Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Change cap now or face exodus, stars warn

yeah i found that a bit odd (even more odd that i thought mundine made a valid point for a change).

i find the big deal they are making about this funny. clubs release players frequently because they don't want to stand in the way of them making more money playing esl or union.

i think it's an over-reaction by the nrl because it's sbw. if it was daniel wagon he'd just be another stat.

On one hand you are right. The big thing is though that a club can only release a player to another club provided they are taking up the value of that contract or they agree to pay a proportion for the remaining term.

The ESL contracts - where Parramatta have allowed players like Vaealiki, Vella and others to leave are generally in terms of the exchange rates etc a lot more lucrative and if it is in there best interests they will let them go.

The thing with $BW is he wanted a five year deal. The suggestion was that the Bulldogs were offering a three year deal and he wanted longer. The Bulldogs gave him longer. ESL was allegedly offering almost double what the Bulldogs were.

He stayed sprouting loyalty etc. Now that Mason and others have left and he has become such good mates with Mundine, he doesn't feel quite so loyal anymore.

Yes, the NRL don't want to lose $BW but he placed himself in the position he is in - on the advice of his then manager.

The NRL seriously have to look at marquee players being able to negotiate third party contracts with club sponsors or game sponsors and leaving that out of the salary cap.

I think players now realize that their talents are in demand globally. With that comes much higher coin. The NRL need to face the facts that they don't generate the money to compete and that Rep honours (the carrot that swayed many players to remain) will be a less of a priority to the young kids coming through.

Ten years from now I reckon that we well have a comp which no longer features the best of the best. Rather we will have the left overs, the rest of the best.

The ARU have been quick off the mark and assessed the threat of rich European & Japanese rugby clubs draining player stocks.

Australian clubs will be able to employ overseas players from 2010.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,24099716-23217,00.html

I wonder if posters would've reacted differently if this was Hayne and not Inu saying it...

Not sure. I was totally surprised that it was Inu that did say it.

I do however like the fact it wasn't bit pieced and they seemingly kept the context of his quote.

"He has just started the trend, I know heaps of guys that are thinking of switching already," said Inu, who last year considered walking out on a lucrative contract with Parramatta to complete a religious mission. "Expect more players to be leaving, that is the only thing going to be happening. I read on the weekend that of all the four football codes we are the least paid and the most well-known after soccer, so something definitely needs to change.
"The players want more money, and rugby is a massive threat. Me and Jarryd [Hayne] just re-signed but we played rugby at school. It is a good game, not too different to league."
Asked if there was a possibility he would also switch to rugby, Inu replied ominously: "I'm contracted for another two years. Hopefully by the time I need to sign my next contract they would have fixed the salary cap so I don't need to worry about it."

We probably face the real possibility that bot Inu and Hayne who will be going to train with an NFL team at seasons end could well be chased by American teams - and that could lead to more money for them that even Rugby couldn't compete with.

LOL - Hayne the quarterback!! :lol:

Bigfella

I think players now realize that their talents are in demand globally. With that comes much higher coin. The NRL need to face the facts that they don't generate the money to compete and that Rep honours (the carrot that swayed many players to remain) will be a less of a priority to the young kids coming through.

Ten years from now I reckon that we well have a comp which no longer features the best of the best. Rather we will have the left overs, the rest of the best.

I am not sure about this mate.

I have heard similar arguments about the Indian Premier League in cricket, and how it will undermine Test and Shield Cricket especially in this country, as the elite all head offshore and the traditional forms of the game are less appealing and can't compete.

The fact is, that Japanese and French rugby will not within the next 10-30 years generate their own local talent in the way the NRL does in this country (and the way the Australian cricket system does).

Therefore to continue to improve and be the "best of the best" those comps, like the IPL, actually completely rely on the breeding grounds they are taking their elite players from.

As long as the NRL maintains ints grass roots structures, its cultural interest in the game, and the competitive infrastructure like TYC and the club systems, the NRL will continue to generate the world's best footballers, as it has done before.

