Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Charity Shield wrap up

A good result from the boys winning 28-10 against poor structuredopposition.
Simmonds, Stapleton and Bailey were standouts with Firman impressive for the first 40.
Still a fair bit of improvement in the team but there were good signs around for the season ahead.

Agreed. Nothing to get over excited about but it was good hit out against a rabble.
Firman came off injured but was on his feet. Looked like a cork and not worth risking so he was rested. At least fingers crossed.

We didnt have Ryles, Timmins or Barrett and still looked sharp. Just about everybody put their hand with only a couple having quiet games.

By the Clock updates at League Unlimited

ss21

emcry.gif
emcry.gif
emcry.gif

imported_Beast

That was a decent crowd of 21,000 for what is merely a glorified pre season trial match..I assume it was predominant Souths supporters witha decentnumber of Illawarra supporters.

St George Illawarra 28 (Tries- Roberts 2, Firman, Young, Stapleton, Goals- Roberts 2, Riddell 2)
defeated
South Sydney 10 (Tries- Bajouri, Mckinnon, Goals-Smith 1)
Premier League
St George Illawarra 24 (Tries- Wellington, Naiqama, Fish, Henderson, Goals- Byrne 4)
defeated
South Sydney 22 (Tries- Clarke, Laurie, Bushby, Hinson, Goals- Laurie 2, Clarke 1)
Jersey Flegg
St George 30
defeated
South Sydney 26
SG Ball
South Sydney 28
defeated
St George 8

ss21, never mind... at least Souths had something to cheer about in the SG Ball.
A good results for the Dragons supporters it seems. :)

Beast, you really are a cynical old bastard sometimes. How's that half empty glass going? Careful though mate... you used word 'decent' twice in the same post.

I thought Firman was awesome- had the ball on a string

Roberts found his place on thw ing and my man Simmonds was firing as was Stapleton

Who got Man of the Match?

What was even more impressive was Head and Byrne when they came on looked pretty good as well (not as good as Firman) but still gives us depth

In first division Byrne was absolutely awesome!

P

pepe

why is it when a player pulls on the south sydney guernsey they lose all discipline andbecome more interested in throwing haymakers allnight,yep the bunnnies are still a rabble!!!!

pepe

Pepe, I noticed they were pushing the limits on what is lifting in a tackle. They were ever far away from the tackle getting out of hand.
And btw, there is no way that Riddell threw the first punch.

P

pepe

riddell looked a little flustered after the brawl,even though i did'nt see a punch landed you'd have to give a split decision to thesouth sydney player,that should keep there fans coming back for a few weeks.

pepe

Hi guys its been a while, well played saints, looks like brown is
gonna have a fairly decent hit out as first time coach, young with fresh ideas, same cant be said about coleman though, whens piggins gonna get his head outta his ass and realise that loyalty dont bring home the bacon
Granted souths need time to gel but i cant see them doing much damage with coleman at the helm, anyway best of british to souths

welcome back sydraider.

If memory serves me correctly, didnt Piggins move against Coleman at one point? Maybe someone will have to clarify that.
Saints looked good at times mate and it gives us some confidence. Offcourse, its a long season ahead but on last night's performance Souths are in for a longer season than most.

Yeah, I know it's just one game, .....
emdgust.gif

Amos and Reece settled their early season positions, when Trent comes back it's a choice about where Hornby goes - bet he's on the bench.

