Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Celebrating 100 Years Eastern Suburbs-Roosters

mallset

Does anyone know what the celebration will consist of and which living players will be attending?

ozzie

no but check out the Roosters Home site - there will be plenty and plenty

OVP

2 of my living relatives have played first grade for the Roosters. Harry and Mike Eden ... they bloody better send me an invite or i'll be crushed :)

mallset

You're correct - 1908 - That's why the 100 year celebration is in MARCH 2007! Not that far away, mate. Think about it!!! Who's going to be there! I know I am.

ozzie

actually three - 2 good and one rotten to the core..poor souths.

Talking about Souths some clown on the pride has a signature that says "when the Roosters celebrate 100 years they will be the second." Actually it will be third as The Bluebags are the oldest club but I don't want to tell him because if he wants to make a moron of himself let him. If I remember history they were second

ozzie

yes they have - you guys formed first Souths Second and Roosters 3rd out of all current clubs

Big Bunny

ozzie said:
actually three - 2 good and one rotten to the core..poor souths.

Talking about Souths some clown on the pride has a signature that says "when the Roosters celebrate 100 years they will be the second." Actually it will be third as The Bluebags are the oldest club but I don't want to tell him because if he wants to make a moron of himself let him. If I remember history they were second

Actually, what you along with most football fans and indeed Souths fans don't realise is that Souths were formed in 1907. Why that isn't realised by more than a few people I'm not sure.

Newtown were the first club to register with the NSWRFL, but Souths when they registered 3rd had already formed earlier in October 1907 at a meeting in Redfern at Arthur Hennessey's house.

Fairfax

But only one club has played top grade footy every season. That's what we're celebrating.

mallset

That's true. Souths were kicked out for two years, I believe in the late 90's early 2000's. And Newtown had been dispanded for well over a decade. So all we're saying is celebrating 100 years as a club actually playing without interuption! Celebrate! Which living legends will be at opening game? Kevin Hastings? Brad Fittler? Arthur Beetson?

ozzie

mallset said:
That's true. Souths were kicked out for two years, I believe in the late 90's early 2000's. And Newtown had been dispanded for well over a decade. So all we're saying is celebrating 100 years as a club actually playing without interuption! Celebrate! Which living legends will be at opening game? Kevin Hastings? Brad Fittler? Arthur Beetson?
I don't believe that Newtown was disbanded - we are actually celebrating 100 years of playing continuously in the ARL/NRL. Newtown and Souths didn't play first grade true but never disbanded - in fact they played lower grades. Like Norths

2 True Blues

Big Bunny said:
Actually, what you along with most football fans and indeed Souths fans don't realise is that Souths were formed in 1907. Why that isn't realised by more than a few people I'm not sure.

Newtown were the first club to register with the NSWRFL, but Souths when they registered 3rd had already formed earlier in October 1907 at a meeting in Redfern at Arthur Hennessey's house.

Who did Souths play in 1907. Themselves. LOL....;-) Sorry mate. Couldnt resist !!!!:crazy: :sarcasm: :crazy:

2 True Blues

Fairfax said:
But only one club has played top grade footy every season. That's what we're celebrating.

It always amuses me how St George fans are in total continual denial that they no longer exist and have merged with Illawarra.

ILLAWARRA !!!!!!!!

Jesus mate, it's a different side, team, entity now. You guys have NEVER even won a grandfinal as the NEW club you have become......

Total denial !!!](*,)

mallset said:

Souths were deliberately kicked out for two seasons so they could celebrate two milestones in one year 100 seasons in the top flight and 20 years of mediocrity 1989 - 2009. Should be a rousing success.

OVP said:
2 of my living relatives have played first grade for the Roosters. Harry and Mike Eden ... they bloody better send me an invite or i'll be crushed :)

How is Harry these days OVP. Was crook last we spoke.
Oh and Kim of course. ;-)