on paper and are coming off two very good wins.

Think ( and hope ) this might be our time to beat them away. However if we do win I doubt greatly it will be by a huge margin, and Canberra will score multiple tries against us in a close game.....

GO THE JETS................

skeepe

Our home form has been quite good, the only problem really has been the defence. We seem to always put on 40-50 at home, but quite often end up conceding 30+ as well, against weaker sides so a strong side like the Jets... hmmm it's a toss-up really.

greg

Sounds like we dropped our guard, however a draw will do given our ordinary record down there.

Jeffles

Such a shame after the lead was there. But a point is moe than we have taken back in previous years.

In the Jim Beam Cup this arvo, Newtown were all over Windsor as they ran out winners 38-22 at Windsor. It was 26-4 at half time with the jets laying some really disciplined football. When Newtown wasn't threatening with on Windsor's line they were bruising them in defence. In the second half Newtown kept up the intensity before fatigue settled in. Windsor never got close.

People talk about Canberra being difficult and it damn well is. For the Jim Beam Cup, Windsor is the equivalent - a bloody tough road trip to a freezing climate against a team that is always dangerous at home. As far as resources go, the gap between the Jets JBC team and Windor is wider when compared to Jets PL and Canberra. So this win should be commended. well done to Matto and the team. Thanks to the supporters who made the long trip out there. We had a few!

2 True Blues

Well done to the Jim Beam side, that's a great result. Well I was at the game in Canberra and thought we were going to win and break that hoodoo of always losing against Canberra in Canberra, but atleast we didn't lose, although we still cannot manage a win down there. A draw is good thing. It came within a whisker of them taking the two points actually, so the point is well settled for.

Here is how the game progressed:

Ten minutes into the game and a great side stepping try to SOWARD who then converts his own solo try to make it Jet's 6 nil up.

Canberra on the attack about ten yards out then Troy MALCOLM intercepts and commences to sprint down field with four Canberra chasers in hot pursuit. Looks like they are going to catch him but he finds some extra pace and is tackled 2 metres short of their try line however slides over to score a great Jets try. Soward converts again however this kick is from the side line and is a top effort. Jets now 12 nil in front and we are looking the goods.

Canberra player coathangers and is put on report. Canberra looking desperate and Jets look well on top at this stage of the game almost scoring on several ocassions and continually attacking the raiders line.

About 13 minutes to go in the half and after the ball is passed through multiple hands and a top Canberra try is scored they convert with a kick from the sideline.

Score now Jets 12 Canberra 6. Jets have been defending well, and some solid bone crushing tackles are punishing the Canberra forwards.

Soward puts up a bomb and Canberra drop the ball giving possession back to the Jets. The ball travels well through multiple hands until L. PAEA finds a gap and crashes through for the Jets third try. The conversion attempt although easier than his last effort JUST MISSES ( In hindsight this two points will turn out to be very valuable ) and the score is now Jets 16 Canberra 6.

Think by memory this was the halftime scoreline.

Second half Jets take up where they left off and a try to Troy MALCOLM in the corner makes it Jets 20 to 6. Jets got a second set of six stemming from Canberra being tackled in goal forcing the dropout. The conversion misses and the score stays at 20 to 6.

Canberra on the attack. They put up the bomb on the fifth tackle and the Jets fail to catch the high ball, knocking it forward into Canberra hands. Solid defence again right on our line holds them out and we look good however on the 6th tackle they find a gap and score. Conversion missed. Jets 20 Canberra 10.

To my utter amazement the EXACT same thing happens again, however this time they score on the other side of the goal posts. The Raiders SMARTLY having found an achilles heal put up another bomb in the exact same field position which again is knocked forward Jets failing to catch the ball, into Canberra hands for another set of six right on our line. We hold them for 5 of the next six however they score and to make matters worse manage to convert making the score Jets 20 Canberra 16.

Biting fingernails now and Canberra seem to have lifted greatly. Continual attacks and they are running and hitting the line with more vigour. They smell a victory and a great come back here.

Then to my great relief and a loud COME ON JETS !!!!! Troy MALCOLM flys down field for his hat trick and SOWARD converts to make the score 26 to 16.

Canberra remembering how the bomb has worked on the last two ocassions put the ball up in the exact same spot for the THIRD consecetive time. However this time two Jets go up for the ball and one Canberra player. The Riader wins the contest and catches the ball. Jets dont even get a hand on it, an Canberra score. The kick just misses. Scoreline Jets 26 Canberra 20.

12 minutes left and it's nailbiting and a truly great game of footy.

SOWARD goes for a field goal however it misses. Bugger !!!

Ref says we played at the ball when it was kicked. Canberra get another set. They score and convert. Scoreline is locked at 26 all. The Canberra crowd come to life and are lifting their team. This looks bad !!!!

About 4 minutes to go !!!! No fingernails left on my hands.

Canberra on the attack. Looks like they might score. Field goal attempt with two minutes left RIGHT in front of the Jets goal some how miraculously misses. The crowd sighs loudly. I cant believe they missed. A ten yr old could have kicked it.

HALL barnstorms down the centre of the field smashing over a Canberra defender and still runs forward. Knocks over a second. Straight into and over them. Top run and makes the halfway line giving us valuable field possession with five tackles left. Top effort HALLY !!!! Canberra hold us out. SOWARD lines up for the field goal about ten out but Canberra read the play and two defenders charge at him. He sees them and aborts the effort instead sending the ball high and wide to his left out to the Jets wing. Jets almost score however are JUST held out. Canberra ball.

Jets hold them and a Canberra knock on relieves some tension. Jets ball. Mere seconds left. It's our last chance however atleast we have the ball if we can hold it.

Jets on the attack the siren sounds. Jets desperately throw the pill around after the hooter and the crowd are very vocal. The ball travels through about ten hands and Jets find a gap and look like they might even score. The crowd screams however we are tackled about 20 out. Game over. 26 all draw.

The hoodoo of never winning in Canberra remains, however settling for the point is pretty good as we could have lost this one.

They found our achilles heal with the high ball. looks like the boys will be practising some bombs at training this week.

GREAT game of football though. Will take sometime for the fingernails to grow back.......

Two points with the BYE next weekend as well..............

2 True Blues

Well I thought I would post it for those who could not make the trip down there. It was a good game of footy, but the high balls just brought them back into the game.

Suppose when you think about it it's the first season since 2000 that they have not got a win against us though. We beat them 34 to 24 at Henson and we drew yesterday.

Jets total against them is 60 whereas they scored 50 against us out of the two season games. Probably destined to meet them in the semi's later on in the year again. Suppose they have added 3 points and plus 10 for and against to our tally so we came out on top against them overall.....

2 True Blues

No problem mate. It was a similar game to that semi final last year actually without the extra time though.....;-)