Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Clubs fume at spoon-fed Roosters

Ulysseus

Massively worth it. They have a footy show that **SHOCK HORROR** actually talks about footy!!!

I was legitimately shocked when I first saw it dude!

I was sitting their thinking "well, they've been talking about the games for a good 10 minutes now, I suppose it's about time they do something stupid like cross dress or give away a car to some dero" and then, thankfully, it didn't happen!
They actually talked about footy for the entire time!

Shame they couldnt be picked for the 6th game...i am sure the Raiders would have loved to have seen their team on FTA
:lol::lol:
Too true
like the broncos last year, they were on a run of about 5-6 games straight, came up against the raiders... BANG Saturday night game :lol:

Channel 9 is interested in 1 thing - $$$$$$$$. They will put on who rates as ratings = $$$$$. Those conspiracy theorist about them giving the Roosters are leg up are delusional. The irony is - it's all you freaks hating the Roosters so much, tune in to watch us get smahsed by whoever we are playing that boost the ratings!!!!!

For the record - I hate the Sunday delayed coverage and would have preferred Fox.

the Roosters rate sh*t

it has nothing to do with ratings

Fairfax

What a bitter ill-informed group of clowns. Nine pays the NRL handsomely so they can show the games they choose to. The Sydney Roosters, a trading name for the Eastern Suburbs DRLFC, are the only surviving foundation club. We are not privately owned by some trust fund baby and a Kiwi actor.

Since re-admission the Bunnies have been repeatedly fined for breaching the salary cap... Souths made the semis on the back of a $71,000 cap breach in 2008. They were caught fudging figures @ home games and have spent more money on big name imports than any other NRL team in recent years. Rorters much?

The point they are missing is that Nine makes business decisions based on what is best for them, they don't give a toss about fat Richo the pie-eater and the throng of toofless, barely literate Bunnies tragics living on past glories.

And Warren Smith makes rugby league commentary unbearable. A no-talent hack with an ego as big as his mouth.

reptar

I cant recall this ever happening to a regular season NRL game on Fox :?

I do. My STU has problems crashing when you use Viewers Choice, so when the Raiders are on the 3rd Super Saturday game of Fox I often watch both games on the normal choice and just shut myself off from the world to watch both 7:30 games.

The night they had the big storms in Newcastle last year, and the lights went out for a significant period of time, Fox Sports cut the Raiders game very very short. The Raiders played awfully, but I couldn't piece together how/why because Fox cut so much out of it.

However, that IS the only occasion I ever remember Fox cutting an NRL regular season game short.

Ron Jeremy

Channel 9 is interested in 1 thing - $$$$$$$$. They will put on who rates as ratings = $$$$$. Those conspiracy theorist about them giving the Roosters are leg up are delusional. The irony is - it's all you freaks hating the Roosters so much, tune in to watch us get smahsed by whoever we are playing that boost the ratings!!!!!

For the record - I hate the Sunday delayed coverage and would have preferred Fox.

the roosters rate more then Parra do they?:? or St George?

sretsoor

Why would 9 give up millions in advertising revenue just to help the Roosters if their games dont rate?

Fein

Why would 9 give up millions in advertising revenue just to help the Roosters if their games dont rate?

The Rooster brand is probably at the lowest in the clubs history.

FFS, they don't even have a sponsor.

So how can a club that is so on the nose to the general public, moreso than usual, be given so many prime Sunday games?

That is the question.

Lambretta

But the thing is mate, it never does. Teams like Canberra, NZ and Melbourne continually get shafted in FTA coverage year after year.

This is what f**ks me off. The first 5 rounds should feature every bleedin' team - after all the ladder hasnt started to take effect by this stage and each team should get an equal crack of the whip.

It's my team that is being featured and I'm feeling guilty about it.

I can understand them go for the Roosters v Rabbits as it's a traditional clash and the season opener, and of course we're going to feature away at Brisbane as every one of their home games gets FTA coverage, but f**k me, that should be it.

I understand they want Sydney derbies for the Sunday arvo games as they get bigger average attendences in Sydney and the draw has us up against the Panthers and Tigers - but seriously couldnt they tweak it so the Raiders and Warriors etc get a fair go on FTA?

The only reason the Storm get shown is their record and lets face it, if Parra or St George had that record they'd be on every f**king week.

The FTA coverage is shameful really. Yes, I know over the past 3 or 4 years we've gotten far less exposure on FTA but we've deserved to be omitted really. God alone knows what's changed their minds. A new beginning maybe? But it seems a bit off to me as a fan of the club. God alone knows what Eagles, Sharks, Raiders, Warriors etc fans think.

Lambretta

PS. I know it's another reason to "hate" the Roosters, but this is not our fault - it's Channel 9's thing.

I'm going to stand up and say it f**king stinks for fans of the game - people that truly love the game and the Roosters should stand alongside me in condemning Channel 9, not mindlessly bagging the Roosters and their supporters. After all, we're fans of the game too.

little_aza

i'd best start stocking up on them pharmaceutical stimulants..sounds like this year they'll be even more late nights for us mexicans....

Fein

PS. I know it's another reason to "hate" the Roosters, but this is not our fault - it's Channel 9's thing.

I'm going to stand up and say it f**king stinks for fans of the game - people that truly love the game and the Roosters should stand alongside me in condemning Channel 9, not mindlessly bagging the Roosters and their supporters. After all, we're fans of the game too.

Well said mate.

I'm all for helping clubs that had a poor year the previous season.

Sunday afternoon games are gold from an attendance perspective, especially early in the season.

The Roosters deserve one or two on that basis, as do The Sharks and work it out yourself based on the table from the previous season.

Something is seriously on the nose that The Roosters have been given so many Sunday games in the early draw and that in itself is worthy of investigation.

Danish

I'm a member
+
South's home game
+
Scored over 50 points against them last two games
=
Wouldn't miss it for the world. Watching all these Roosters fans leaving at half time again will be fantastic.

I'll be there too...

Right till the very last nail is driven through my heart.