Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Chairman Johnston shares his vision

ALSGI

A Dragon's great who is now head of the old boys club which mainly consists of Dragons greats. Not much will change and as we have all seen in recent times, jobs for the boys will continue.

Nothing will change until a new financial partner is found - maybe Win Corp. and then change is likely to be slow.

So everyone get used to this crap and make the best of it. Call out the rubbish but more importantly enjoy the football.
Possm, agree with you on the presser, update for fans, presentation or whatever it was. That was f**king awefull, uninspiring and I was expecting better considering our foory has improved so much. But you're right mostly just the same 'old boys' shit. Just embarrassing and amateurish really. The main difference between that show and my local club is that there wasn't a chook raffle and there were great Dragons players present. If that was an example of a new direction and professionalism we're in strife. No wonder we hardly ever hear from these people. Honestly can't see too many people rushing out to buy memberships on that performance of 'vision'. I hope that the dialogue between these 'old boys' and WIN or other interested parties are more professional.

Just to be clear I'm glad Mary got an extension and although I would've waited until finals to do it (if we're still going well) there are some advantages to doing it now - forget the negatives of an early extension it's done. I'm also really enjoying the footy and performances on the field so far. I'm a happy Dragons supporter and optomistic about this year and the next few - but only on the field.

That shit show was a poor example of improvement at HQ and I'm hoping it wasn't a reflection of the 'new direction'.
Ever optomistic, I'm hopefull that was just a shit show.

Saint_JimmyG

Get over it Brian is a real Dragon and will do a good jod irrespective of all the crap around his public address.
Once he grows into the position he will be his own man.

I reckon the issues Johnston referred to went above some people's heads, and beyond their comprehension.

You're right; Johnston will definitely work autonomously for the betterment of the club.

ALSGI

I reckon the issues Johnston referred to went above some people's heads, and beyond their comprehension.

You're right; Johnston will definitely work autonomously for the betterment of the club.
Yep, agree lot's went above people's heads and beyond their comprhension. Just wish we could be as smart as you.

It was a shit show, amateurish and typical
'Old boy' shit. And by the way, working autonomously - and betterment of the club, really ?

Saint_JimmyG

Yep, agree lot's went above people's heads and beyond their comprhension. Just wish we could be as smart as you.

It was a shit show, amateurish and typical
'Old boy' shit. And by the way, working autonomously - and betterment of the club, really ?

No, no-one is as smart as me... dickhead.

Remember, I do condescension a lot better than anyone else on this forum too.

Speaking of these cloisters, it oft reminds me of an 'Old Boys Club' siege mentality where members obdurately refuse to respect the differing opinions of others that dare to break the sycophantic line so often presented.

ALSGI

No, no-one is as smart as me... dickhead.

Remember, I do condescension a lot better than anyone else on this forum too.

Speaking of these cloisters, it oft reminds me of an 'Old Boys Club' siege mentality where members obdurately refuse to respect the differing opinions of others that dare to break the sycophantic line so often presented.
Sorry, might have gone over most peoples head and beyond their comprehension as we're not as smart as you. Can you dumb that down a bit for us please?

denis preston

When some talk about the "old boys network " Isn't it the same at every single club not beholding to the NRL ? I think that some posters should get a reality check and admit that most if not all clubs boards are less than professional that one would expect. Take for example one club such as the Donkeys , some people put them up a a shining example of how clubs should be run , but really with virtually the whole of QLD to pick from and being able to spend 2 million over the cap with sponsorship's & third party they should be winning 2 or 3 premierships a decade. Same for the Bullgrubs with all that money but have ignored their junior programs and now are in a shitfight with their fans.

I am not defending our board at all but we have basically have got what the standard generally is and one could say better in comparison to what Parra, West Tigers and Newcastle have got.