I liked Reece's game last night, he just needs to be less of a cardiac kid when running to gather the higher kick. Otherwise he gained yards, defended well and was in good position - a little unrelate to other players under the high ball when company was about
Amos was as good as you could expect on the wing, what a touvh down one handed to claim, as was the 'corridor' dive with a pickup off the bounce. This could be the winger to replace Ricky.
The other winger: Wilshire was out of his depth, caught out after the little Souths winger ran down the left touchline and Souths spread the other side.
Generally the defense was good but Sths were a bit of a rabble once Craige came on at 5/8.
The back (pigs) three were mixed with Thommo playing steady, Perenara defending Ok, Kite was strong but needs his handling steadied.
Front row played well, a bit light-weight and Ryles will top off a Bailey/Stapelton combo in a stronger manner. Riddles was good and 'skinny' (Young) was there also.
The idea to play Firman wider and deeper will pay off - he looked the goods.
I've seen them from Billy to Goldie, from Alchin to Morris and Firman is the best in the <u>lasts few years</u>. Kicks well well, every time into space (which Kerr didn't) and ran to the line - stocky/strong runner too.
The idea to play the attack wider and deeper means the ruck clearance ball needs to be long and straight. Hopefully Riddell and Young will do that.
Gasnier - give him the ball. It was, basically, 70 minutes into the game that he got the perfect attacking position and ball. The rest of the time it was fhit ball or dumyhalf or flat attack.
Look the defense was solid - good start, but there was still too much of this flat attack. Many players (and I won't <u>list</u> them) played by running two or three steps before getting the ball and then trying to surge ahead into the defense.
No good. You have to run harder earlier....
At least the defensive equivalent seems to be gone, whereby we would wait on their advantage line to meet them....
Tutt was Ok but nothing special, the other players, Byne and Head I missed (no exchange numering and I was substance affected..) , but all I can say is that the second half team, with all it's inclusions and omissions was still a 1st division side, and pity the poor bunnies - they have a loooong season.
God, didn't Walker (banker 1st class) get heaps, beautiful.
Gozzie guts

Goz, thats the second game I've seen from Wilshere and I agree he's not setting the world on fire.

Against the A-Graders at Perry Park he couldn't impress and you're right, he looked out of depth against Souths. Heaven help him should he meet some real opposition.
But having said all that, he is a PNG international so he must have something to offer... don't know, but I'd be putting Laloata in thereuntil Wilshere sorts himself out, otherwise we're gunna have a few tries scored against us onour left flank.
I guess we have to keep in mind that Cooper is a better winger but is filling for Timmo at the moment.

Good to see Amos back and I thought Stapleton (besides dropping a couple) was tremendous. Dean Young looks the goods as well. Bailey was fantastic again... what a year he's about to have. Most of the other forwards did their work... I noticed Thommo packing down in the front row for a bit and he seems to be taking a lot of hit ups.Doubtful if he'll do the same against a bigger pack.

As for the ex-Saints in the Souths team... didnt they look ordinary? Justin Smith is a player who I have big raps on but he lost it last night. Lee Hookey had Gasnier to contend with. I know Gas didnt see much in attack but he made Hookey wish they were in the same team again.

But forget the opposition... sorry to Souths supporters but they played crap footy last night.

Finally, our guys did exhibit some great defence close the line...something which was lacking last year. IMO, this was the big positive to come out the match.

The most importantpoint for meout of the game was Brown and Daleyidentifyingthe majorshortfalls from the past few seasons.
The team attacking with their defence, Gasnier not getting any decent ball to attack one on one, depth in attack.etc.It was great to hear and read their comments about things that have restricted the teamand their plans to work on rectifying those areas.
Theymust have read a few posts on here over the past few years. ;)

Souths had practically a new team on the field on Sat night and they hadn't played an trial games up until the charity (as far as i knew). So im willing to give them a bit of time. They looked in a mess without a 1/2 back, same story as last year at times. Due to excessive substance consumption and a hillbilly band playing at the club where I was at (Culburra Bowls!), therewas no volume and i didn't take much notice of who was playing for Souths. Was Hart out there? He would have been perfect against the Saints, i mean, he is a bit of a dope, but would've given them some fire power up front. Him and Fletcher would probably make a good combination

When i saw Craigie run, my first thought was, why the hell didn't they get rid of him? I know Georgie is quite a fan, but its time to give the Donut King man the flick

Im still willing to give them a bit more time. If the odds blow to $3 for the top 8, i might have a go on them. I mean, they couldnt have played any worse if they tried and the saints only won 28-10

Cheers,
Moffo

Moffo, there was no Andrew Hart and no Willie Peters.... both Saints discards, btw.