Sure the elite may head offshore, but careers are short, and the generations are constantly renewed.

The strengths of our game are in this country - individual players heading offshore won't destroy that. Even large numbers of them.

The rugby gooses who are crowing about these raids don't realise that local rugby faces the far bigger challenge - they will miss out on league stars who have propped them up during recent lean years, and they will lose their own players.

They are not genearting anywhere near the quality players that the NRL are and have nowhere near the depth.

Rugby League should use the penetration of its elite players into European Rugby as an opportunity to penetrate that market. Get a profile in Eruope. Grow interest in league. Get them to watch our game when our players start dominating their code. Get TV dollars coming in. Take over the world!

eel4life

For us to claim that we have the best league in the world we do not represent that in $$$.

ESL plays second fiddle to the EPL, but due to the TV deal and the way that the franchises have been set up they are profitable.

The PAY TV Deal that we have is a joke, plus the way our league has been run is a joke, 100 years we have apparnlty been professional we have missed the boat big time.

if the player leaves yeah u would be upset but they are getting double or tripple the money then how can u blame them.

Bottom line is something has to be done in terms of getting the league and clubs profitable.

if you look at the report add up all the numbers

6 million people have an interest in league, 6 million people are supporters of the clubs, think about the potential the game has.

25% of the population are interested in league and we are struggling to get the right pay tv deals and so forth.

eel4life

I agree with Phil Gould on this .. u hear the same crap come out of the NRL, every single time ..

The ARU have been quick off the mark and assessed the threat of rich European & Japanese rugby clubs draining player stocks.

Australian clubs will be able to employ overseas players from 2010.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,24099716-23217,00.html

Ok why doesn't the NRL allow One overseas Marquee player say from the French Rugby Union. They could be exempt from the cap. But they must be o/seas players. Fight fire with fire.

That way we still have the cap but get to attract good Rugby players such as Carter and Co.

John Quayle has an interesting view....

Gallop served Super apprenticeship for dealing with contract breakers: Quayle

ANDREW WEBSTER
30/07/2008 12:20:27 AM
FORMER ARL powerbroker John Quayle has placed the onus of preventing an exodus of the game's leading players to French rugby squarely on the shoulders of former Super League adversary David Gallop.
"Put it this way, David should have plenty of experience dealing with players breaking contracts," Quayle said. "Now he has to handle it - like we had to. It is David's job now, as it was mine then, to make sure you do everything possible to protect your game. And if that means taking rugby on, take them on."
Gallop has been widely accused of hypocrisy for claiming Sonny Bill Williams had jeopardised the "sanctity" of contracts given he was the News Ltd lawyer who helped raid players from the established ARL for the News Ltd-backed rebel League. The comparisons have irked Gallop. "In those circumstances, players were released by their clubs and entered into Super League contracts" has been his mantra.
Quayle, however, believes Gallop's involvement in Super League was the perfect apprenticeship for his task now at hand as the NRL chief executive.
"The dates just change," Quayle said. "It's reminiscent of 12 years ago. The comment from Super League was that its players would be recognised as stars around the world. Well, they've got one."
The former ARL general manager is often loath to comment on the current administration but insists Gallop must take a hard stance and block Williams and others from returning to league in Australia should they defect to another code.
He said: "If he comes running back to the game, asking if we will take him back, you know what we're going to do? We'll take him back. As we have proved. Wendell Sailor went to rugby, criticised our game while he was playing it, then when rugby didn't want him because he was a drug taker, we took him back. Make a hero out of him. Jamie Lyon went to England, we gave him the greatest reward we can by letting him play for his country when he walked out on a contract."
Gallop said on Sunday that Williams would not be allowed to play in Australia again should he take up a two-year, $3 million deal with French glamour club Toulon. Quayle is adamant he must stay true to his word.
"Sooner or later, we have to stand up and ask if we're going to allow individuals to dictate to the overall interests of the game. Or set the policy that protects us. This player [Williams] has promised the world to his club and reneged on it. If that's the character of the guy I'd say, 'Well done, young man. That's what your character shows: you're not a very genuine person. You didn't have the decency to tell your fans, your club and your teammates.' Why worry about him, in my view? Our game should not be built around those players."
Under Quayle's watch, the game progressively implemented a salary cap from 1988 to 1990. By 1995, all teams faced an equal cap, set at $1.5 million. He was sticking by it yesterday as he sat on his tractor at his olive farm in the Hunter Valley despite a chorus asking for it to be abolished to keep the cream of the competition in Australia.
"The salary cap has always been a controversial issue but it is vital to rugby league's long-term future," he said. "If not, make it open slather and I can guarantee in four to five years, it will be a very short competition.
"We're always going to get people who come into the game for a short time with unlimited money. You can't criticise a player today for taking more money. That's what Super League created. But from an administrator's point of view, it's important the best interests of the game from a long-term point of view are protected."
http://www.leaguehq.com.au/articles/2008/07/29/1217097242537.html?feed=fairfaxdigitalxml

For us to claim that we have the best league in the world we do not represent that in $$$.

ESL plays second fiddle to the EPL, but due to the TV deal and the way that the franchises have been set up they are profitable.

The PAY TV Deal that we have is a joke, plus the way our league has been run is a joke, 100 years we have apparnlty been professional we have missed the boat big time.

if the player leaves yeah u would be upset but they are getting double or tripple the money then how can u blame them.

Bottom line is something has to be done in terms of getting the league and clubs profitable.

if you look at the report add up all the numbers

6 million people have an interest in league, 6 million people are supporters of the clubs, think about the potential the game has.

25% of the population are interested in league and we are struggling to get the right pay tv deals and so forth.

To be honest, I think the way the game is managed and promoted these days is very poor.

I think back to the 70's, to an innovation that was way out of the box.
Does anyone remember the League-a-thon promotion??
All 6 games were played at the SCG over three days - a double header on the Saturday, Sunday and Monday over the Anzac day long weekend - an amazing promotion and something that wouldn't be out of place today.

Seriously, what have Gallop and his cronies done, from a seriously promotional aspect, to get League way ahead of where it currently is??

There are so many promotional ideas available (like the Roosters did on Sunday - letting the kids run onto the field after the game) and we arely see any of them.
The double header in Rd 24 is a start, but they've only done that because crowds have been so poor lately. (2 x 7000 on the weekend).

It's time for this game to sell itself, properly.

Dymock

Firstly, when Gallop was a lawyer for News Ltd he was just doing his job. As lawyers we just observe the cab-rank rule. ie do what the client wants. So Gallop isn't being hypocrtical. He's doing his job now - just as he did his job then.

Secondly, it makes sense to have a salary cap for the money that clubs pay direct to players. But the players should be free to earn money via third party deals without that affecting the cap.

Thirdly, both the ARU and the NRL need to deal with the problem of French rugby. The French clubs can buy elite players, but they rarely produce their own. So they are actually parasitic on union and league since the pilfer talent but contribute little to the game of rugby union at an international level.

Which gives me a very good idea with regard to where Manly can relocate to .....

A few years ago you couldn't turn on a TV program on Nine without a rugby league player on it in someway - Craig Wing and Andrew Ettingshausen were used to promote all sorts of stuff - cartoons, outdoor programs......

Now the only prgram they seem to appear on is The Footy Show or NRL on Fox.

Krisnan Inu IMO is very marketable and of the same cleancut image that ET was. I can't see him doing a fishing show but I think he could be used on Wide World Of Sports or marketed as a face of league. Extremely personable and is way under utilised.

I could see Hindy being used on WWOS - he has his pets, likes motorbikes and enjoys other sports. He is reasonably funny and interviews well - he isn't your normal "yeah, nah, we put in and done good" type of footballer.

There are quite a few other players in the NRL who are reasonably well spoken who aren't pushed in terms of marketability. It is seemingly the "boofheads" that attract most air time.

The Engineers Room

The solution is scrap the salary cap and have a points system. This allows clubs to either pay more of organise the club sponsors to sponsor their players.